The Goodspeed Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Northeastern Arkansas (1891 edition)
S. W. Alexander, manufacturer and dealer in hard wood
lumber, railroad ties, wagons, agricultural implements, car material, etc.,
at Corning, Ark., was born in Hancock County, Ind., October 17, 1835, his
parents, James and Mary (Mac Michael) Alexander, and his grandparents, on both
sides, being natives of Orange County, N. C. They all emigrated at an early day
(about 1828) to Indiana where they died. The great-grandfather was in the
Revolutionary War, and fired the first cannon in that service. James Alexander
remained in Hancock County, Ind., until the spring of 1857, when he emigrated to
Polk County, Iowa, where he was living at the time of his death, in 1882. His
wife died in 1872, have borne five children: John C., Julia A., Simeon W., James
A. and Louisa. Mr. Alexander was a farmer by occupation. Simeon W. Alexander,
our subject, was reared and educated in his native county, and from childhood
has been familiar with farm life. On reaching his majority he was married, and
emigrated to Illinois, locating in Cumberland County, where he was engaged in
the saw-mill business until 1859, when he removed to Polk County, Iowa, but
returned to Illinois in December, 1863, and there resided until the fall of
1869. In the fall of that year he sold his mill and returned to Iowa, where he
remained until 1886, being engaged in both lumbering and farming on an extensive
scale. He owned 400 acres of good land and on coming to Clay County, embarked in
the lumber business, putting up a large saw-mill. He still continues this
business and employs a great many hands. He owns about 2,400 acres of land in
Clay County, some 1.000 of which will make fine farming land when improved. He
also has one of the best houses in the county, situated in Corning. October 23,
1856, he was married to Miss Mary Faster, a native of Indiana, by whom he has
seven children: William (in Dakota). Lucy M., Cora (wife of T. J. Conway, of
Chicago). Charles W., Addie, Freddie and Edward. Mr. Alexander is a member of
the I. O. O. F., and is one of the public spirited men of Clay County, always
being ready to advance the interests of the people.
J. H. Allen, stockman and farmer of Clay County, Ark., was born in North Carolina in July, 1828, being the eighth of nine children born to Isaac and Sarah (Hawkins) Allen, who were born in North Carolina and Virginia, respectively, the latter being a daughter of a Revolutionary patriot. Both parents died on their home farm in North Carolina. J. H. Allen attended the public schools for some time and remained at home until twenty-four years of age, being engaged in overseeing the farm until the breaking out of the Rebellion, when he gave up this work and began operating a grist mill. In November, 1866, he came to what is now Clay County (then Randolph County), and settled twenty-five miles from Pocahontas, in which locality he rented land for some time. He then purchased 380 acres of wild land two miles west of Knobel, on which he immediately began to make improvements. At the present time he has 150 acres under cultivation, well improved with good buildings, orchard, fences, etc. He has added 120 acres to his original purchase, on which he raises a large number of horses, cattle and hogs each year. He has devoted most of his cultivated land to corn and stock for his cattle and horses, but this year (1889) has put in about fifty acres of cotton. He has always been quite active in politics, and has held the office of justice of the peace for ten years, and has been school director a number of years. In 1853 he married Miss Margaret Wagner, who was born in North Carolina, and by her had five children: William, John, Isaac, Henry, and Albert, all of whom are dead. In 1871 he married Miss Nancy Demaree, a native of Illinois, and to them were born three children: Amanda, Jesse and David, all now living at home.
Capt. John J. Allen was born in Lee County, Ga., on the 2nd of July, 1841, and is the son of Edward M. and Mary J. (Knight) Allen. The father was born in the "Palmetto State" in 1819 of Scotch-Irish parents, and was a mechanic and ginwright, making machines by hand. He was taken to Georgia when small, and was there reared to manhood. During the Indian troubles in the Southern States, especially in Florida, Mr. Allen participated as a private, and received in payment for his services a land warrant for 160 acres, and in 1853 chose the land on which Capt. John J. Allen now resides. Prior to this, however, he took a trip through Texas, Arkansas. Mississippi and the Indian Territory, making the journey on horseback, a distance of 3.000 miles. He then returned to Georgia, and the following year (1853) located in Arkansas, the nearest post-office at that time being sixteen miles distant, and the second nearest (Pocahontas) fifty miles distant. The families of McNiel, Nettles, Wooter, Singleton, Copeland, Sexton and White, were the only ones within a radius of ten miles. Wild animals roamed the country at will, and Indians were also very numerous. Schools were almost unknown, and Mr. Allen assisted in building many of the first houses. John G. Taylor, a Missionary Baptist minister, came with Mr. Allen to the State, and preached the first sermon in Northeast Arkansas. The latter opened thirty acres of land the first year, which was heavily covered with timber. He was a slave owner, and served for twelve months in the Confederate army under Price, holding the rank of captain, when he resigned on account of his age. He died in 1877. His wife was born in Jasper County, Ga., about 1822, and was there married to Mr. Allen, by whom she became the mother of ten children: William A., John J., Elizabeth J., Edward M., Thomas M., living to be grown, and the following dying in infancy: Martha, Stapie, and two infants. Mrs. Allen died in 1860, and Mr. Allen then married Sarah J. Palmer, who bore him five children: Robert, Georgia L., George W., Willie, and Odus. Capt. Allen, our subject, has resided in Arkansas since twelve years of age, but spent his entire school days in Georgia. He was reared on the farm on which he is now residing, and remained at home until his marriage at the age of eighteen years, when he was engaged in farming until 1861. Then he enlisted in Company H, Fifth Arkansas Volunteer Infantry, and served until the close of the war, participating in many battles: Helena, Fredericksburg, Boonville, Lexington, Newtonia, and many others of less note. He enlisted as a private, but was promoted to captain, and was then transferred to the cavalry, serving two years. After coming home he engaged in farming, and in 1868 opened a mercantile establishment at Scatterville, and followed this occupation in connection with ginning for four years. He then removed to Tilton, where he was occupied in business until August, 1888, since which time he has been one of the successful business men of Rector. He has been a large speculator in land, and in addition to his farm, runs a stave factory and saw-mill. His farm comprises about 4,000 acres, and he has 2,200 acres in Greene County, besides considerable land in other districts, all of which is the result of his own labor. He was married to Miss Permelia L. McNiel, a daughter of Neil McNiel. She was born in Clay County, Ark., and she and Capt. Allen are the parents of five children: Mary L., James B., Minnie A., Myrtie, and Charles A. In 1872 Mrs. Allen died, and Mr. Allen then married Nancy O. McNiel, a sister of his first wife. Their children are: George M., Gertrude, Harry P., Carrie, and Leonard W. Capt. Allen has never been a political man, the highest office he ever held being that of notary public. He is one of the best known men in the county, and is a member of the I. O. O. F., the Knights of Pythias, and the Masonic fraternity, and has long been connected with the Missionary Baptist Church.
Joshua Bare, farmer and stock raiser of St. Francis Township, is a fair sample of what can be accomplished by industry and perseverance. Although starting life with a limited amount of this world's goods, he is now one of the substantial farmers of the county, and is the owner of 240 acres of land in the home place, with 160 acres cleared, on which he has good buildings. Aside from this he is the owner of another tract of land in the township, one and a quarter miles from the home place, consisting of 160 acres of timber land. He also possesses some 320 acres in the St. Francis bottoms, with about 100 acres cleared, and has an interest in 205 acres of other lands, all the result of industry and good management. Mr. Bare was born in Crawford County, Ind., December 13, 1833, and is the son of Jacob Bare and Nancy (Copple) Bare, the latter of German descent. The father was born in Virginia but was reared in Indiana. After marriage he settled in Crawford County of that State, where he followed farming until about 1843, when he moved to Illinois and settled in Jefferson County. He resided there up to 1868, when he came to Arkansas, and located in what is now Clay County. Here he died in February, 1877. He served as sheriff and deputy sheriff in Indiana, and was quite a prominent man. Joshua Bare was reared in Jefferson County, Ill., and came to Arkansas in 1855, locating in Clay County, but what was then Greene County, and entered eighty acres of land. He then bought eighty acres near Brown's Ferry, resided there about fifteen years, after which he sold this, and bought the place where he now lives. He has been four times married; first, to Miss Susan Williams; then to Nancy Brown, who bore him one daughter, Peggy A., wife of John Nettle; his next marriage was to Mrs. Nettle, a widow, who bore him four children: Clarissa (wife of Wiley Thomas), Joshua, Bettie and Arabella. Mr. Bare's fourth marriage was to Mrs. Marietta Sarver, a widow, and the daughter of Jacob Sarver. Three children were born to this union: Jacob, Mattie and John Harry. When Mr. Bare first came to the State it was a comparative wilderness, and for about eleven winters he was engaged in trapping. He has killed bear, wolves, wild cats, lots of deer, turkey and small game. He would average about $200 worth of furs annually at that business. Mr. Bare has been a member of the I. O. O. F. for thirteen years. Mrs. Bare belongs to the Christian Church. An interesting volume might be written of many of Mr. Bare's hunting expeditions, but space will permit mention of only the following: In 1867, one of his neighbors, Billy Maner, a single man, had struck camp some seven miles south of where our subject lived, in a wild locality on Old River. Mr. Bare went on one occasion to spend the night with him, but found the unsuccessful hunter without food. Starting the next morning with a determination to return only after he shot something, he traveled some distance, occasionally seeing game which could not be secured. Later on, while not far from camp, he killed two wolves, and being of a humorous disposition, the thought was suggested to pass off this meat upon the unsuspecting Billy as venison. Bringing a portion of the animal to headquarters (together with a squirrel), and assuring him that a large buck had been killed, the mess was eaten by the victim of Mr. Bare's joke, with a casual remark as to its toughness, etc. Subsequently the truth was told. Imagination rather than words can picture the result of such a revelation. In 1876 a three-days' hunt was indulged in by Mr. Bare, two of his nephews and a little negro boy. Starting with a cart and a yoke of oxen, they drove into a bottom farm, proceeding horse-back until about a mile from their camping ground, when fresh bear tracks were discovered. Before very long an effort to secure bruin was commenced, and proved fruitful. While waiting for help to remove the animal (which weighed about 400 pounds) a large buck was killed by Mr. Bare. These furnish but mere instances of his good fortune with the gun and rifle.
W. F. Barnes, undertaker and furniture dealer, of Corning, Ark., has been in business here since August, 1888, when he purchased his stock of goods of Mr. Bishop and continued at that stand until June 1, 1889, when he moved to his present location. His establishment is a two-story frame building, 40×20 feet, now under process of erection, which will, when finished, be commodious and substantial. Mr. Barnes success in this line has been due to his energy and enterprise, and his establishment is now one of the leading concerns of this kind in the county. He was born in Lawrence County, Ill., in 1856, and was the eldest in a family of eight children born to John and Jane (Thompson) Barnes, who were Kentuckians by birth, but emigrated to Illinois in their youth, where they grew to maturity and met and married. The father settled with his parents in Lawrence County in 1826, and afterward became a successful farmer and teacher of that region, following these occupations for many years in that State. He died in 1885, but his widow is still residing in Illinois. The paternal grandfather was an early settler of Illinois, where he also makes his home. Mr. Barnes was early inured to the duties of farm life, and during his youth also attended the common schools of Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Ill. He engaged in farming for himself in that State and was married there in 1882 to Miss Ella P. Price, a native of that county. Her parents, Joseph and Hannah (Dart) Price, were born in Ohio and Kentucky, respectively, and are now residing in Illinois. In 1887 Mr. Barnes came to Corning, Ark., and until 1888 worked at the carpenter's trade, but has since been engaged in his present business. Politically he is a Democrat, and always supports the principles of that party. He belongs to the K. of H. and the I. O. G. T., and he and wife are members of the Methodist Church. They are the parents of two children: Opal V. and Verna D. Mr. Barnes has done well financially, is the owner of some valuable town property, and predicts a bright future for Corning.
Zachariah T. Bearden was born in Montgomery County, Tenn., September 29, 1849, and is the son of John and Prudence (Majors) Bearden. John Bearden was born in Montgomery County, Tenn., and is of Irish-English parentage. He received a fair, common-school education, later followed farming and emigrated to Clay County, Ark., in 1851. The county was called Greene County at that time, but was afterward changed to Clay. At that early day there were but six families in an area ten miles square, and all the hardships and privations incident to pioneer life were experienced by Mr. Bearden. Schools were taught on the subscription plan, and church was held about once a month in old log cabins. Mr. Bearden was a slave owner but generally preferred white labor. He was the owner of a large farm, but was broken up during the war. He died May 10, 1888, being seventy-six years of age. During life he was never an office seeker, but was elected by the people, without solicitation, to the office of county treasurer. Mrs. Bearden was also reared in Tennessee, grew to womanhood there, and was married in that State. Nine children were the result of this union: Richard E., Isom K., Judge H., Zach. T., Samuel J., Susan U., William J., Robert W. and Mary E. Mrs. Bearden died in this county, August 16, 1877. Grandfather and Grandmother Bearden died in Tennessee; she was a native of North Carolina. Grandfather and Grandmother Majors were natives of West Virginia, and at an early day emigrated to Tennessee. Zachariah T. Bearden came with his parents to Arkansas when two years of age, settling in Greene County, and there remained assisting his father on the farm until twenty-one years of age. His educational advantages were rather limited, but by self study he became a well informed man. At the age mentioned he began business for himself by hiring on at a cotton gin by the day, and later followed clerking. He then bought a tract of land and carried on agricultural pursuits for nine years. January 2, 1873, he married Miss Elizabeth Harber, a native of Dyer County, Tenn., and the daughter of G. A. Harber. The fruits of this union were five children, four now living: Drewy D., George O., John S. and Ethel M. The one deceased was named Dora L. Mr. Bearden engaged in the mercantile business at his present stand in 1882, building the second house in Rector, and has been occupied in merchandising ever since. He is also interested in a large timber business. He carries a stock of merchandise valued at about $3,000, and also buys and exchanges cotton. He is a Democrat in his political views. Mrs. Bearden is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
B. B. Biffle, sheriff of Clay County, and one of the representative citizens of this section, is a native of Humphreys County, Tenn., where he was reared and where he received a fair education in the common schools. He is the son of William and Martha (Skelton) Biffle, the grandson of Nathan Biffle, and the great-grandson of Jacob Biffle, who came from Germany many years ago. To William Biffle and wife were born six children, B. B. Biffle being the eldest. He left his native county at the age of twenty-one years, or in 1879, and made his way to Clay County, Ark., where he started a store in Greenway, and, although a young man, he was the first to engage in merchandising at that place. After that, in connection with his store, he was for some time occupied in running a stave mill, but in September, 1888, he was elected to the office of sheriff, and then closed out the milling and stave business, to give his undivided attention to his official duties. He fills that position in an able and efficient manner, and to the satisfaction of all concerned. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, of the Blue Lodge and Chapter. For his companion in life he chose Miss Ella Turner, daughter of Thomas Turner, of Tennessee. He and Mrs. Biffle are members of the Methodist Church.
Sylvanus Bishop, wagon-maker, painter and farmer, is a son of Stephen M. and Caroline (Bunnell) Bishop, and was born in Crawford County, Penn., March 1, 1841. His parents were also born in that State, and in 1837 emigrated to Indiana, but, after remaining there a short time, returned to Pennsylvania. About 1844 they again came to Indiana, where they made their home until 1880, then moving to Peabody, Kas., where Mr. Bishop died in 1886. His widow still survives. To them were born fifteen children, eleven of whom are living: Jefferson, Sylvanus. Stephen W., Adeline, David, Elmira J., Merriman, Silas, Delilah, Monroe and Daniel S. Sylvanus Bishop attained his growth in Indiana, and in 1861 enlisted in Company E, Twenty-ninth Indiana Infantry, and served until the close of the war, participating in the following engagements: Shiloh, Stone River, Chickamanga, Liberty Gap and others. At the battle of Shiloh he was wounded by a gun-shot in the left arm. At Stone River he was captured, but succeeded in making his escape and, after a time, was discharged for disability, owing to the effects of small-pox, which he had contracted in the service. From that time until 1877 he was engaged in learning and working at his trade in Indiana, and then came to Clay County, Ark., and has since resided at Corning. He owns a small farm adjoining the town, which is in a good state of cultivation and well improved, and this he conducts in connection with carrying on his trade. In January, 1886, he was married to Miss Mary E. Benedict, a native of New York State, by whom he has five children: Anna M., John L., Amy W., Elsie V. and A. McDonald. Mr. and Mrs. Bishop are members of the Baptist Church, and he belongs to the Masonic fraternity. He has been a school director for about eleven years, and is interested in all public enterprises. For some ten years he was engaged in the undertaker's business, his profits amounting to about $1.500 per year. He now gives his attention to his shop, and is doing well. His son, John L., is an intelligent young man, and is one of the first teachers in the county.
James Blackshare. Among all classes and in every condition of life where the struggle for a livelihood is going on, where will independence be found more clearly demonstrated than in the life of the honest, industrious farmer? Mr. Blackshare, who has followed agricultural pursuits for the past fifty-two years, and who has never missed a crop during the years thus spent, is a fair example of the independent tiller of the soil. He was born in West Tennessee, in 1824, and is the son of Rev. Jacob and Mary (Berry) Blackshare, the father a native of Tennessee, born in 1802, and the mother born in 1799. James Blackshare was left motherless at the age of ten years, and May 27, 1847, he was united in marriage to Miss Sarah A. Dines, who bore him five sons: William S., a member of the firm of Blackshare & Co., in the manufacturing of staves and in the general milling business, is married and the father of six children; Robert B. (deceased), left a widow and five children; Sidney A. (deceased), left a widow and five children; James T., lives on a farm near Boydsville, is married and the father of three sons, and Jacob L., farmer near Boydsville, is married, and the father of two sons and two daughters. The mother of these children died in 1857. March 14, 1858, Mr. Blackshare took for his second wife Mrs. Ruth E. Evans, of Tennessee, and in the fall of the same year he and family moved to Clay County (then Greene County), Ark., and settled on the farm where he is now residing, three miles northeast of Boydsville, which consisted of eighty acres, to which he added eighty more. To his last marriage were born six children, three of whom survive at the present: Mary F., wife of Dr. John J. Prince, and the mother of one daughter, resides at Bethel Station, Tenn., where her husband follows his profession and is also engaged in merchandising; John S., a merchant at Rector, married and the father of one child, a daughter; Ora A., the wife of A. J. Burton, and the mother of three children, two daughters and a son, is now living near her father, where her husband is occupied in farming; Ira E., died in his sixteenth year. Mr. Blackshare came to this State with his wife and seven children in two wagons, drawn by oxen, being the owner of seven or eight head of cattle, six or eight head of horses, and about $200 in money. The first winter before there were gins introduced into the country, the cotton, which they picked with their fingers, was made into clothing for the family. There were no mills then except little hand mills, which were only used to grind corn, and were called corn crackers. They would crack the kernel into about four pieces. A few years later Mr. Blackshare raised a little wheat and ground it in the same mills and "sarcht it;" this consisted of a box with a muslin cloth over it, opened at one end, on which was dropped some of the meal, and then by a rocking motion the bran was forced to the top and back through the opening at the rear, while the fine flour passed through the muslin into the box. At that time their trading was done by exchanging pelting and furs for salt, sugar, coffee, etc., at Cape Girardeau, Mo., 100 miles distant, to which place they made their trips with ox teams about once a year. Mr. Blackshare has not taken a drink of liquor of any kind, or a chew of tobacco, for over forty years, or since joining the church, and has always been willing to render aid, as far as he was able, to all laudable enterprises. He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. Blackshare was township magistrate for four terms of two years each, and was also county treasurer for two terms. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is one of the representative men of the county. He is now the owner of 340 acres of land, after having supported his family and settled nine children at an expense of $14,000, and does not owe a cent.
W. S. Blackshare, of the milling and stave manufacturing firm of W. S. Blackshare & Co., is a native of Tennessee, born in November, 1849, and came to Clay County, Ark., with his father, James Blackshare, when a boy of nine years. Here he grew to manhood on a farm, and in 1878 he was appointed by Gov. Garland to the office of sheriff of the county, and for two years he was county treasurer, having also filled that office for several incumbents. He was deputy sheriff for four years, and is considered one of the leading business men of the county. He is the owner of about 200 acres of land on his home place, which adjoins the town of Boydsville, and has about 1500 acres in the country, and has the best buildings to be found in the county, all erected by himself. The house is a two story frame, 16 × 40, with a one story L fifty feet long and sixteen feet wide, and a porch running the entire length of the L. He also has a very large cistern under cover. He has two large frame barns, one 30 × 40, two stories high, and the other 30 × 50 feet, also two stories high, with out-sheds on the sides. On his farm on the Cache he has built another house on the same plan as his home place, and he is also building a good barn there. He was married to Miss Emily S. Cox, who lived but eighteen months after marriage, and died in 1871, leaving him a son, Arthur Lee, who is attending the home school. For his second wife Mr. Blackshare married Miss Mary A. Ellis, daughter of Rev. Ira O. Ellis, who came here from Mississippi, where his father, Rev. Reuben Ellis, was an itinerant preacher in the Methodist Church, South, Mrs. Ira O. Ellis is still living in Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Blackshare were born these children: Ezra O., Annie (who is dead), Edgar M., Angie, Lena and Jennie. Mr. Blackshare belongs to the I. O. O. F., and is also a member of the Masonic fraternity, into which order he was initiated about the time he was twenty-one years of age. In his political views he affiliates with the Democratic party. In 1871 he engaged in the mercantile business at Big Creek, with his father, buying out the interest of Judge Royall, paying $500 on time for the goods, and in 1878 removed to Boydsville. This business he continued until January, 1888, having in the meantime several partners; first the firm was J. & W. S. Blackshare, then for eight years he was in company with his brother, R. B. Blackshare, under the firm title of W. S. Blackshare & Co., and was then with Judge Royall for three years, the firm title continuing the same. In 1888 he disposed of his stock to A. L. Blackshare, who now conducts the business in the same building. In connection with his seventeen years at merchandising, Mr. Blackshare devoted some of his time to farming, and is at present junior partner of Royall & Blackshare, real estate dealers. He is a pleasant, genial gentleman, a good conversationalist, and has a host of warm friends. He is a splendid man physically, and although forty years of age does not look a day over thirty.
A. L. Blackshare, of Boydsville, another prominent and much respected citizen of Clay County. Ark., was born in Tennessee, in 1856, and came to Clay County, Ark., in 1880. He followed agricultural pursuits for two years, and in 1885 bought out the stock of Mrs. Ella Blackshare, widow of R. B. Blackshare, and began business in Boydsville. This he continued for two years, and then sold out to J. S. Blackshare, after which he purchased the stock of W. S. Blackshare & Co., and is now engaged in that business, under the firm title of A. L. Blackshare. Aside from this he is also occupied in milling and manufacturing, under the business title of Blackshare & Blackshare. In 1886 he was elected to the position of treasurer of the company, and was re-elected in 1888. Miss Ada Berton, a native of Arkansas, and the daughter of Robert Berton, became his wife, and to them were born two children, one now living: Robert Bascom. The other child. Ernest, died at the age of one year. Mr. Blackshare is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
Larry Boshers. This successful young planter and stockman, of Clay County, of which he has been a resident for seventeen years, is well and favorably known to the many citizens of Kilgore Township. He was born in the State of Tennessee, in 1862, being the seventh of fourteen children of Henry and Tabitha (Stewart) Boshers, who were also originally rom that State, the former being a planter by occupation, and there he died. After his death his widow came to Clay County, Ark., and here died on her farm, in 1882. Larry Boshers was early taught the rudiments of farm life, becoming still better acquainted with that calling as he grew to manhood, and is now considered one of the enterprising, thorough and reliable young agriculturists of the county. In 1880 be made his first purchase of land, which amounted to forty acres, in a raw state, and has since added from time to time to this tract, until he now has a valuable farm consisting of 480 acres, with 175 under cultivation, the rest being well adapted to raising stock, to which Mr. Boshers gives considerable attention. He devotes seventy-five acres to the culture of cotton each year. He votes with the Democratic party, is a member of the Agricultural Wheel. and, personally, is held in high esteem by all who know him. Miss Jennie Montgomery, a native of Clay County, became his wife in 1880, and died in 1884, having borne two children. both deceased. Her parents were Daniel and Polly Montgomery.
Giles Bowers, carpenter and builder of Boydsville, and one of the successful business men of that village, is a native of North Carolina, and remained in his native State until twenty-seven years of age. He was engaged in gold mining until the breaking out of the late war, when he enlisted in the Forty-ninth North Carolina Infantry, in April, 1862, and served until the termination of hostilities. He was in Gen. Lee's army, in Gen. Matt. W. Ransom's brigade, and participated in the seven days' fight at Richmond, at Gen. McClellan's defeat, and was in all the fights and campaigns before Richmond. He was at the second battle of Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, and was captured at Five Forks and placed on Johnson Island. Ohio, as a prisoner of war, being discharged there from June 18, 1865. He then returned to North Carolina, remaining until the spring of 1868, when he came to what is now Clay County, and, settling on a farm, tilled the soil until 1879. He is the owner of 120 acres of land, with about seventy acres under cultivation. In the last mentioned year he opened up a carpenter shop, having learned the trade in previous years, and has erected the principal part of the buildings in Boydsville. At one time he was a member of the firm of Bowers & Toombs, and later of the firm of Bowers & Downs. Mr. Bowers also manufactures seats and desks for church and school purposes. He has been married twice: first, to Miss Elizabeth Almond, of North Carolina, who bore him ten children, eight of whom survive and are named as follows: Josephine, wife of James Mooning, and the mother of two children, is now living on a farm in Sharp County; John W. is engaged in business in Boydsville; Flora J., married to C. M. King, a farmer of Clay County, is the mother of three children; Nancy A. is at home with her father; Kittie Belle, wife of James W. Dobbins, a farmer near Boydsville; Frederick C., Giles L. and Brantly H. The mother of these children died in September, 1885. For his second wife Mr. Bowers chose Miss Maggie J. Matthews, who survived only seventeen months after marriage, and left a child, which followed its mother to the grave but a month later. Mr. Bowers is a Republican, and is somewhat active in politics, having done valiant work for that party. Although not a member of any church, he works in harmony with all good people for the benefit of the community and for his fellow men.
W. D. Bowers. Among the extensive industrial enterprises which form the basis of Clay County's importance and prosperity is the stave and head factory located at Corning, in which Mr. Bowers has worked for ten years, and of which he has been foreman two years, working his way up to that position from a mill-hand. His native State is Ohio, his birth having occurred in Harrison County in 1851, and his parents were also from that State. They were Jacob and Lavina Bowers, nee Downs, the father being a tiller of the soil and successful in his calling, which occupation he continued to follow until his death in 1881. His wife is still living and makes her home in her native State. W. D. Bowers, like the majority of youths, bent his energies to learning the occupation in which his father was engaged, and also acquired a good education in the public schools of Harrison County. After the late Civil War he joined the regular army of the United States, and was stationed at different points in the South, but in 1879 he came to Corning, Ark., and began working in the mill in which he is now employed. His wife, whom he married in 1879, and who was formerly Miss Lenora Powell, was born in Tennessee, and was a daughter of B. C. Powell and wife, also of that State, the former now residing near Austin, and the latter deceased. In 1883 Mr. Bowers lost his excellent wife, she having borne him two children, one of whom is living, Floyd. In 1886 Mr. Bowers was married in Union County, Ill., to Miss Mary Stew art, a native of Indiana. Her parents. Henry and Jane (Pollock) Stewart, were Ohio people, who moved first to Indiana and from there to Cape Girardean County, Mo., where they opened up a farm in 1874, and later kept a hotel at Doniphan. Here Mr. Stewart died in 1887, his wife having died in Indiana, in 1885. He enlisted in the Union army from Indiana, at the breaking out of the Civil War. Mr. Bowers has never been very active in polities. Socially he is a member of the K. of H. He is very public spirited, and has always practiced those principles of fairness and honesty which are bound to command the respect and admiration of all right-minded people.
C. Fred. Brennecke, editor of the Clay County Advocate, at Greenway, Ark., was born in Cape Girardeau County, Mo., December 19, 1866, being a son of Frederick Brennecke, a native of Germany, who came to the United States with his parents when a lad of ten years and settled in Cape Girardeau County, Mo., where he grew to manhood and was married, the latter event being in the city of Cape Girardean to Miss Dona Hunze, who was born in Germany. Mr. Brennecke served in the Union army during the late war. Since about 1865 he has resided in Cape Girardean, and is in he service of Col. Robert Sturdivant. C. Fred, Brennecke grew to manhood in his native county, and learned the printer's trade in Cape Girardean, commencing when thirteen years of age and continuing for about four and one half years. From this place he went to Jefferson City, but only worked there a short time, when he moved to Higginsville, La Fayette County, Mo., where he followed his trade for two years. Subsequently he came to Greenway, Ark., and became associated with Mr. Dollison in the publication of the Advocate, having charge of the mechanical department one year. January 2, 1889, he became sole proprietor, and is now editor and publisher of that paper. It is the leading newspaper of the county and is independent in politics. Mr. Brennecke receives a liberal amount of advertising, and his journal has the largest circulation of any paper in the county. He is a practical printer, a thorough business man, and is of exemplary habits and character. He was elected a member of the town board, and is now town recorder.
Jacob Brobst, the present mayor of Corning, and county jailer of the Western division of Clay County, Ark., is descended from a family that has held a worthy place in the history of this country, and wherever its representatives have settled they have became recognized as prominent and influential members of society. He was born in Columbus, Ohio, on the 18th of June, 1839, and of this State his parents. John and Catherine (Bachar) Brobst, were among the pioneer settlers. The father is still living and resides in Upper Sandusky, Ohio, but the mother died in 1874. Jacob followed the occupation of his father until eighteen years of age, receiving in the meantime a good education in the public schools of Wyandot County, Ohio, and after starting out to fight the battle of life for himself he worked at the carpenter's trade and taught school, securing in the latter profession the reputation of being one of the best educators in the county. Miss L. M. England, a native of Hancock County, Ohio, became his wife in 1862, and their union was blessed in the birth of two children: J. R., who is married and resides at home, and Mary Alice, also at home. Mrs. Brobst's parents, Robert and Ellen (Lape) England. were Ohio people, the former being a farmer who died in 1875. His widow is a resident of Goshen, Ind. In 1864 Mr. Brobst went to Fort Wayne, Ind., and was engaged in railroading in that State until 1879, when he took up his abode in Corning, Ark., which was at that time a very small place, and has since given his attention to carpentering. He votes with the Democratic party, and has been jailer of the West division for three years; was first elected to the position of mayor in 1882, next in 1883, and is now serving his third term. During 1884-85-86 and 1887 he was a member of the city council, and has also been deputy assessor of the Western division of Clay County. He was foreman of the grand jury that found the indictment by which the second man of the Ku Klux was hung, thus breaking up that gang in this section of the country. He is the owner of some fine residence property in the town, and besides this has a fertile and well tilled farm of 320 acres in Nelson Township. He believes in building up this place, and has done his full share in this direction. He and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. W. Brown, a farmer residing near Vidette, Ark., was born in Hardin County, Tenn., February 26, 1835, and is a son of John and Sarah (Garner) Brown, who were Tennesseeans, the mother dying in her native State when the subject of this sketch was a small boy. J. W. Brown was reared on a farm in his native county and in 1854 emigrated to Arkansas, coming by wagon, and located on the farm where he now lives. His place was heavily covered with timber when he located, but he soon erected a little log cabin and began clearing his land. He was compelled to work very hard, but made good headway, and now has one of the most valuable farms in the county, consisting of 200 acres, with about 100 acres under cultivation. Game of all kinds was quite abundant when he first came to the State, and one time he brought down a bear with his trusty rifle. In 1862 he enlisted in Company B, Col. White's regiment, and during six months' service was in the battle of Crane Hill. Owing to rheumatism he was compelled to leave the army. His first wife was Patience Vassar, and his second Emily Sloan, by whom he had a family of seven children, four now living: Henry, Amanda, George W. and Sarah E. Both these wives were Tennesseeans, whom he married while living in that State. His present wife, whose maiden name was Martha Garner, has borne him three children: Minnie A., Ida M. and Reuben A. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are members of the Christian Church, and he is a member of the Masonic order.
Andrew J. Brown, merchant and postmaster at Piggott, Ark., is one of the prominent residents of the county, and in his business as well as social relations has won the confidence and respect of all who know him. His birth occurred in Union County, Ill., June 15, 1843, his parents, Samuel and Annie (Dillow) Brown, being natives of the same State. They reared their family on a farm in Union County, and here Andrew J. Brown remained until twenty-five years of age, enlisting in 1862 in the One Hundred and Ninth Illinois Infantry, which was afterward consolidated with the Eleventh Illinois, and served until he received his discharge at Springfield on the 15th of July, 1865. He was in the fight at Vicksburg on the 4th of July, 1863, and was at Yazoo City, Fort Spanish, and the surrender of Mobile. He was in the hospital at La Grange, Tenn., a short time, and in 1868 removed to Arkansas and located in what is now Clay County, where he was occupied in farming for a few years. In 1879 he embarked in merchandising, and in 1882 located at Piggott, where he erected a business house and has since been engaged in keeping a general mercantile establishment, and has built up a good trade. He was appointed postmaster of the town in April, 1883, which office he has since held. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church (in which he is a deacon), and he is a member of the G. A. R. organization, and is quartermaster of his post. He was married on the 28th of December, 1868, to Miss M. J. Pollard, a sister of W. W. Pollard, whose sketch appears in this work, and they are the parents of the following children: Henry O., a lad of twelve years; Cindona, a daughter, who died March 11, 1889, at the age of seventeen years, and an infant deceased.
Hiram Calvin, of the firm of Clemson & Calvin, although a young man, is one of the most successful business men in this portion of the State. He has been running the business exclusively for six and a half years last, having come to this point with a stock of goods in December, 1882. He passed through the country eighteen months before the road was built, and, from what he reported, his partner in Illinois bought 4,200 acres of timber land, about half of which still belongs to the estate. They commenced business in Clay County, Ark., with a stock of goods worth $2,497, which has been increased since then to $3,500. In addition to the store, the firm own a stave-mill, which they operate, and a farm of 120 acres, all under improvement and well stocked. They have also been interested in steamboats on the river, and still own a small interest there. The original and only investment in goods and buildings amounted to $3,100, and, at a very low estimate, profits worth $10,000, and the first investment, have been paid out. Hiram Calvin is the son of R. T. Calvin and Angie (Rifner) Calvin, and the grandson, on his mother's side, of Peter and Elizabeth (Rockafellow) Rifner. Peter Rifner was a soldier in the War of 1812, being commissioned by Gen. Harrison as commander of a company. R. T. Calvin was born in New Jersey, and emigrated to Harrison,Ohio, when a young man. There he married Miss Rifner. Hiram Calvin casts his vote with the Democratic party, and is a member of the "Triple Alliance." He married Miss Gussie Boren, daughter of Cole Boren, of Mound City, Ill., who was a pilot on the Mississippi River, and whose father, Morgan Boren, was born in Tennessee, in 1789, he being a soldier in the Black Hawk War. The latter married Miss Anna Lathran, of Tennessee. To Mr. and Mrs. Calvin have been born three children: Fannie, Gussie and Aggie. Mr. Clemson died March 30, 1889, at his residence near Olmsted, Ill., aged sixty-four years and ten days.
William A. Campbell was born in Greene County, Mo., April 10, 1848, being a son of William and Nancy Campbell, and grandson of James and Lucy Campbell and James and Hannie Collins, who were natives of Patrick County, Va. William Campbell, Sr., was a farmer, and moved to Missouri in 1845, residing in Greene County until 1852, when he removed to Cass County, and two years later to Kansas Territory. He continued to make this his home until 1867, since which time he has been a resident of Vernon County, Mo., and is now living at Milo, of that county, engaged in merchandising. He and wife are the parents of the following family: John W., a resident of Arizona Territory, engaged in the milling business; George W., who died in Newton County, Mo., in 1886; Marthie E., who died in Greene County, Mo., in 1846: William A., James E., who died in Vernon County, Mo., in 1872; Isaac F., a merchant of Arizona Territory; Melissa J., who died in Bourbon County, Kas., in 1859; Thomas H., who died in Crawford County, Kas., in 1863; David H., a blacksmith at El Paso, Tex.; Melissa, married Charles Baker in 1883, and resides in Crawford County, Kas. William A. Campbell began life for himself in 1863, when only sixteen years old, at which time he enlisted in the Federal army, in Company B. Fourteenth Regiment of Kansas Volunteer Cavalry, under Capt. Charles H. Haynes, and Col. C. W. Blair, in which regiment he served until June 15, 1865, then being honorably discharged with the balance of his regiment, at Lawrence. Kas. He then went to Southeast Kansas, where he joined his parents, staying there until May 20, 1866, the date of his marriage to Miss Rebecca A. Cooper, afterward moving to McDonald County. Mo., and from there to El Paso, Tex., where he lived one year. Going thence to Benton County, Ark., he lived there two years and later settled in NewtonCounty. Mo., but after a residence in that locality until 1884, moved to Clay County, Ark., reaching this place November 17, 1884. Here he still resides. He bought 320 acres of heavily timbered land, and now has eighteen acres cleared and under fence, with a young orchard of 100 apple trees of a select variety. William A. Campbell was elected justice of the peace in his county, October 20, 1888, which office he still holds. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Rebecca A. Campbell, his wife, is the daughter of Hiram and Lucinda Cooper, and was born in McDonald County, Mo., March 7, 1848. Her father died when she was four years old, and when she was seven years old her mother died, leaving her and one sister and two brothers to fight the battle of life as best they could. The oldest child was only ten years of age. She lived in McDonald County, Mo., until the spring of 1862, when she moved to Southeast Kansas with relatives, residing there until her marriage in 1866. William A. and Rebecca A. Campbell are the parents of six children: George W., the eldest, died in Jasper County. Mo., in 1872; John W. died in Mexico, in 1874: Alexander died in Mexico in 1874; John W. and Alexander (twins) died on the same day; Lucinda J., Martha E., and Rosa A., the youngest child, still remain with their parents. William C. Cochran, merchant of Greenway, Ark., was born in Massac County, Ill., September 4, 1854, his father, Jesse Cochran, being a native of North Carolina. The latter went to Illinois when a young man, where he was married to Jane Sexton, and resided in Massac County up to 1856, when he moved to Arkansas and settled in what is now Clay County. Here he entered land, made a farm, and reared a family. His death occurred in September, 1869. William C. Cochran and two sisters are the only surviving members of a family of six children. He was reared in Clay County, his youth being spent on a farm. He was married in this county on the 5th of December, 1881, to Miss Sarah E. Leeth, a daughter of John A. Leeth, formerly from Tennessee, now deceased. Mrs. Cochran was born in Tennessee, but was reared in Clay County, and by Mr. Cochran is the mother of one child, who is living: Lura, now six years old. Jesse died in January, 1886, at the age of five months. Mr. Cochran had been engaged in farming and the ginning business previous to his marriage, and afterwards continued the former occupation for three years. In August, 1885, he commenced merchandising at Greenway and has been interested in that business since that time. He was appointed deputy postmaster in 1885 and served two years. He carries an excellent stock of general merchandise, and has built up a good trade. He is a Mason and belongs to the I. O. O. F.
Robert L. Coleman. proprietor of Piggott Hotel, Piggott, Ark., and the son of Col. David and Sarah (Love) Coleman, was born in Haywood County. N. C., March 26, 1823. Col. David Coleman was a native of North Carolina, but moved to Tennessee at an early day, locating in Carroll County, where he followed farming, and there remained until his death. He served as colonel of the State militia. His wife, Sarah Love, was also a native of North Carolina. Her father, Gen. Thomas Love, was in the Revolutionary War as well as the War of 1812. Robert L. Coleman was reared to manhood on a farm in Tennessee, read law in Carroll County and was admitted to the bar, after which he practiced there until his removal to Missouri in 1851. He then located at Hartsville, Wright County, practiced there for three years and upon returning to Tennessee, engaged in mercantile pursuits until the breaking out of the late war, when he enlisted in the Confederate service, in 1862, in Col. Napier's regiment. He remained in this regiment for about eight months, afterward being in Col. Green's regiment, where he was promoted to adjutant and served in that capacity. He was captured at Parke's Cross Roads by Gen. Sullivan, was held a prisoner at Camp Douglas for over three months, and was then exchanged. He then returned to Tennessee and did not enter the service again. He resumed the practice of law in Carroll County for about three years, but finally gave up law. He has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, for many years and was licensed to preach in 1868. He was a local preacher in his church for some years. He was ordained deacon in 1870 at Trenton, Tenn., by Bishop McTyre, and followed his ministerial duties in Tennessee up to 1875, when he moved to Arkansas, settling at Oak Bluff in Clay County, and there resided for a number of years. He taught school for nine months, and then engaged in the manufacture of tobacco in 1878, which occupation he has followed up to the present date. He built his hotel in the fall of 1888 and moved in December. His is the first and last and only hotel in Piggott. Mr. Coleman was married in Carroll County, Tenn., December 4, 1850, to Miss Harriet E. Norman, a native of Carroll County, and the daughter of Judge John Norman. To this union were born three children, two daughters and a son: Sarah N., wife of Albert Hubbard, of Piggott; Mollie A., widow, and John R., who died May 7, 1883, in his twenty-fifth year. Mr. Coleman was ordained local elder here in 1881 by the same bishop that ordained him deacon in Tennessee.
G. W. Cook is a successful agriculturist and stockman of Oak Bluff Township, Clay County, Ark., and was born in Weakley County, West Tenn., in 1840, being the youngest in a family of seven children born to Richard A. and Ann (David) Cook, both of whom were born in Old Virginia. At an early day they moved to West Tennessee, where the father opened up a farm and there died in 1860, at the age of fifty-eight years. His widow came to Greene County, Ark., in August, 1874, and here died in October of the same year at the age of seventy-six years. G. W. Cook grew to manhood in his native State, and received his education in Weakley County, being also married there, in 1864, to Miss M. M. Jenkins, a daughter of C. P. and Mary G. (Boothe) Jenkins, who were born in North Carolina, and were early immigrants of Tennessee, where they became wealthy farmers and spent their declining years, the father dying in 1889 and the mother in 1872. After his marriage Mr. Cook settled on the old homestead, and there made his home until 1873, when he came to Greene County, Ark., and purchased a timber tract of eighty acres, which he cleared and sold in 1888. In 1874 he moved to Clay County, and five years later purchased the farm on which he is at present residing, which consisted of 120 acres, with thirty acres under the plow. He has increased his lands until he now has 960 acres, 200 of which are under cultivation, in the home farm, and 320 acres, with thirty-two under cultivation, in Blue Cane Township, Greene County. He is interested in stock raising, and makes a specialty of Berkshire and Poland China hogs. His principal crop is corn. He has never been very active in politics, but usually votes the Democratic ticket. He is a member of the A. F. & A. M. lodge at Rector, and is interested in all worthy public enterprises. He is in every respect a self-made man, and all his property has been acquired by his own exertions. He and wife are the parents of the following children: Ella, now Mrs. Bolton; Daniel Elvis, Joseph, Oda and Edar living, and six children deceased. In 1861 Mr. Cook enlisted in Weakley County in Company C, Fifty-second Tennessee Infantry, and was mustered into service at Henderson Station, afterward participating in the battle of Shiloh. At the end of six months he returned home.
Fred W. Cooper, merchant of Greenway, Clay County, Ark., was born on the 9th of October, 1866, in Pulaski County, Ill., his parents, C. C. and Georgia (McDonald) Cooper, being also born in that State. Mr. Cooper was a merchant of Caledonia, Ill., for a number of years and died there in May, 1877. Fred W. Cooper remained with his father until the latter's death and received his education in the common schools of Illinois and in Cincinnati, Ohio. After spending about one year in the "Lone Star State" he located in Clay County. Ark., in July, 1887, where he bought property, erected a store building, and engaged in merchandising, carrying a large and select stock of shelf and heavy hardware, farming implements and furniture. He has built up a good trade and is making money. He was married in Pulaski County, November 9, 1887, to Miss Gertrude Williamson, a native of Ohio, who was reared and educated in Pulaski County, Ill. Mr. and Mrs. Cooper are the parents of one child, Velaria. Mr. Cooper is a young man of energy, push and enterprise, and possessing excellent business qualifications, is certain to succeed in whatever he undertakes.
Henry B. Cox, a prominent merchant of Rector, Ark., was born February 13, 1843, in Weakley County, Tenn. His parents were William A. Cox and Hiley Cox, natives, respectively, of Buckingham County, Va., and Giles County, Tenn. William A. Cox, the father of our subject, was born March 22, 1815. He was of Scotch Irish descent. Remaining in his native State until twelve years of age, he emigrated with his parents to Tennessee, which State at that time was wild and sparsely inhabited, and furnished very limited means of education. Still, William A. Cox, in the face of every disadvantage, by his own extraordinary efforts, succeeded in qualifying himself for business affairs, and filled various important stations. In 1838 he was married to Mrs. Hiley Schofield, widow of Thomas Schofield., and daughter of Asa and Nancy Magee of Tennessee. Resulting from this union were six children: Ballard C., Leamma M., Henry B. (subject of this sketch). William A., Jr., Emily S. and Amanda Cox, Ballard C. Cox was killed at the battle of Chiekamauga while in the Confederate service. Amanda and Emily S., late wife of W. S. Blackshare, are also deceased. In 1857 William A. Cox and family emigrated from Tennessee to Greene County, Ark., and settled three miles north of the town of Oak Bluff. The woods at that time abounded in wild animals. School and church privileges were very limited. During the late war William A. Cox remained at home, but he was a Southern sympathizer. In religion he was a Presbyterian, but was identified with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, at the time of his death, in 1871. Mrs. Hiley Cox is still living, and is a resident of Clay County, Ark. (Clay County was formerly a part of Greene County.) The paternal grandfather, John Cox, was a native of Virginia, as was also his wife. He was of Scotch descent, and was a farmer by occupation. The maternal grandparents were of Tennessee. The grandfather participated in the Indian wars. He was engaged in the memorable battle of Horseshoe Bend. Henry B. Cox was thirteen years of age when the family removed to Arkansas. He remained at home on the farm until March, 1862, when he enlisted in Company D, Twenty-fifth Arkansas Volunteer Infantry, under Capt. G. D. Byers, Confederate army. He was elected third lieutenant at Corinth, Miss. At Readerville, Tenn., he was promoted to first lieutenant. He was in the battles at Richmond, Ky., and Murfreesboro, Tenn., as well as numerous smaller engagements. At Murfreesboro he was wounded in the right foot, which resulted in much suffering and long confinement in the MedicalCollege Hospital, at Atlanta, Ga., of which Dr. Willis Westmoreland was chief surgeon. In 1863, near Griffin, Ga., he was married to Miss Addie E. Lavender, daughter of Judge James Lavender, a native of Georgia. For two years after his marriage he was engaged in farming. In 1867, in Carroll County, Ga., he went into the mercantile business. He emigrated to Greene County, Ark., in 1867, and is still occupied in the same business. By his marriage Mr. Cox became the father of nine children, as follows: Charles M. B., Augusta O., Eugene H., Cora B., Mary F., Annie L., Dreas L., Augustus C. and Hubert D. Cox. Of these there are surviving only Charles M. B., Cora B., Mary F. and Dreas L. Cox. The wife of Mr. Cox, Mrs. Addie E. Cox, passed from this life into the future on July 9, 1880, at the age of thirty-six years. Mr. Cox, afterward married Miss Laura I. Cox, a native of Missouri, and daughter of Rev. J. W. Cox, of the Methodist Protestant Church. To this union were born two children: Addie B. and Everett; the last named died at the age of four months. Mr. Cox established his business in Rector in 1882. He was the purchaser of the first lot sold in town, and has been quite successful. Mr. Cox and family are members of the Methodist Protestant Church. He was ordained a minister in 1872. He has been a member of the Masonic order since 1866, and took the Chapter and Council degrees in 1867, at Carrollton, Carroll County, Ga. He is a Democrat in politics; a stanch advocate of the principles of prohibition, he supported Gen. Fisk for president in 1888. In personal appearance Mr. Cox is tall and imposing; is six feet and two inches, and weighs 200 lbs. He has dark-brown eyes, and wears a heavy, full beard.
Thomas J. Crews, farmer and stock raiser of St. Francis Township, Clay County, Ark., was born in Bedford County, Tenn., August 1, 1847, and is the son of Dr. John Crews, a native of Virginia, and Mary A. (Tribble) Crews. Dr. John Crews was reared in his native State and was married twice, his first wife bearing him two sons and three daughters, all now deceased but one, a daughter. His second marriage was to the mother of our subject, who bore him four children, two sons and two daughters, all of whom grew to mature years. The Doctor moved from Bedford to Weakley County, residing there some nine years, engaged in farming, and then, about 1857, he moved with his family to Arkansas, locating in what is now Clay County, made a farm and there resided until his death, which occurred in December, 1876. Thomas J. Crews grew to manhood on the farm in Clay County, remaining with his parents until grown, and was married in that county September 1, 1872, to Miss Mary J. Lively, a native of Arkansas, and the daughter of William Lively, and sister of Rev. Lively, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work. After his marriage Mr. Crews settled in the neighborhood where he now lives, and after his father's death he came to the old home and bought out the heirs. He has 50 acres of land with about 125 fenced and under cultivation. Mrs. Crews died February 12, 1878, and since then Mr. Crews' mother, who is still living, has been his housekeeper. Mr. Crews is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Wisdom Lodge No. 343, and has filled all the official positions in his lodge. He has represented the lodge in the grand lodge two different times. He is also a member of the I. O. O. F., Lodge No. 56, at Piggott, and is Noble Grand of this lodge. He has served as district deputy for four years, and has represented this lodge and Clark Bluff a number of times. He is a prominent man and an excellent citizen.
Z. T. Daniel is well known throughout Clay County, Ark., and for a number of years filled the office of deputy county surveyor, with competence and ability. He was born on Blue Grass soil in Grant County, in 1848, being the eldest of a family of eight children born to Lewis B. and Sardinia K. (Canfield) Daniel, the former a native of Kentucky, and the latter of Ohio. The father was reared in his native State, and in March, 1849, moved to Illinois and settled in Schuyler County, where he engaged in farming, continuing this occupation until 1862, when he left his farm to engage in the war, enlisting from Rushville, Ill., in Company B, One Hundred and Nineteenth Illinois Infantry, and was mustered into service at Quincy. He died in 1863 of disease contracted while in the service. His excellent wife still survives him and resides at Rushville, Ill. Z. T. Daniel received excellent facilities for acquiring an education, and besides attending the public school at Rushville, Ill., attended the Washington University at St. Louis, in 1874, 1875 and 1876. During this time he studied surveying, and in March, 1876, he came to Corning, Ark., for the purpose of continuing his agricultural operations but drifted into surveying, which occupation received the greater part of his attention, his services being utilized in Northern Arkansas and Southern Missouri. He was married in Clay County, Ark., in the fall of 1882, to Miss Ellen McClintick, a native of Quincy, Ill., and a daughter of Henry Clay and Mary Ann (Dilley) McClintick, also of Illinois, who came to Corning, Ark., in 1878, where they are still residing, the father being the proprietor of the Illinois Hotel. Subsequent to his marriage, Z. T. Daniel settled in Corning. He worked for the Iron Mountain Railroad Company as civil engineer nearly two years. He is reporter for the K. of H., and is an active member of the I. O. G. T. His wife is a member of the Baptist Church, and having no family of their own they have adopted a little boy named Eddie.
Elihu Davis, whose success as a farmer and stock raiser is well established throughout the county, is a native of Hardin County. Ky., born March 11, 1821. His father, William Davis, was also a native of Kentucky, and was married in that State to Miss Sarah Hardin, of the same State, although her people were from the Carolinas. William Davis settled on a farm in Kentucky, resided there a number of years, and then moved to Wayne County, Tenn., where he purchased a farm and here reared his children. He died about 1835 or 1836. His wife survived him until 1877, when she died at the home of her son in Arkansas. Elihu Davis was reared in Tennessee and came to Arkansas when a young man of eighteen, or in 1838, locating in Greene County, but now Clay County, and finally settled on his present property in 1844. His nearest neighbor was three miles distant, wild animals were plentiful and many a deer and wild turkey fell before his unerring rifle. Mr. Davis cleared over 100 acres where Greenway is now located, and sold forty acres of this in May, 1889, for an addition to the town. He was married first in Clay County, October 16, 1844, to Susan Sites, a native of Arkansas, who died September 16, 1863. To this union were born seven children, who grew to mature years. Mr. Davis married his second wife, Mrs. Nancy Boggas, a widow, formerly Miss Nancy Shelton, who was born in Alabama. She was the mother of one son by her first marriage. This wife died October 23, 1873, and Mr. Davis married again, in Clay County, Miss Tennessee Horton, who bore him two children, Joseph and Nancy. Mrs. Davis was born in Tennessee, but was reared in Missouri and Arkansas. To Mr. Davis by his first wife were born these children: William A., whose sketch appears in this work; Solomon T., John, Elihn, Jr., Clarissa, wife of T. J. Smith; Sarah, and Mary, wife of Lewis Clippard. To his second marriage one son, Thomas L., was born. Mr. Davis is a Master Mason, and a member of the Baptist Church.
William M. Davis. Among the worthy residents of Clay County, Ark., it is but just to say that Mr. Davis occupies a conspicuous and honorable place, for he has always been honest, industrious and enterprising, and as a result has met with more than ordinary success. He was born in Georgia, on the 15th of August, 1842, and is a son of D. D. and Rebecca (Isbul) Davis, who were born, reared and married in South Carolina. They moved to Georgia after their marriage, where they remained about ten years and then located in Alabama, and afterward in Greene County, Ark., where the father is now living. William M. Davis remained with his father until of age, and in 1862 enlisted in the Twenty-fifth Arkansas Infantry, Confederate States Army, and served until the spring of 1865, when he surrendered at Wittsburgh, Ark. He was at Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Franklin, and the siege and surrender of Atlanta, being in about thirteen regular engagements. After the war he was engaged in farming in Greene County, and was married in Dunklin County, Mo., on Buffalo Island, September 19, 1867, to Miss Martha Cochran, who was born and reared in Dunklin County, being a daughter of Pleasant Cochran. Mr. and Mrs. Davis remained in Greene County until 1874, when he moved to his present place in Clay County, trading his farm there for the one on which he is now residing. He has 160 acres, with about seventy-five under cultivation, and has built a good frame residence, stables and sheds and otherwise greatly improved his property since locating. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are the parents of the following children: Cynthia E., wife of James Golden; Pleasant L., James E., William David, George F., Samuel A., Lou Z., John Henry and Pearlie Gertrude. Two children died in early childhood. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and he is a Master Mason.
William A. Davis, another prominent farmer and stock raiser of Haywood Township, Clay County, Ark., was born in the above-mentioned county, near Greenway, April 29, 1853, and is the son of Elihu Davis, a Kentuckian by birth, who was reared in that State and in Tennessee. The father came to Arkansas when a young man and was here married. William A. Davis grew to manhood on the home farm, remaining with his father until twenty-seven years of age, and was married here first, March 10, 1881, to Miss Anna Randleman, who died in September, 1881. Mr. Davis had bought and located where he resides in 1880, and this place he has greatly improved. He has fifty-five acres of cleared land, neat buildings, a good orchard, and has twenty-five acres in timber, all good bottom land, one mile from Greenway. Mr. Davis was married, in this county, December 29, 1886, to Miss Belle Gorden, a native of Tennessee, but who was reared and educated in Clay County, Ark. Her father, Jordan Gorden, who is now deceased, was one of the pioneers of Arkansas. To Mr. and Mrs. Davis have been born one child, Myrtle, who is now six months old. Mr. Davis is a member of the Masonic Order, Wisdom Lodge No. 343, in which he is senior deacon.
James Deniston, who is prominently identified with the farming and stock raising interests of Oak Bluff Township, was born in Ballard County, Ky., July 13, 1839, and is the son of John Deniston, who was born and reared in Washington County, Va. He was also married in that State, to Miss Dorotha L. Puckett, a native of Amelia County, Va. Her father served in the War of 1812. After marriage Mr. Deniston settled on a farm in Kentucky, and followed tilling the soil up to the breaking out of the late war, when, at the age of fifty-two, he enlisted in the Twenty-third Kentucky Infantry, Union Army, and died in Texas. James Deniston spent his youth in his native county, in Kentucky, assisting his father on the farm, and when in his nineteenth year, he was married there to Miss Eliza Brown, who bore him five children. After marriage Mr. Deniston followed agricultural pursuits in Kentucky until 1868, when he moved to Missouri, and spent one year in Cape Girardeau County. He then resided two years in Stoddard County, and in the spring of 1872 moved to Arkansas, bought raw land, and there he lives at the present time. He is the owner of 280 acres of land, with about 125 acres cleared, all good bottom land. He served as a member of the school board for ten consecutive years, and has the confidence and esteem of his fellow men. He was married, in Cape Girardeau County, to Miss Mary E. Welch, a native of llinois, but who was reared near Alton, Obion County, Tenn. Nine children were born to the last marriage: Isabelle, Ada, Bernetta J., Rhoda, Ida M., Stonewall J., Scott H., George and Effie W. Mr. and Mrs. Deniston are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and he is a deacon in the same. He is a Master Mason, and a member and treasurer of Danley Lodge No. 300, A. F, & A. M.
William H. Denny. Among the many sturdy and energetic agriculturists of Clay County, Ark., who have attained their property by hard labor and economy, may be mentioned Mr. Denny, who was born in Monroe County, Mo., September 25, 1856, being a son of William T. F. and Martha (Atchison) Denny, who were born in St. Louis County, Mo., and Illinois, respectively, the former's birth occurring September 24, 1828. They were married January 1, 1849, and became the parents of seven children: W. H., Florence, Charles E., Andrew J., Cory Bell, Samuel W. and Lizy Edna. They moved to Monroe County, Mo., in 1854, but returned to St. Louis County in 1861, where they are still living, being engaged in agricultural pursuits. The mother is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and the father is a Mason, and in his political views a Democrat. William H. Denny moved from St. Louis County to Howell County, Mo., in 1883, and from the latter county to Clay County, Ark., where he purchased, in 1885, a tract of land consisting of eighty acres, twenty of which are under cultivation, lying on Current River bottom. It is well adapted to cotton, corn and fruit, and can all be easily put in a tillable condition. It is also a fine grazing property, and is in condition to pasture stock the year round. Land in this section is valued at from $2 to $25 per acre, and cleared land is equal to the best in the State. It is usually covered with a heavy growth of timber (suitable for all kinds of work), among which may be mentioned gum, ash, oak, walnut, linn and cypress. Mr. Denny in his political views is a Democrat.
Hon. Jasper W. Dollison, a resident of Greenway, Clay County, Ark., was born in Cambridge City, of the "Buckeye State," December 20, 1849. His father, William E. Dollison, was born in Pennsylvania, but was reared in Ohio, and was married there to Miss Susanna Laird, who was born in the State. Mr. Dollison removed to the State of Indiana in 1857, and located in Clay County, where he engaged in farming and stock raising and dealing until 1884, then moving to Kansas, and he has since made his home in Independence. Hon. Jasper W. Dollison grew to mature years in Clay County, Ind., and received an excellent education in the Greencastle University. He was engaged in teaching in the public schools of that State for a number of years, and in 1877 moved to Missouri, and located in Andrew County, moving from there to Union County, Iowa, after a short time, where he made his home for nearly two years, having been engaged in teaching in both places. In 1881 he located at Newport, Jackson County, Ark., and for two years was superintendent of a lumber mill. He then entered into the newspaper business in Greene County, at Paragould, but in 1884 moved to Clay County and bought out the proprietors of the Rector Advocate, which he changed to the name of the Clay County Advocate, and moved the paper to Greenway in June, 1887. He continued the publication of this paper until January, 1889, when he sold out to the present editor. In his political views he was formerly identified with the democratic party, but when the movement known as the Labor movement was inaugurated, he recognized the justice of the cause and espoused it. In June, 1888, the State Union Labor convention, assembled at Little Rock, tendered him the nomination for State land commissioner. He declined the honor, however, and after very urgent solicitation agreed to make the race for the legislature, and was nominated and elected on that ticket as representative of Clay County, serving with distinction for the term commencing January 14, 1889. He was married in Clay County, Ind., March 30, 1872, to Miss Anna Williams, who was born in Kentucky, but was reared and educated principally in Indiana. Her parents were Van Buren and Mary Williams, of Clay County, Ind. Mr. and Mrs. Dollison are the parents of five children: Lethe, Della, Vincent, Charles and May. Mrs. Dollison is a member of the Christian Church, and he is a member of the K. of H., the K. of L. and the Agricultural Wheel. He is engaged at present in real estate and timber enterprises.
W. S. Downs, blacksmith, and one of the skillful workmen of the county, is a native of Georgia, born in 1848, and the son of Shelly Downs, who was born in Virginia. The latter was married in his native State, and afterward moved to Georgia, where the mother died shortly afterward, and where the father died in 1861, leaving a family of three children. W. S. Downs was but thirteen years of age when his father died, and for three years after this, and during the war, he drove a team from Atlanta to Bowden, Ga., and was with his teams near Franklin, Ga. (which is 100 miles from Atlanta), when that city fell into the hands of the Federal troops. At the age of sixteen Mr. Downs went to work to learn the carriage and wagon-maker's trade with the firm of J. W. Downs, and afterward with Downs & Langford, at Conyers, Ga., remaining in their employ for three years. He then came to Clay County, Ark., where he has resided ever since, with the exception of about three years, two of which he spent in New Madrid, Mo., and one year at his old home, where he worked for Mr. Langford, who was carrying on the same business. During his stay here six years were spent in the mill business, the second steam-mill in the county, and he afterward followed farming until about 1888, when he opened up his old business in Boydsville. He has built a shop for general repair work, and is having a fair trade. He was married in 1889 to Miss Martha A. Arnold, daughter of Andrew Arnold, of Clay County (but which at that time was Greene County), and nine children have been the result of this union, eight now living. They are named as follows: Lenora J., wife of J. A. Burton, of Tennessee, and the mother of one child; J. H., at home attending the farm; L. R., at home; William E., J. B., Florence A., Matthew A. and Alvin Shelly, who is named after his grandfather. Mr. and Mrs. Downs are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and he is a Democrat in politics.
Joseph Dudgeon. There is nothing which adds so much to the prestige of a city in the estimation of a stranger as first-class hotel accommodations, and the Dudgeon House, of which our subject is proprietor, has an excellent reputation both at home and abroad, although it has been in operation only a short time (since February, 1888). His hotel, so recently completed, consists of twenty-three commodious rooms, with a large bath-room, all of which are well furnished, and supplied with modern conveniences, and he is ever courteous and accommodating to his guests. He was born in the "Emerald Isle," County Monahan, in March, 1833, and is a son of John and Margaret (Mills) Dudgeon, who were of Scotch descent, but were born in Ireland, in which country the father died. In 1844 Joseph, with his mother, went from Belfast to Liverpool, and in the latter city took passage for America on the sailing vessel "Patrick Henry," and after an ocean voyage of six weeks landed at New York City. Shortly after they went to Sullivan County, N. Y., where Joseph received his education, and was reared to manhood. He started out to battle his own way in the world at the early age of thirteen years, and from earliest boyhood his career has been characterized by hard work, for he was brought up as a farmer, and received such education as could be acquired in the common schools previous to his sixteenth year. About this time he and his mother went to New Orleans, and there he worked as a clerk in a store for about two years, and from that time up to 1865 lived both in Mississippi and Texas. He next located in Saginaw, Mich., where he resided three years, then returning to New York State, and the same year located at An Sable, Mich., being an employee for eleven years of the Loud, Priest & Gay Lumber Company, acting as their foreman; he was held in the highest esteem, and commanded the full confidence of his employers. He became a noted lumberman of that region, and was engaged in the business for himself for some time, continuing successfully until 1882, when be went to Chicago, and was employed in paving the streets for a number of months. In 1883 he moved to Randolph County, Mo., but after a short time sold all his effects, and returned to Michigan. In the spring of 1885 he came to Clay County, Ark., and was engaged in tilling a farm near Corning, which he had purchased, until February, 1888, when he moved to the town, and embarked in his present enterprise. In 1860 he was married to Miss Amanda Tiffany, a native of Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Edwin and Joannah (Parks) Tiffany, the former a native of Connecticut, and the latter of New York State. Mr. Tiffany is a second cousin of George Tiffany, the noted New York City jeweler. Mr. and Mrs. Dudgeon became the parents of seven children, of whom five are living: Arthur F., residing in Michigan; Ella, wife of R. G. Gillard, of Ashland, Wis.; John A., Bertha M., wife of J. M. Hawks, of Cotton Plant, Ark., and Pearl A. Mr. Dudgeon is a member of the I. O. O. F., and in his political views is a Republican. His mother was born in Ireland May 5, 1781, and died at the age of 104 years.
Edward B. Earle, druggist at Rector post office, was born in Obion County, Tenn., February 28, 1858, but was reared at Arlington, Ky. He remained on the farm until nineteen years of age, receiving a common school education, and worked in a drug store for some time. October 25, 1886, he made his advent in the State of Arkansas with $2,85 in cash and worked at the carpenter's trade until February 27, 1887, when he began working for Mr. Outlaw, with whom be continued for 389 days without losing any time. Afterward he was occupied at odd jobs. He then bought out the drug store which he now owns and later purchased other property. He is now the most successful druggist in Rector, carrying a stock of drugs valued at $1,000, and is also a much esteemed citizen. September 15, 1887, he married Miss Clemmie Trantham, a native of Clay County, Ark. Both he and wife are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is a Democrat in politics, but not a radical one. Mr. Earle's parents, J. H. and Elvira (Ghalson) Earle, were natives of Kentucky. The father was reared near Barlow, a short distance from Cairo, and was quite an extensive stock man. He was a soldier in the late war and is now living in Illinois, aged sixty-six years. Mrs. Earle remained in her native State until grown, and was married there. To this union were born eight children: Sallie, John, Lee, Charles, Arthur, Edward B., Mollie and Leana. Dr. Charles Earle, brother of the subject of this sketch, came to Rector in 1883, and is a graduate of Bellevue College, New York.
Frederick Ermert is an excellent example of the success attending hard work and faithful and persistent endeavor, and is now one of the wealthy planters of Clay County, Ark., having been a resident of this region since 1856. He is a native of Germany, born in 1847, and is the eldest of five children born to John and Caroline Ermert, who were also natives of that country, and came to the State of Missouri in 1850, settling in Madison County, where the father engaged in lead mining. The following year he took the overland route to California, the journey occupying five months, and remained in that State for three years. He then returned to Madison County, Mo., but shortly after moved to Randolph County, and in 1856 he settled in what is now Clay County, where he followed the occupation of agriculture until his death in 1864, being still survived by his excellent wife. Frederick Ermert received good training in growing up, became familiar with the details of farm life, and entered actively upon life's duties as a farmer after the close of the war, purchasing a piece of raw land, which has since, by honest and continued effort on his part, become one of the valuable places of the county. This property he sold in 1885, and since March, 1889, has resided on his present farm of 120 acres, sixty of which are under cultivation, thirty being devoted to the culture of cotton. He has always supported the Republican ticket, considering its views as sound and well suited to any man. He has been married thrice, his first union taking place in Clay County, in 1867, to Miss Mary Ann Whitehead, a native of that county, whose parents were early settlers of the locality. He lost his wife in 1875, she having borne him one child: Amanda, now the wife of William M. Williams, residing in Texas. His second marriage took place in Clay County, in 1878, to Mildred Rhodes, of Mississippi, who died in 1879, also leaving one child, William, who is residing with his father. His present wife was a Miss Sarah Elizabeth Calhoun, of Tennessee, her parents, Dunklin and Penelope Calhoun, being deceased. To the last union the following children were born: James, Lewis and Fred. Many are the changes which have occurred since Mr. Ermert first located here, and he has lived to witness the growth of what was almost a wilderness to one of the most prosperous counties of the State.
Watson Forrest, better known as "Patter" Forrest, is one of the oldest settlers in Clay County at the present time. He left Gibson County, Tenn., in October, 1832, with his brother, Abraham Forrest, and Elisha Fly and their wives, all in one wagon drawn by cattle, and they soon fell in with James Kennedy, who, with his wife and four children, were in a wagon drawn by horses. They settled on Slavin's Creek, in what is Greene County now, and there they remained for three years. During this time Watson Forrest was married to Miss Sarah Crafton, of Gibson County, Tenn., and the daughter of John B. Crafton, of Tennessee. Mr. Forrest had returned to Tennessee to assist his father, Mark Forrest, to move to the farm picked out for him by his son, on Slavin's Creek, and here married Miss Crafton, and with her and his father he returned to Greene County about December 10, 1833. In 1835 he and wife moved to what is known as Clay County at the present day, settling about one mile from where he now lives, and there remained some five years. He then moved to Barry County, Mo., continued there but three months and then returned and bought a log cabin, where his present residence is standing. He paid $250 for the log cabin and the improvements, and $2.50 per acre for forty acres of land. To this he has since added 220 acres. The old log house he uses for a stable. When Mr. Forrest first came to this State there was no market for anything; neither was there any law, nor officers–neither squire, sheriff nor constable, and Mr. Forrest assisted in electing the first sheriff, Charley Robinson. A man by the name of Tucker was the first representative of Greene County, and there were only forty votes cast in the whole county. Stock had to be driven on foot to Memphis, Tenn., 125 miles away, but as there was but very little stock in the county, these trips were seldom made until about 1845. Previous to that time the only way of obtaining money was by selling the pelts of animals, deer, elk, bear, wildcat, panther, raccoon, mink and otter being plentiful at that time. Deer skins were the most sought after, and at Cape Girardeau were worth from about $1.00 to $2.00 each; coon skins from twenty-five to fifty cents each; elks, from $1.50 to $2.00 each; bear, from $1.00 to $3.00; wildcat, about twenty-five cents; panther, from $1.00 to $1.50; mink, from $1.50 to $3.00, and otter, from $4.00 to $6.00. Buffalo, in rather limited numbers, were in the State also. With the exception of the buffalo and elk, all the above mentioned animals are still represented in the woods, coon and deer being very plentiful. The next nearest trading-point was Pocahontas, on the Black River, which offered a market for the first time about 1835. This was twenty miles distant from where Mr. Forrest lived. The first railroad market to which Mr. Forrest went was Dexter, on the Iron Mountain road, in Missouri, and about forty miles from his residence. The first church built in what is now Clay County was at Salem, in about 1842, and was of the Baptist denomination. It was constructed by two men, William Nutt and Mr. Winningham, the latter preaching the first sermon. He was also the first Baptist preacher. The first preacher of any kind that Mr. Forrest heard was Rev. Fountain Brown, a Methodist circuit rider. The first school house in the county was built within a mile of where Mr. Forrest now lives, and a man by the name of Cyrus Owens taught the first session as near as can be remembered. Mr. Forrest has in his possession a stone which he took from the maw of a spotted deer killed by him thirty years ago, and which he believes to be a veritable mad stone. It is about the size and shape of a chicken's heart, of a dull, yellowish or brown color, and resembles a well worn molar. On one side is a decayed place which appears to be porous in its nature, while the stone has a smooth, polished appearance. Three people bitten by mad dogs have been cured by this stone. In each case, animals had been bitten by the same dog, and in every case went mad. It will also cure rattlesnake bites. In ease of the latter, or that of a mad dog, the stone adheres to the wound until saturated with the poison, when it falls, and by placing the stone in warm water or milk it will cleanse itself. When there is no poison in the wound the stone will not take hold.
John C. Frew. Prominent among the successful farmers and stock-raisers of Haywood Township stands the name of the above-mentioned gentleman, who was born in Weakley County, Tenn., June 15, 1843, and is the son of A. and Sarah (Hattler) Frew, the former a native of North Carolina and his wife of Tennessee. A. Frew went to Tennessee when a young man, was married there and afterwards engaged in farming, which he continued all his life. He died in November, 1885, and his wife died in June of the same year. Their family consisted of three sons and three daughters, all of whom grew to mature years. One sister has since died, but the others are all residents of Arkansas. John C., the eldest of this family, remained with his parents until after his marriage, which occurred in Obion County, November 11, 1866, to Miss Eda Tennessee Rucker, a native of Middle Tennessee, and the daughter of Samuel W. Rucker. After marriage Mr. Frew raised one crop on the old home place, and then moved to Obion County, where he farmed for five years. He moved to Arkansas in the fall of 1872, and located in what is now Clay County, and on the place where he at present resides. The place at that time had a few acres cleared and on it was a log cabin. Since then Mr. Frew has cleared the farm, erected buildings and has greatly improved it. He owns 120 acres, sixty fenced and under cultivation, and has a fine young apple and peach orchard. To his marriage were born two children: Laura Victoria, wife of J. I. Williams, and Geneva, a miss of ten years. Mr. Frew is a member of the Agricultural Wheel and served as president of the same one term.
Pierce Galvin. The life of this well known farmer and stockman affords an example that might well be imitated by the young men of today, for at the early age of fourteen years he left the home place, without means, to battle his own way in the world, and his endeavors have been resultful of good, and he is now a well-to-do farmer of Clay County. He possesses an excellent place of 240 acres, 100 being under cultivation, and conducts his farm in an intelligent manner and has it well stocked. He was born in Ireland, December 24, 1834, and on coming to the United States, in 1845, landed at New York City, but moved on immediately to Philadelphia, where he had a sister living, and there he made his home until grown. He then traveled for some time and was engaged in railroading in Ohio for seven or eight months, later going to Pittsburgh, Penn., and in 1852 he commenced braking on a train on the Missouri Pacific Railroad, remaining with this company until 1873. The following year he came to Arkansas and again became an employee of the above named road, and continued the occupation of railroading until 1884, since which time he has resided on his present farm. He was first married to Miss Mary Malony, who was born in Ireland, but was brought to the United States when a child, being reared in the State of Missouri. She died in August, 1879, having borne a family of five children: Mary, Maggie, Katie, James and Statia, who died at the age of two years. The living children are residing with their father and he is doing all in his power to give then good educational advantages. He was next married to a sister of his first wife, Kate Malony, by whom he became the father of two children: Frank, who died at the age of five years, and Agnes. Mr. and Mrs. Galvin are members of the Catholic Church, but he contributes liberally to all enterprises he deems worthy of support. During the war he served in the Twenty-third Missouri Volunteers and did railroad work under Col. Crowley. He is now a Democrat in politics.
John T. Gilchrist, merchant at Knobel, Ark., was born in 1861 in St. Charles County, Mo., being the eldest of nine children born to Richard and Fannie (Coleman) Gilchrist, who were born in Ohio and Illinois, respectively. The former was a hotel keeper, and in 1860 removed to East St. Louis, Ill., there following that occupation until 1876, when be moved to Knobel and engaged in the stock raising and saw mill business for a few years; then he retired from the saw mill business and settled on his farm, where he died in 1888. He had about 160 acres of farming land, with some eighty acres under cultivation, and had 420 acres in a stock ranch. His wife died in 1882. John T. Gilchrist attended the schools of St. Louis until seventeen years of age, then began clerking for the Consolidated Steamboat Company, continuing one year, and in 1879 came to Knobel, Ark., and secured the agency at this place of the Iron Mountain Railroad Company, and had charge of the office for five years. In 1884 he erected a fine building and started a saloon and billiard hall, and in 1887 built a large store-house and engaged in general merchandising, his stock of goods being valued at $6,000, and he has a large and rapidly increasing trade. He is a member of the K. of P., the K. of H., and the K. and L. of H. He is particularly active in politics, and votes with the Democratic party. His brother, Richard F., is associated with him in business. The latter came to Knobel with his father in 1876, and worked on the farm until 1886, when he formed his present partnership.
A. W. Gills, one of the most thorough going, wide-awake business men of this section of the county, and a genial, pleasant gentleman, is a native of Fulton County, Ky., and came with his parents, who were natives of Virginia, to what is now Clay County, Ark., at the age of nineteen years. They settled near his present residence, where the mother died in 1870, and the father two years later. Later A. W. Gills purchased this farm. In addition to his agricultural interests he also erected a cotton-gin, and about the 1st of October, 1886, commenced ginning cotton, with a capacity of nine bales per day. In September of the same year he started a stave factory and corn mill, all of which he now runs with steam under the same roof, the stave business being the principal industry, the factory having a capacity of 8,000 staves per day. He regularly employs from thirty to thirty-five men and ten teams. This has been the means of building at least half a dozen houses in his neighborhood. He still carries on his farm of 180 acres, which he has well supplied with good stock. Mr. Gills was married in 1882 to Miss Claude Gwin, whom he met in Missouri, and whose parents are now living there. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, being attached to the Eastern Star Lodge, and is also a member of Chalk Bluff Lodge No. 72, I. O. O. F., and of the K. of H. In politics he votes with the Democratic party.
Marion C. Glasgow, a prominent agriculturist and stock raiser of Oak Bluff Township, was born in Weakley County, Tenn., August 25, 1842, and is the son of Elijah Glasgow, a native of North Carolina, where he was reared and where he married Miss Jane Jones, a native of Tennessee. He and family moved from Tennessee to Arkansas, in October, 1854, locating in Clay County, and here Mr. Glasgow followed farming until his death which occurred in 1875. Mrs. Glasgow died several years previous. In their family were six sons and three daughters who grew to mature years, but one brother and one sister are deceased. Marion C. Glasgow came to this State and county with his parents, and here he attained his growth. In March, 1862, he enlisted in the Confederate army, and served about eight months, when he was wounded and returned home. In 1864 he re-entered the service, remaining until the close of the war. He participated in the following battles: Pilot Knob, Independence, Sedalia, and many minor engagements. He was paroled at Wittsburg, Ark., and then came home and engaged in farming. He was married in Clay County, Ark., in September, 1863, to Mrs. F. S. Stephens, daughter of James Nettles, one of the pioneer settlers. Mrs. Glasgow was born in Tennessee. Mr. Glasgow located on his present property in 1873, bought raw land and has cleared and made a valuable farm of the same. He has 160 acres, with over 100 acres under cultivation, all bottom land situated one and a half miles from Rector. He has a good house, good out-buildings and a fine young orchard, etc. Mr. and Mrs. Glasgow had a family of eleven children, named as follows: Luella, James M., Dora J., Levana, Thomas E., Benjamin F., George H., Viora and Columbus L. Three children died in early youth. Mr. Glasgow lost his wife October 2, 1884, and later he married Mrs. Emma A. Walker, who bore him one child, Columbus L. Mr. Glasgow is a Master Mason, is also a member of the I. O. O. F., and is Noble Grand of his lodge. His first wife was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church.
John M. Gleghorn was born in Independence County, Ark., near Batesville, December 10, 1843, being a son of John and Sisley (Coleman) Gleghorn, who were both natives of South Carolina, the mother being principally reared in Alabama. John Gleghorn removed to Tennessee when a young man and there remained until 1842, when he emigrated with his family to Independence County, Ark., coming on the first steamer that sailed up the White River. He entered land in that county, on which he remained until 1859, subsequently coming to Greene County, Ark., and residing on a farm near Gainesville until his death, which occurred in April, 1866. His widow is yet living and resides in Marion County, in her eightieth year. The paternal grandfather was born in Scotland and emigrated to America at an early day, when only twelve years old, locating first in South Carolina, then in Middle Tennessee, where he spent the remainder of his days. The maternal grandfather was born and raised in South Carolina, and later spent some time in Alabama, dying in Limestone County of that State. John M. Gleghorn is one of seven surviving members of a family of twelve children, their names being as follows: Rhoda E., wife of Samuel Pool; Stephen C., Lucretia, widow of William Jones; Melissa, wife of J. A. Pool: John M., James K., and Marietta, wife of David Gouch. John M. Gleghorn was reared and educated in Independence County, and was in his sixteenth year when he went to Greene County with his parents. From early boyhood he has been familiar with farm life, and when the war broke out he left the plow to engage in that struggle, enlisting in November, 1861, in Capt. Morgan's company, in which he served until 1863, then being discharged on account of disability, at Readyville. Tenn. He returned home but afterward enlisted in Marmaduke's brigade, and served until the war closed, having taken an active part in the battles of Corinth, Fort Pillow, Murfreesboro, Bragg's raid through Kentucky, Harrisburg, and a number of other hard fights. He was wounded by a pistol shot while with Price at Big Blue. He surrendered at Shreveport, La., June 8, 1865, and returned to Greene County, Ark., and was engaged in farming there until February, 1871. when he came to Clay County, Ark., and located near Knobel, where he farmed on rented land until January, 1881, then purchasing his present farm of 325 acres, about 140 of which are under cultivation. He has a good two-story frame house and has made other valuable improvements. His principal crop is corn, but he also raises some cotton, and gives much attention to stock raising, both buying and selling. In November, 1865, he was married to Mary Arnold, a native of Tennessee, by whom he has had ten children, five living: Mary J., Lindsey C., Etta, Amanda, and James R. Those deceased were: Luther L., William, Walter, John and Anna, the last two twins. Mrs. Gleghorn died in November, 1887, having been a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for a number of years. Mr. Gleghorn is a Democrat, but has never been an office seeker. He has done a great deal to build up his section of the country and has been the cause of many worthy men locating here, having furnished them with land, and grain with which to make a start.
I. N. Goldsby, who is classed among the leading and industrious farmers of the county, was born in Kentucky and is the son of Mentor Goldsby, and the grandson of Edward Goldsby, who took part in the War of 1812. Mentor Goldsby died in Kentucky in 1858, and in 1861 I. N. Goldsby and his mother came to Clay County, Ark., and settled on a farm near his present place of residence. He is the owner of 180 acres of land, seventy-five of which are improved, and on which he has three houses. He was married in 1865 to Miss Minerva C. Liddell, daughter of William and sister of Robert Liddell, of Clay County. Previous to this he served three years in the Confederate army, taking part in the battles of Prairie Grove, Rector and Pilot Knob, and was all through Price's raid in Missouri. He was paroled at Vicksburg in May, 1865, after which he returned home, married, and settled down to farming, which occupation he has followed ever since. Mr. and Mrs. Goldsby were the parents of fourteen children, seven of whom died in infancy. Those living are: William M. (Charley), who is now deputy county clerk under Mr. Spence, at Boydsville, and is a young man of ability and promise; Jennie, at home; Lora, Ettie, Robert, Florence and Lemmer (a daughter). Mr. Goldsby is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and has ever been a liberal contributor to all laudable public enterprises.
G. G. Green, a farmer residing near Vidette, Ark., was born on the 19th of November, 1831, in Montgomery County, N. C., his parents being James and Elizabeth (Wyatt) Green, who were also born in that State, and removed to Kentucky in 1832, locating in what was then Galloway County, where they made their home until their respective deaths. The father was a blacksmith and farmer, and he and wife were the parents of eleven children, four now living: George G., Marcus M., Frank and Henry. George G. Greene was an infant when brought to Kentucky, and he remained in that State until 1857, then emigrating to Butler County, Mo., where he made his home one year; coming thence to what is now Clay County, Ark., he located on the farm of 120 acres on which he is now residing. He has about 100 acres under fence and eighty-five acres under cultivation, which he devotes principally to raising corn and cotton, but the soil is well adapted to all cereals. He raises considerable stock during the year, and is a prosperous farmer, and has shown his enterprise and industry by putting his farm, which was heavily covered with timber when he settled, in its present admirable condition. In 1856 he was united in marriage to Miss Melvina Hyatt, a native of Kentucky, by whom he had three children, only one of whom is living at the present time: Delia, wife of Albert Rhodenback. His second marriage took place in 1863, to Miss Sarah J. Gilbert, by whom he has the following family: William, Robert, Elizabeth, Vernon E., Ida M. and Rosa L. Mr. and Mrs. Green have long been members of the Methodist Church.
John J. Griffin was born in Greene County, N. C., June 1, 1826, being a son of William and Sarah Griffin, who were members of the Old-School Baptist Church and were born in North Carolina, the former's birth occurring in 1784 and his death in 1859. Of their seventeen children, John J. Griffin is the only one now living. He became the architect of his own fortune at the age of twenty-one years, and for a number of years was engaged in farming and rafting. On the 25th of July, 1846, he was married to Miss Theresa L. Hicks, a daughter of Thomas S. and Jane Hicks, who were Tennesseeans, the former being engaged in tilling the soil. To this union eleven children were born, only four of whom are living at the present time: Sarah E. (Winningham), James M. (farmer, of Clay County, Ark.), John J. (a farmer of Dunklin County, Mo.), and T. J., also a farmer of Dunklin County. Mr. Griffin took for his second wife Miss Sarah E. Spikes, their marriage taking place on the 22d of June, 1875. Four of the seven children born to their marriage are living: Sanford and Adaline (twins), born September 22, 1875; Lee, born February 27, 1880, and Rosa, born September 12, 1887. Mr. Griffin owns a good farm of eighty acres, sixty under cultivation, and devotes his land principally to raising corn and cotton. His property was at first heavily covered with timber, but he has made valuable improvements, and has now a good and comfortable home. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and he is a Democrat, and a member of the Agricultural Wheel. For about fifteen years after first coming west he spent the fall and winter months in hunting and trapping, and has killed at least fifty bear and hundreds of deer, and in some of his hunting expeditions met with many thrilling adventures and narrow escapes from death. He was also engaged in rafting on Black River. His parents moved from North Carolina to Tennessee in 1826, and two years later located in Posey County, Ind., and in 1840 in Randolph County, Ark.
W. T. Griffith, lumberman and postmaster at Thurman, Ark., was born on Kentucky soil (Montgomery County) June 11, 1835, his parents being Jefferson and Lydia (Brothers) Griffith, who came from the "Old Dominion" at an early day with their parents; David Griffith, the grandfather, being one of the first settlers of Montgomery County, Ky. He located near Mt. Sterling, the county seat, and became a very wealthy farmer, but died in Fleming County, of that State. Jefferson Griffith died in Kentucky in 1882, at the age of seventy years, having been a mechanic by trade, and a prominent man, serving as sheriff of Nicholas County for some time. His wife also died in Kentucky. Five of their seven children are now living: Samuel, John, Sarah J., William T. and Martha. William T. Griffith, our subject, was reared in Kentucky until fifteen years of age, and there received the greater part of his education. In 1853 he went to Union County, Ill., and located on a farm near Jonesborough, the country at that time being in a very wild and unsettled condition, and here made his home until 1877, when he came to Clay County, Ark., and began logging in H. H. Williams' large mills, remaining thus employed for five years, then locating on his present excellent farm in Kilgore Township. The most of his attention, however, is given to lumbering and cotton-ginning. He owns a saw-mill and employs several hands to operate it. In July, 1888, the post-office at Thurman was established and he became the first postmaster, and is now holding that position. He has held the office of justice of the peace for two years, and is a member of the Masonic fraternity and the Agricultural Wheel. In 1855 he wedded Miss Barbara I. Lipe, a native of Illinois, and by her became the father of twelve children, six now living: Walter, Emma A., Elsie J., Anna, John and Lillie. His wife died in October, 1880, and in 1881 he married Louisa Carter, who was born in Adams County, Ind., and by her had one child, Rosa P. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, of which he is also clerk.
Robert L. Hancock, agent for the "Cotton Belt" Railroad and the Southern Express Company, is a native of Prentiss County, Miss., where he was born on the 15th of March, 1852, being the son of Benjamin Hancock, who was born in Tennessee and reared in Virginia. When a young man he went to Tennessee, where he met and married Matilda Rowsy of that State, and afterward moved to Mississippi, residing on a plantation in Prentiss County until his death in 1854, followed by his wife in 1867. After coming to years of maturity, Robert L. Hancock attended school in Boonville, Miss., receiving a good education, and then clerked for four years. In 1874 he went to Tennessee, and was married there on the 4th of April, 1884, to Miss Delilah Matheny, who was born, reared and educated in Hardin County of that State, being a daughter of James and Eliza Matheny. After their marriage they located in Williamsville, Wayne County, Mo., and for two years he was engaged in teaching school, and the next two years occupied in farming and teaching in Hardin County, Tenn. In 1879 he came to Clay County, Ark., locating on a farm near Greenway, and devoted himself to tilling the soil and pedagogning up to 1884, when he moved to Greenway and was appointed telegraph operator, depot and express agent, which position he is now filling. He was also engaged in mercantile business for one year, and has served as a member of the town board. He is an active worker for the cause of temperance, and organized the Hancock Temperance Club at Greenway, of which he is president. Mr. Hancock commenced life in Clay County with little or no capital, but is now one of the substantial men of the community, and is the owner of considerable town property and a good farm near Greenway.
J. W. Harb, a merchant of Corning, Ark., was born in Willshire, Van Wert County, Ohio, on the 27th of July, 1859, and is the son of W. B. and Caroline (Harper) Harb, who were born in Franklin and Richland Counties, Ohio, respectively. In 1878 they removed to Blackford County, Ind., locating in Hartford City, where Mr. Harb engaged in merchandising and manufacturing headings and staves. In 1876 he removed his family to Corning, Ark., where he continued his manufacturing business until 1878, in the meantime conducting a drug store, which in 1885 he enlarged, adding general merchandise, and thus being occupied until his death. In 1887 he went back to Ohio to take a rest and regain his health, and died in West Milton, Ohio, September 11, 1887. His remains were brought to Corning and buried. He was one of the founders of the town, and being a physician by profession, practiced considerably in the county. Although not a graduate of any college, he was one of the most intelligent pupils in the Medical College of Columbus, Ohio. His wife died December 24, 1886. J. W. Harb, whose name heads this sketch, resided in Ohio and Indiana until sixteen years of age, and since 1876 has lived in Arkansas, being first engaged in the drug business with his brother (who is now deceased) at Walnut Ridge, Ark., continuing until 1884. At the death of his father he and his brother, O. C. Harb, began managing the business at Corning, but since January 12, 1889, J. W. Harb has had entire control of the establishment.
John H. Hardin deserves to be classed among the prosperous farmers and stockmen of Clay County, Ark. He was born in McNairy County. Tenn., January 26, 1853, and is a son of B. J. Hardin and Nancy Bennet, who were also born in that-State. After their marriage they settled in McNairy County, where the father was engaged in husbandry until the opening of the late Civil War, when he joined the Federal army and served four years, constructing in his service chronic diarrhea, which afterward caused his death, in October, 1881. His wife died here in September, 1884. In the summer of 1865 he moved to Clay County, Ark., and engaged in farming. John H. Hardin remained with his father until he attained mature years, and was married here, December 25, 1873, to Miss Sarah I. Mayes, who was born in Tennessee August 25, 1854, though reared in Clay County, Ark. After their marriage they rented land one year, when Mr. Hardin purchased a tract, which he began clearing and improving. He has opened up about eighty acres, and has 100 acres under cultivation, besides twenty acres of timber land. He has a comfortable frame residence, two fair barns, and an apple and peach orchard consisting of three acres. He is a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They are the parents of five children: Lucy Ann, born September 9, 1876; Dury J., born November 4, 1878; Owen D., born August 4, 1881, and died February 4, 1888; Henry L., born April 18, 1884, and an infant, born and died December 12, 1887.
Robert A. Hawthorne, farmer, and postmaster at Don, Clay County, Ark., was born on the 12th of August, 1849, in Benton County, Tenn., his parents, Robert H. and Elizabeth (Baker) Hawthorne, being born in Ohio and Virginia, respectively. The paternal grandfather was born in Ireland, locating in Ohio after coming to America, and afterward moved to Illinois, where he died. The maternal grandfather was born in Virginia, and removed from there to Tennessee, in which State he died, being engaged in farming. Robert A. Hawthorne was reared and educated in Ohio, and removed with his father to Illinois, where he made his home until about twenty-two years of age, when he went to Tennessee and began the study of law, being admitted to the bar shortly after. He practiced his profession for a number of years, and was also engaged in farming. At the age of about fifty years he gave up his law practice, and turned his attention to obtaining pensions for claimants. In the summer of 1861 he enlisted in Forrest's cavalry, and was shortly after transferred to the infantry and was sent south, participating in many [p.222] battles, and holding the rank of provost marshal. He was never wounded nor taken prisoner. He died January 1, 1866, his death being deeply regretted by his many friends and acquaintances. His widow is still living, being in her seventy-ninth year, and resides with her children: Robert A. and John C. The former obtained his education and rearing in Tennessee, remaining on a farm in that State until twenty-one years old, when he came to Clay County, Ark., and located at Corning, where he was engaged in the sale of liquors for six years. He then turned his attention to farming, and in 1882 bought the farm of 202 acres where he now lives; 110 acres are under cultivation and fairly improved. He raises corn and cotton, principally, and some clover. The land is well adapted for raising all the cereals, and makes an excellent stock farm, which industry receives much of his attention. October 12, 1888, the post office was established at his house, and he was made postmaster, the office taking the name of Don. In 1871 he was married to Miss Alice Polk, by whom he has two children: Ethel and Mary E. (who is deceased). Mrs. Hawthorne is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
Hon. G. B. Holifield, who stands at the head of the legal
profession in the Eastern district of Clay County, is a native of Graves County,
Ky., and the son of T. M. Holifield, who came to Clay County, Ark., with his
wife and four children, November 15, 1855, and settled two miles northeast of
Boydsville. Here G. B. Holifield was reared and here he received the meager
schooling afforded by the then few subscription schools of the county. Later he
finished his education by attending six months at Gainesville, Ark., and later,
after studying law for some time, was admitted to the bar in August, 1881, in
the Western district of Clay County. He has been in constant practice since. In
1878 he was elected to the legislature, but previous to this he had filled the
position of justice of the peace for three terms. He has always been quite
active in politics, though as there is nominally only the one party, he has made
but few speeches. His first marriage was to Miss Mary Cummings in 1871, and the
fruits of this union were two children who survive their mother, she dying
February 4, 1878. They are named as follows: William Stanford and Martha J. For
his second wife Mr. Holifield chose Miss Verdilla P. Perrian, of Clay County,
and three children, Etta Lee. Mary Susan and Otis Oscar, are the result of this
union. Mr. Holifield is one of the prominent legal lights of the county, and is
thoroughly apace with the times in every respect. He and wife are members of the
Methodist Protestant Church.
James R. Hollis is a Tennesseean, born in Wayne County, January 1ate, 1837, and is a son of W. B. and Susan (Meredith) Hollis, both of whom were born in Wayne County, Tenn. In 1839 they moved to Arkansas and settled in what was then Greene County (now Clay), where they made a farm and resided until their respective deaths, the former's demise occurring in 1873. James R. Hollis remained with his father until he attained his majority and in June, 1861, enlisted in the Confederate service, Fifth Arkansas Infantry, and served until the final surrender, participating in some of the most important engagements of the war, among which were Murfreesboro. Shiloh, siege and surrender of Atlanta, Jonesboro, where he was taken prisoner, but was exchanged soon after, Nashville, where he was also taken prisoner, and Franklin, where he was captured and held until June 21, 1865. After being paroled he returned home and engaged in farming. He was married in what is now Clay County, August 19, 1858, to Elizabeth Payne, a daughter of Boswell B. Payne, whose sketch appears in this work. Mrs. Hollis was born in Adair County, Tenn., and was reared in Arkansas. Soon after his marriage he located on his present farm, consisting of some 220 acres, about 120 acres of which are fenced and mostly under cultivation, well improved with good residence and barns. Mr. and Mrs. Hollis are the parents of the following family: William Thomas, Jane B., wife of G. W. Pickens. Joseph E., Ada E., Mary Alice, Albert Harvey and John Royal. Three infants are deceased. Susan was the wife of Francis Davis, and died about 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Hollis are members of the Baptist Church, and he is a Mason and a member of the Agricultural Wheel.
G. H. Hovey, one of the successful and enterprising
"sons of the soil," residing near Pitman, Ark., was born in the State
of New York, September 15, 1851, being a son of A. G. Hovey, who was also born
in that State February 4, 1814. The latter was a well-known resident of his
county, and while residing there held a number of offices, such as justice of
the peace and postmaster. He removed to Newton County, Mo., in 1877, and in 1884
located in Howell County, where he is still residing, being a carpenter by
trade. He was married in 1841 to Miss Maris Brewer, a native of New York State,
and by her became the father of three children, two of whom are living: F. A., a
farmer residing in Howell County, the owner of 160 acres of land, and George H.,
our subject, who is also a farmer and owns 200 acres of land, 135 being under
cultivation, of which 105 have been cleared by him in the last three years. He
removed to this farm from Howell County, Mo., in 1885, and here has since made
his home, and has one of the finest young orchards in the country. He gives
considerable attention to stock raising and has some excellent Durbam cattle and
Poland China hogs. In his youth he acquired a superior education, and in
addition to attending the common schools was a student in the Tenbroeck Free
Academy in Cattaraugus County for three years. He was then engaged in teaching
for twelve terms, one term in Pennsylvania, two in New York, and nine terms in
the public and private schools of Missouri. He removed from New York to
Pennsylvania in August, 1874, thence to Newton County, Mo., in 1876; in the
spring of 1883 to Howell County, Mo., and from there to Clay County, Ark. On the
31st of December, 1871, he was married in his native State to Miss Sarah Bruns,
of New York, a daughter of John and Julia (Collins) Burns, who were farmers of
that State. They have one daughter, born May 8, 1881. Mrs. Hovey is a member of
the Christian Church, and he is an earnest worker for education, exhibiting that
intelligence and enterprise necessary for the Successful development of the
A. Hudgens was born in Robertson County, Tenn., in 1834, and is the son of John and Nancy (Durham) Hudgens, and the grandson of James Hudgens, a native of Virginia. John Hudgens was also a native Virginian, but later moved to Tennessee, where he married Miss Durham. He had limited opportunities for an education, but made up for this to some extent by studying at home. Besides his work on the farm he conducted a store in Marion, Ill., and at one time was in quite comfortable circumstances, but was obliging enough to place his name on a friend's bond, in consequence of which he was compelled to pay a large sum of money. Thus he was badly harassed for some time. A. Hudgens attained his growth in Tennessee, learning the carpenter's trade, and went with his father to Illinois in 1852. He was married in that State to Miss Harriet McIntosh, a native of Williamson County, Ill., and the daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Mason) McIntosh, who came from Robertson County, Tenn. After living in Illinois until 1882 Mr. and Mrs. Hudgens moved to St. Francis, there being but one dwelling there at that time, and put up the third house in the village. Here they now live and have a very nice residence. He has followed his trade and has built more than half the houses since he came. He has followed contracting and building, and is now holding the office of justice of the peace in the county. To his marriage were born seven children, all in Illinois. They are named as follows: Emma, received her education in the high school at Marion, Ill., and after teaching in that State for some time is now teaching in Arkansas; Sula, at present finishing her education at Carbondale, and is studying stenography, having taken one course in St. Louis; Minnie, is attending school at the State University at Fayetteville, Ark., and will graduate in the class of 1889; Oscar, is also attending the same school and will graduate in 1889; Frank is at home; Gertrude is also at home, and Bessis, an infant. Mr. Hudgens is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, located at St. Francis, as is also his wife, and he affiliates with the Democratic party in his political views.
Dr. Samuel W. Huston, physician and surgeon of Piggott, Clay County, Ark., was born in Ripley County, Mo., February 15, 1847, being a son of Dr. William A. Huston, a Missourian, who was reared and studied his profession at Troy. He was married in Randolph County, Ark., to Miss Vernetta Pittman, a daughter of Dr. Pittman, of Pittman's Ferry, one of the pioneer physicians of Arkansas. After his marriage Dr. Huston settled in Ripley County, where he practiced a few years and afterward moved to Charleston, Mo., and died in Perry County, of that State, in 1850. While in Arkansas he represented Randolph County in the State legislature. Dr. Samuel W. Huston grew to manhood in Cape Girardeau County, Mo., making his home with his uncle, M. J. Himes, and remained with him until he attained his majority. He studied medicine under Dr. Henderson, one of the leading physicians of Jackson, and took his first course of lectures at the McDowell Medical College, of St. Louis, about 1868. He continued the study of his profession in Cape Girardeau County, and did his first practicing in Greene County, Ark., in 1874, remaining there about eighteen months, when he moved to his present location, where he has built up an excellent practice. He was married in the village of Piggott, September 23, 1877, to Miss Susan Jane Lowrance, a native of Carroll County, but reared in Clay County, Ark. She is a
daughter of David G. Lowrance (deceased), and she and Dr. Huston are the parents of six children: Lenora M., Myrtle C., Edna S., Sam, Oran and Carl. The Doctor and wife are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church (in which he is an elder), and are highly respected citizens of the community in which they reside.
N. A. Keller, another successful business man of St. Francis, was born in Tennessee, but grew to manhood in Union County, Ill., where he went with his father, Rev. Francis F. Keller, when but a child. The father was a minister in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and followed that calling for many years. The mother, Elizabeth Keller, was a member of that church for nearly sixty years. She recently died at the age of seventy-eight years. N. A. Keller attended the district schools in Union County until twenty-one years of age, after which he spent a year at Gravel Hill, Mo., and then taught school for several years in Missouri and Arkansas. After this he went with Gregory, Lasswell & Co., of Malden, Mo., where he remained for about two years engaged in the general merchandise business, and then came to St. Francis, and after embarking in business for some eighteen months, accepted a position on the road for Kelley, Goodfellow & Co., boot and shoe dealers of St. Louis, with whom he remained for about two years, traveling in Southern Illinois and West Tennessee. He then returned to St. Francis and took a position with Clemson & Calvin, with whom he continued until July 1, 1889, when he purchased the entire stock of that firm. He was married January 20, 1886, to Miss Mattie Calvin, daughter of Robert T. Calvin, of Pulaski County, Ill., and the sister of Mr. Hiram Calvin of the firm of which Mr. Keller was the trusted employee. Two children were born to this union: Tell and Pearl. Mr. Keller has been reasonably successful since coming to St. Francis, and is the owner of three houses and lots in the village. He is a member of Evergreen Lodge No. 581, I. O. O. F., of Illinois, and belongs to the Triple Alliance, in which he carries $1,000 insurance, and also $1,000 in the Globe, of Baltimore, Md. Mrs. Keller is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.
G. W. Kelley, of Corning, Ark., is now serving his second term as justice of the peace of Kilgore Township, and no man has ever held the position who was better fitted to discharge the duties connected with it than he. He was born in St. Louis County, Mo., in 1813, being the eldest of six children born to the marriage of William Kelley and Nancy Lancaster, who were Virginians, and early emigrants to Missouri, where they opened and improved a farm. In 1837 William Kelley removed to West Tennessee, where his death occurred in 1843, and his wife's in 1858. G. W. Kelley assisted on the home farm until twelve years of age, and was then apprenticed to the machinist's trade, which occupation received his attention for a number of years. While a resident of Tennessee he was married, in 1856, to Miss S. E. Andrews, a native of West Tennessee, and a daughter of Edmond and Lanina Andrews, who were born in the "Old North State," and there lived, afterward moving to Tennessee, where they died. They were engaged in tilling the soil. After his marriage Mr. Kelley settled in Tennessee, and in 1846 enlisted from Adairsburg, of that State, in Company E, Second Tennessee, under Gen. Taylor, and was in the battles of Cerro Gordo, Monterey, Cherubusco, City of Mexico, and other engagements. After the war he returned to Tennessee, and in 1867 moved to Hickman, Fulton County, Ky., where he worked at his trade, moving from there, in 1874, to Clay County, Ark., where he purchased and began improving a farm in Bradshaw Township. In 1884 he moved to Corning, and although he still owns his farm, is living retired from the active duties of life. In 1885 he was elected, on the Democratic ticket, of which party he is a member, to the office of justice of the peace, which position he is now filling. He has aided very materially in building up Corning and vicinity, and has given liberally of his means in supporting worthy enterprises. He and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and the names of their children are as follows: Edward A., who is married and resides at Tiptonville, Tenn.; A. M., Julia (Mrs. Gills), residing at Buffington, Mo.; Ula, Willie, Anton and Kirby. During his term of service Mr. Kelley has come in contact with many criminals, and has dealt with them in a manner highly satisfactory to lovers of good law.
Marcellus Ketchum, hotel-keeper and farmer, at Knobel, Clay County, Ark., was born in Williamson County, Ill., in 1852, being the third of seven children born to Jesse and Elizabeth (McCowan) Ketchum, who were born in North Carolina and Illinois, respectively. The maternal grandfather, who was a native of Ireland, became an early settler of Illinois. Jesse Ketchum followed the occupation of farming throughout life and died when his son Marcellus was a child. The latter has been familiar with farm life from early boyhood, but received little or no educational advantages in youth. At the age of nineteen years he began farming for himself in his native State, which occupation he followed there until 1877, then coming to Clay County, Ark., where he resumed farming near Peach Orchard. In 1887 he bought property in the village of Knobel and opened a hotel, but still continues his agricultural pursuits in the vicinity. He has about fifty acres devoted to raising such crops as are intended for feeding stock, his hogs amounting to about 100 head and his cattle to thirty. In his political views he is conservative, and always votes for whom he considers the best man. In 1873 he was married to Miss Mary Jane Fozzard, a native of Illinois and a daughter of Edward Fozzard, who was captain of Company G, Eighty-first Illinois Cavalry. He was a well known farmer of Williamson County and died in 1876. To the union of Mr. and Mrs. Ketchum two children have been born: Minnie and Lebert Otto. Mr. Ketchum is an enterprising citizen and is rapidly becoming identified with the growth and prosperity of his section.
Franz Kopp, farmer and proprietor of Kopp's saw-mill, in St. Francis Township, was born in Bavaria, Germany, May 24, 1846, and is the son of Philip and Mary Ann Kopp, both natives of Bavaria. Philip Kopp emigrated to the States in 1848 and nine years later, or in 1857, Mrs. Kopp and family arrived and settled in New Madrid, Mo., where Mr. Kopp engaged in the lumber business, manufacturing for a number of years. He died in October, 1879. Franz Kopp attained his growth in New Madrid, Mo., and there followed farming and assisted his father in the manufacture of lumber until twenty-one years of age. In August, 1864, he enlisted in the Federal army, First Missouri Cavalry, and served until his discharge, September 1, 1865. He was stationed at Little Rock, Ark., and was mustered out there. He then returned to his home and for a number of years was engaged in farming and in the lumber business. June 3, 1880, he married Miss S. C. Morrison, a native of New Madrid, Mo., and the daughter of Hon. T. J. O. Morrison, one of the pioneers and prominent men of New Madrid County. After marriage Mr. Kopp followed his former business for three years in the county mentioned, and then in July, 1883, removed his mill to Arkansas and located in St. Francis Township, Clay County, where he has been manufacturing lumber ever since until a short time ago, when he leased the mill out. He has been very successful in this business. Mr. Kopp settled with his family at Piggott and opened up a farm adjoining the town. He now has some eighty acres of cleared land and about 800 acres of heavily timbered land all in a body. He has a neat residence and good outbuildings. Mr. Kopp served as alderman while in New Madrid and filled other local offices. He and wife are members of the Catholic Church. He has cut on an average 500,000 feet of lumber per year.
A. J. Langley, a South Carolinian by birth, who is
prominently identified with the farming interests of Clay County, was reared and
remained in his native State until forty-two years of age. He attended the
common subscription schools of the county of his birth, and in 1862 enlisted in
the Twenty-ninth Mississippi Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, and served three
years. He was under Gens. Bragg, Johnston and Hood, in all the principal fights,
was captured at the battle at Franklin, Tenn., in November, 1864, and was sent
to Chicago, Ill. He was held at Camp Douglass as a prisoner of war until he was
released June 18, 1865, and then returned to Mississippi, where he followed
farming until 1869, finally moving to his present residence, seven miles west of
St. Francis, Clay County. He is the owner of 240 acres of land, 100 under
cultivation, and is one of the wide-awake, thorough-going farmers of the county.
His first marriage was to Miss Mary A. Port, of South Carolina in which State
Mr. Langley first mot her, and to them were born two children, one of whom,
Thomas L., now lives near Yazoo City, Miss., where he owns a farm, and is the
father of one child. Mr. Langley was married the second time to a sister of his
former wife, Miss Elizabeth Pert, who bore him one child, Elizabeth, who is now
married to Willis White, and a resident of South Carolina. After the death of
his second wife Mr. Langley married Miss Mary A. Goodman, also of South
Carolina, she being the daughter of James W. Goodman, of Cross Hill. To this
union were born eleven children: W. W. lives on a farm in Mississippi; Virginia,
one of a pair of twins, married J. W. Daniels, a farmer of Clay County, and is
the mother of seven children; Andrew W. married Miss Fannie Malone, and is the
father of three children–he is farming in Clay County; Charles married, and
died, leaving a wife and child; Jackianna, married R. M. Wayster, of Clay
County, where they now live, and are the parents of three children; Samuel,
recently married to Miss Lula Booth, is now living in Missouri; Fannie, who
married John McLeskey, bore two children, and is now deceased; Tollula, married
D. J. McCleskey, and is now deceased; Eugene P. is not married, and lives on a
farm in Missouri; Ira C., at home, and Robert, at home. Mr. Langley is a
Democrat in his political views; is a member of the Methodist Church, and
belongs to the Masonic fraternity, Blue Lodge and Chapter. He is generally
identified with all public enterprises, giving cheerfully as far as he is able.
W. S. Liddell, postmaster, and one of the prominent business men of St. Francis, was born in Weakley County, Tenn., and is the son of William and Louisa (Mitchell) Liddell, the latter a daughter of Archilles Mitchell, of Virginia. William Liddell is a native of Tennessee, and immigrated to Arkansas, settling in Clay (then Greene) County, in 1852. There Mrs. Liddle died in 1881, and he in 1887. W. S. Liddell remained on the farm until he enlisted in the Fifth Trans-Mississippi Regiment, commanded by R. A. Hart, and was in the battle of Helena, Ark., July 4, 1863, where he was captured and carried to Alton, Ill., and there held as a prisoner of war until March, 1864, when he was removed to Fort Delaware, Del. There he was held until the close of the war. After this he returned to Clay (then Greene) County, Ark., continuing on his father's farm, and was united in marriage to Miss Sarah J. Dalton, in 1867, a native of Clay (then Greene) County, and the daughter of Timothy Dalton. Mr. Liddell continued farming until 1832, and in connection with it he found time to assist in conducting a store and attend to his duties as post-master of Chalk Bluff. When the "Cotton Belt" Route was opened through the county in 1882, Messrs. Liddell & Sons built a storeroom in St. Francis, which was just started, and moved their stock of goods. The original firm, up to the time of the death of Mr. Liddell, Sr., was Liddell & Sons; since then it has been changed to Liddell Bros. They carry a stock of goods valued at $2,000 during the busy season, consisting of general merchandise. W. S. Liddell is at this time postmaster, which office he has held since 1878, beyond the existence of St. Francis as a town. Since coming to this place he has built a nice house, which he now occupies. To his marriage were born seven children, four now living; James Albert, who assists his father in the post office and store; Stella May, at home attending school; Fannie E. and Thomas. In politics Mr. Liddell affiliates with the Democratic party. He is a member of Eastern Star Lodge of the A. F. & A. M., also of Chalk Bluff Lodge No. 72, I. O. O. F. In the former he has held the office of secretary for about eight or ten years, and has also served as treasurer and junior warden.
Robert Liddell, judge of the county and probate court of Clay County, Ark., was born in Tennessee, in 1850, and is the son of William and Louisa (Mitchell) Liddell, and a grandson of Francis Liddell. In 1852 the parents emigrated to Greene County, Ark. (which was afterward formed into Clay County), and made their home at what is now known as Chalk Bluff, Clay County, where they continued to pass the remainder of their days. Judge Robert Liddell was but two years of age when he came with his parents to Greene County, and here he grew to manhood. He received a practical English education in the common schools of the locality, which he supplemented by attending two terms in Missouri. He then followed agricultural pursuits until 1878, when he was elected clerk of the circuit court, and held this position with honor and credit until October, 1886. He was then elected judge of the county and probate court, and has served in that capacity ever since. He takes a deep interest in all laudable and worthy enterprises, and is a liberal contributor to the same. He is a genial companion, an intellectual associate, as his many warm friends can testify, and is in every way fitted to fill his present position. He was married in 1873 to Miss Mary Crawford, of Butler County, Mo., and the daughter of P. P. and Margaret (Hudson) Crawford. Mrs. Liddell was but a child eight years old when her mother died, and her father died soon after her marriage. To the Judge and wife eight children have been born, five of whom survive: Clara, Willie, Beulah, Finis and Eunice. The others died in infancy. The Judge is a member of the Masonic Order, the I. O. O. F. and K. of H., and he and his wife are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, located at St. Francis.
Rev. Garland Lively, a successful merchant of Piggott, Ark., was born in Monroe County, Ark., February 10, 1848, and is a son of William R. Lively, who was born, reared and married in Mississippi, the latter event being to Miss Elizabeth Hall of the same State. They moved to Arkansas in 1852, but after some time went back to Mississippi, and there the father died in De Soto County in 1858. His widow returned to Arkansas, and after living for three years in Phillips County, moved to Tennessee, locating in Dyer County. Here our subject was reared, and when in his eighteenth year was married January 30, 1866, to Miss Martha J. Hall, a native of Tennessee, and a daughter of Jesse Hall. After their marriage they resided in that State up to 1870, then moving to Arkansas, and in October of that year settled on a farm near the town of Piggott, where he was engaged in tilling the soil up to 1888. Since 1872 he has been a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, having previously been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for eight years. In 1873 he was licensed to preach, and was ordained a minister the following year, and has had charge of a number of churches since that time. In 1889 he engaged in the mercantile business, and carries a good stock of drugs and groceries. He is a Mason, a member of the I. O. O. F., in which he has been Noble Grand, and has represented the former order in the Grand Lodge. One son, William J., is married and resides in Clay County.
Loda & Bro., proprietors of the Knobel House at Knobel
Station, Clay County, Ark. This is one of the finest hotels in the State, and
was erected in 1884 by the Iron Mountain Railroad Company at a cost of about
$10,000, and was first opened to the public in June of that year, being placed
under the management of the Loda Bros., who are experienced hotel men. Eli, the
elder member of the firm, was born in Cape Vincent, Jefferson County, N. Y., in
1853, and is the seventh of twelve children born to Leision and Adelaide (Boler)
Loda, who were natives of Lower Canada. The father was a ship builder by trade,
and later followed the business of hotel keeping, which occupation received his
attention until his death, which occurred in 1865. His wife died in 1871. Eli
Loda attended school until his father's death, and then secured employment on
the lake steamers for several years, and after that was engaged in the railroad
business for three years as fireman and engineer. In 1874 he came to St. Louis,
Mo., securing employment on the Iron Mountain Railroad, and ran the engine of
the pay-car for several years, and in 1884 made a run of over 3,900 miles with
engine No. 380, of the Missouri Pacific, which is the longest run ever made by
an engine; and on this trip he hauled the general manager of the road, Mr. A. A.
Talmadge. He gave up railroad work in June, 1884, leaving an excellent record
behind him, for during his experience on the road he never had an accident
happen to one of his trains. In 1883 he assumed the management of the Belmont
Hotel, at Belmont, Mo., it being conducted by his wife (whose maiden name was
Miss Ida Cloud, and whom he married in 1877) and by his brother, Darius. The
following year he and his brother assumed the management of the Knobel House,
which they have since carried on with the best of success. The younger member of
the firm, Darius, was also born at Cape Vincent, N. Y., in the year 1857. He was
engaged in steamboating for about nine years, acting as steward the most of the
time, but in 1878 he gave up this work and went to Colorado and opened a
restaurant at Georgetown, where he remained for about three years, being also
occupied in mining to some extent. He next went to Wyoming Territory, and was
engaged in hotel keeping at Laramie City for several months. In 1882 he came
east as far as Missouri, and in partnership with his brother soon after opened
the Belmont Hotel. These gentlemen are extensive stock raisers and farmers, but
devote the most of their fine farm of 120 acres to stock raising, and give their
principal attention to the propagation of horses. They purchased their fine
Norman. Percheron stallion, St. John, in Illinois, in 1887, at a cost of $600.
He is a draft horse of about 1,800 pounds, and is a colt of St. Benoit. Jr., by
the imported horse St. Benoit, owned by the Browns. St. John is one of the best
animals ever brought into Northeast Arkansas. The Loda Bros. also keep twelve
breeding mares. Owing to the enterprise of these men, there is a growing desire
among the citizens for a better grade of stock, and this feeling is being shown
by an improved class of stock on the farms. Eli Loda has about 140 acres of land
under cultivation, which he devotes to raising such crops as are needed for his
stock. In 1888, in partnership with W. P. McNalley and Harry Flanders. he
purchased 100 acres of land adjoining the station and railroad land at Knobel,
and they immediately had their land surveyed and laid out into city lots, and
their enterprise will secure a fine town here as soon as this point is made the
terminus of a division. Mr. Flanders is master of transportation for the South
Division of the Iron Mountain Railroad, and Mr. McNalley is passenger conductor
for the same division. Three children have been born to the marriage of Eli Loda
and wife: Guy, who is deceased; Mabel. and Nellie Irene.
W. R. Looney, a popular druggist of St. Francis, Ark., and one of the most successful in the county, was born in Tennessee in 1853, and on account of poor health in youth received but a limited education, although he has in late years made this up to a great extent by observation and study. At the age of seventeen he came, with his father, mother, and brother, James W. (who died in 1873), to Clay County, Ark., and settled near Chalk Bluff on the 10th day of January, 1870. Here he remained until twenty-two years of age, and February 23, 1875, he married Miss Susan E. Leigh, daughter of J. H. and Susan E. (Long) Leigh. After marriage Mr. Looney remained on the farm in Clay County until March, 1881, when he moved to Dunklin County, Mo., and was there engaged in the dry-goods store of Sheldon & Wright Bros., at Malden. Afterward, in June, 1883, he was employed by J. S. Kochtitzky & Co. to run a steam corn-sheller, and on the 20th of November met with a very serious accident. Having been caught in the main shaft of the machinery, his clothing was wound so tightly about him that it dislocated his left arm at the shoulder. He suffered excruciatingly from this, failed to get a night's rest for forty days, and is now a cripple in that arm. Embarking in the grocery business, in partnership with Mr. John Allen, under the firm title of Allen & Looney, six months later he bought Mr. Allen out and continued the business until April, 1886, when he sold out, and came to St. Francis May 19 of that year, then starting a drug and grocery store. One year later he closed out the groceries and now has the finest drug store in the county. The firm name is W. R. Looney & Co., and they enjoy a profitable, legitimate trade. Mr. Looney has been generally identified with the enterprises of the town and county. He is the owner of about 120 acres of land adjoining his father's place, some four miles from St. Francis, and is paying particular attention to the raising of clover, which he thinks is a successful crop and also renews the land. Mr. and Mrs. Looney became the parents of six children, all of whom died in infancy. He is a Democrat in politics.
Samuel W. McDonald, a progressive farmer and stock raiser, and one who has kept thoroughly apace with the times, was born in Randolph County, Ala., in December, 1844, being the son of Sebbon McDonald, who was born and reared in Georgia, but who was married in Alabama to Miss Rhoda Blackston, a native of the last mentioned State. Mr. McDonald served in one of the old Indian wars. He was a farmer, and followed this occupation in Alabama until his death, which occurred about 1864. Samuel W. McDonald attained his growth in Alabama, remained with his father until grown, and in 1862 enlisted in the Confederate army, Seventeenth Alabama Infantry, serving until the final surrender of the Confederacy. He participated in the fight near Dalton, and was stationed nearly all the time at Mobile. He surrendered in 1865, and after being paroled returned to Alabama, where he engaged in farming in Randolph County. He moved to Arkansas in 1876, located in Clay County, remained there two years, and then moved to Boone County, Ark., whence after a residence of two years he returned to Clay County, and settled on his present farm in 1881. He has 120 acres of land, with about seventy-five fenced, and some forty under cultivation. Mr. McDonald has been married twice; first, in Clay County, in 1874, to Miss Elizabeth Sexton, a native of Illinois, who was reared in Arkansas. She died in 1885, and was the mother of four children, who are named as follows: William B., Riley S., Samuel W. and Ollie B. Mr. McDonald took for his second wife Mrs. Adaline Melton, in September, 1886, and the results of this union are two children: John E. and Reuben H. Mrs. McDonald is a native of Clay County, Ark., where she grew to womanhood. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. McDonald is a member of the Baptist Church.
Thomas Cary McGuire was born in Carroll County, Tenn., June 9, 1850, and is a son of Dr. J. M. McGuire, mentioned elsewhere in these pages. He became the architect of his own fortune at the age of twenty years, and was actively engaged in tilling the soil until twenty-seven years old, when he was married to Miss Louisa Jane Gossett, a native of Jefferson County, Ill., and a daughter of William and Mary Gossett, who were farmers. To Mr. and Mrs. McGuire have been born the following family of children: America Leota, born February 21, 1875, and died February 7, 1881;Melissa J., born November 18, 1877; William Martin, born March 25, 1879; Dora, born September 4, 1880, and died September 30, 1884; Mary J., born March 21, 1882; Louella, born January 8, 1884; John H., born December 18, 1885; Fred, born February 14, 1887, and died June 11, 1888, and Ida May, born November 18, 1888. Mr. McGuire has a good farm of eighty acres, twenty-five of which are under cultivation, on which he raises corn and cotton. This farm is well improved with good buildings, fences and orchard, and in fact is one of the best improved places in the county. He also devotes a considerable amount of time to raising cattle and hogs, and is active in furthering the cause of education. He belongs to the Masonic order, is a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and in his political views is a Democrat.
George M. McNiel, ex-sheriff of Clay County, Ark., was born in this county February 28, 1847, and is the son of Neal McNiel, who was a native of Tennessee. The father left that State about fifty years ago, emigrating to Arkansas, and settling in what is now Clay County. He was here married to Miss Nancy Thomas, daughter of Matthew Thomas, one of the earliest settlers of Arkansas. Mr. McNiel was for many years a leading stock dealer of Arkansas, and died in 1857, at Helena, Ark., while on a trip to New Orleans, with a large drove of hogs and cattle, valued at $5,000. After the stock was sold in New Orleans the money was sent to his widow. She is still living, is eighty years of age, and has resided near Rector for the past thirty-eight years. George M. McNiel remained with his mother until his marriage, which occurred in 1880, to Miss Clara Rosaline Seegraves, daughter of J. H. Seegraves, of Oak Bluff, Clay County, Ark. Mrs. McNiel died in September, 1888, leaving three children: Ruth Edith, George A. and Ethel. The mother was a worthy and consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and died in that faith. The children are now living with Dr. Seegraves, in Rector. In 1874 Mr. McNiel engaged in business in Oak Bluff, remaining there about a year, and then went to Bollinger County, Mo., where he accepted a position in the firm of Eli Lutes, and there continued eight years. He then left and took a place as deputy under his brother James, who was sheriff of Clay County, and filled this position for eight years. He was elected sheriff in 1886, and his brother was deputy under him for two years, ending in 1888. Mr. McNiel is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is also a member of the K. of H., in which he has filled many important offices. During the late war he was a member of Capt. J. J. Allen's company, Davis' battalion, Clark's brigade, under Gen. Price, and surrendered at Shreveport. La., in 1865, this command being the last army of the Confederation to surrender.
James A. McNiel, ex-sheriff, and one of the sturdy sons of toil of Clay County. Ark., was born in this county at Oak Bluff, near where Rector now stands, February 7, 1849, his parents being Neal McNiel and Nancy (Thomas) McNiel, natives of East and West Tennessee, respectively. The maternal grandfather, Matthew Thomas, was a native of North Carolina. James A. McNiel attended such schools as the country afforded, which were very primitive up to the breaking out of the late war, when all the schools were closed. During that time he remained at home with his mother, and still continued with her until 1878, when he was elected to the office of sheriff of the county. He was re-elected four consecutive terms, holding that office until 1886, when his brother, George McNiel, was elected to the same office. Mr. McNiel was married November 19, 1879, to Miss Mary Luella Brake, daughter of Jesse Brake, of Clay County, and five children were the result of this union, four now living: Jesse McNiel, Lillian Lee, Ralph Alonzo and Rudy Eugene, all now at home. Since retiring from office Mr. McNiel has followed agricultural pursuits, and has been paying considerable attention to trading in stock. He has an excellent farm of 580 acres, is the owner of one and a half blocks in Rector, and is also the owner of his residence in Boydsville. He is an honest, upright citizen, and stands in the front ranks of his townsmen. He is a member of Boydsville Lodge No. 75. A. F. & A. M., is also a member of Boydsville Lodge No. 16, I. O. O. F., and is a member of the local Knights of Honor. Mr. McNiel is a Democrat in his politics. His wife is a member of the Christian Church.
Daniel W. McPherson, who is recognized as one of the county's best citizens, was born March 25, 1853, in Lee County, Miss., and received a good practical education in the common schools. At the age of about seventeen, he began working on his own responsibility as clerk in a grocery store, and this continued until coming to Clay County, Ark., in 1879. After reaching this county he had $2.75 in ready cash, and as soon as possible he began clerking for G. W. Spraygins, remaining with him and Capt. John J. Allen, for about fifteen months. He then engaged in mercantile pursuits on a limited scale, having but $77 in cash, and doing business on a cash basis, as his capital would indicate. He thus continued for about five years, meeting with merited success from the beginning. He is now conducting a general mercantile business, and is also engaged in the liquor trade. Mr. McPherson is the son of William B. and Fidelia W. (Ringo) McPherson. The father was born in 1797, in Blount County, Ala., was of Scotch parentage, and after growing up followed the occupation of a farmer. In 1849 he moved to Lee County, Miss., where he died in 1881. His wife was a native of Kentucky, and to them were born ten children: Frank, Lot W., Wallace W., Charles, James M., Daniel W., Mary, Josephine, Ellen and Catherine. Daniel W. McPherson was married in October, 1881, to Miss Lura Johnson, a native of Middle Tennessee (where she received her education), and the daughter of John R. Johnson. She came to Arkansas when grown, and by her union to Mr. McPherson, three children were born, two now living: Ella and Lena. Mr. McPherson is one of the progressive young men of Arkansas, and is doing well at his adopted calling. He is a Democrat in politics.
John S. Magee was born in Pope County, Ill., September 19, 1833, being a son of Thomas and Nancy Magee, who were born respectively in Tennessee and Kentucky. John S. Magee began working for himself at the age of eighteen years, first as a farm hand, and was married in that State to Miss Abbie, a daughter of Austin and Louisa Williams, who were farmers of Illinois. They were married March 21, 1850, and about a year later the mother and an infant died. Mr. Magee remained single three years, then moved to Clay County, Ark., and was again married, September 17, 1854, his wife's maiden name being Luvina Watson, of Kentucky. She bore him four children, two of whom are living: W. R., born August 7, 1855, and Nancy J., who was born April 16, 1861, and is the wife of Robert Hasten, a farmer of Louisville, Tex. Eliza A. was born June 28, 1859, and died January 1, 1883. May 19, 1881, Mr. Magee wedded his present wife, Elizabeth Tittle, a daughter of Peter and Rachel Tittle of Missouri. The last marriage has been blessed in the birth of one son and one daughter: John H., who was born March 13, 1882, and Mary E., born August 6, 1885. Mr. Magee has made the following changes of residence: From Kentucky to Arkansas, in 1854; to Illinois, in 1863; to Kansas, in 1867; to Illinois, in 1868; to Clay County, Ark., in 1869; to Boone County, Ark., in 1875, and back to Clay County, Ark., in 1877, where he has since made his home, being the owner of 120 acres of land, forty-five of which are under cultivation, the rest being heavily timbered. He has good buildings, orchards, and fences, and is considered one of the prosperous farmers of the county. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and he is a Republican in his political views. During the late war he served the cause of the Confederacy in the Home Guards.
J. F. Mahan is one of Clay County's worthy tillers of the soil, residing near Vidette. He was born in Ozark County, Mo., on the 30th of May, 1841, and is the eldest of eight children, five now living, of the family of Noah and Orinda Mahan, who were born in Tennessee and Missouri, respectively. The father emigrated with his parents to Missouri in 1840, locating in Ozark County, where he and his wife died, as did also his parents. They were among the early settlers, and experienced many hardships and privations in their endeavors to obtain a home. Noah Mahan cleared several farms, and became quite wealthy. His children who are living are: James F., William, Cynthia, Mary, Hansen. James F., the oldest child, was reared on a farm in Ozark County, but owing to poor school facilities at that day, received a somewhat limited education. In 1862 he enlisted in Company F, Greene's regiment, and served a little over two years, participating in the battles of Helena, Little Rock, Camden, Shreveport, Gaines' Ferry and several skirmishes. In the fall of 1864 he stopped on furlough in Clay County, Ark., having but $10 in Confederate money, and without a whole garment on his back. He fell into the hands of strangers, but was kindly cared for by his future wife's father. After recovering, he worked out for some time, and in 1869 bought a farm in Richwoods, on which he lived until 1884, when he sold out and bought the place where he now resides, consisting of 160 acres, about 100 of which are under cultivation and finely improved. He has put over $1,000 worth of improvements on his farm in the last five years, and it is now one of the finest places in the county. He usually devotes about thirty acres to cotton, and raises about one bale to the acre. He was married, in 1867, to Miss Susan J. Cleveland, a native of North Missouri, and by her has five children: William T., Don, Mary, Hugh and Edna. Mr. and Mrs. Mahan are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he belongs to the Masonic order. He has been a resident of Clay County for twenty-three years, and is considered one of its best residents.
W. S. Malone is an agriculturist of prominence, who, notwithstanding many reverses and discouragements, has ever come boldly to the front, and, with the push and energy characteristic of him, surmounted all difficulties. He is a native Tennesseean, moving with his parents to Mississippi when nine years of age, or in 1841. They settled in Yalobusha County, and here W. S. Malone remained until twenty years of age, after which he went to Panola County. He continued in this county until 1859, subsequently locating in Texas, where he remained until the breaking out of the late war. Then he came to Oak Bluff, in what is now Clay County, and enlisted in the Fifth Arkansas Regiment, Col. Cross commanding, and was elected lieutenant of the company. He served in that capacity until the winter of 1862, when he was discharged at Bowling Green, Ky., but re-enlisted in Capt. Allen's company, of which Mr. Malone was first lieutenant. Later he was put into Col. Hart's regiment, and took part and commanded the company during the battle of Helena, Ark. He was with Gen. Price on his raid through Missouri, and took part in all the fights that occurred, always having command of the company. At one time he was shot in the mouth, and lost two teeth. He was disbanded at Cane Hill, and was paroled at Vicksburg. In 1863 he was united in marriage with Miss M. A. C. Daniels, daughter of John Daniels, of Clay County. They settled on a farm of 120 acres, where they have remained ever since. Shortly after marriage they were burned out, losing all their possessions and the first crop they had, and for a time had nothing but dry corn bread as food, and straw, with a limited amount of covering, for a bed. Now they are very nicely fixed, having a comfortable house and good outbuildings, and are prepared to enjoy life. In their family were seven children, two having died in early youth. Those now living are: Fannie L., married Andrew Langley, and is the mother of three children; she now resides near the home of her father; Margaret L., married Wade Thomas, a farmer who lives in Clay County, and is the mother of two children: Willie Genoa, a daughter, is now deceased; Lucy Ila. at home; H. Eddie, at home, and Bob L., an infant. Mr. Malone is a member of the Masonic fraternity: is an elder in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and a Democrat in politics. He is now fifty-nine years of age, and never sued nor was he ever sued. He has not been in a fight since the war, but at the battle of Jonesboro, Ark., was shot in the mouth. During the entire time he has been engaged in farming Mr. Malone has never bought a pound of bacon, nor has he ever bought corn to eat, always raising sufficient for his family. Mrs. Malone, who is a daughter of Louisa and John Daniel, was born near Cottage Grove, Henry County, Tenn., and remained there until 1859, coming then to Arkansas. Three of the children which she has borne, as well as herself, are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church: Maggie, Fannie and Ila. The two sons, still small children, are being trained in the right way, the hope of their parents being to see them embrace religion before they enter their teens. Mrs. Malone carries them to Sunday school each Sunday, where she has a class of fifteen scholars. Her father is deceased. Her mother, seventy-eight years of age, but still quite active, resides with the oldest daughter, Nancy. Mrs. Malone has three sisters and one brother.
Patrick Martin's name is well known throughout Northeast Arkansas by the traveling public, for since September 10, 1885, he has been the proprietor of the City Hotel at Corning, which establishment, situated opposite the depot, is one of the best of its kind in Clay County, and is quite commodious, consisting of thirty good-sized rooms, with a large sample room. In addition to managing the hotel, he keeps a fine stock of liquors and cigars, having been engaged in this business since coming to the county, in the fall of 1883. He was born at Donegal, in the North of Ireland, March 17, 1858, his parents, Francis and Ann (Monday) Martin, being also natives of that country, where they are still living. In 1880 Patrick Martin emigrated to the United States, and landed at New York City in the month of May, but went directly from there to Philadelphia, where he remained three years, acting as clerk in a wholesale and retail liquor store, also serving part of the time as manager. Since coming to Clay County. Ark., in 1883, he has made his home at Corning, but September 7, 1885, was married, at Pocahontas, Ark., to Miss Nannie B. Lansdell, a native of Virginia, as were also her parents. Her father was a teacher of high standing in his native State, and there spent his life. After the war her mother came to Randolph County, Ark. After his marriage Mr. Martin opened his present hotel, which he has since very ably conducted. He possesses that feeling of kindly hospitality which characterizes the people of Arkansas, and has rendered the City Hotel a comfortable and desirable hostelry. He has always been quite active in politics, and has cast his vote with the Democratic party. He and his wife are the parents of one child. Andrew, and are rearing another child by the name of Hattie Lausdell. They are members of the Catholic Church.
Robert I. Masterson (deceased) was born in Cape Girardeau County, Mo., June 25, 1836, being a son of Samuel Masterson, who was a farmer by occupation. Robert I. served a short time in the late war, and in 1866 removed to Clay County, Ark., locating where his widow and children are now living. At that time there was only a small portion of the farm under cultivation, and but few improvements made, but previous to his death, which occurred May 19, 1873, he did much to better the condition of his farm. He was married, about 1857, in Cape Girardeau County, Mo., to Miss Mary Collins, by whom he became the father of eight children, four of whom are living: Sarah I., Mary L., Robert F. and John H. After his death his widow, in 1878, married Elias Cunning-ham, who was shot December 2, 1878, by outlaws, while sitting by a window in his home, and died on the 8th of that month. The widow and family now live on the old homestead, which consists of 160 acres, about eighty of which are under cultivation. Robert F. and John manage the farm, and are experienced and intelligent young men. They give the most of their attention to raising corn and cotton, their annual yield being very large. It is one of the best farms in the northern part of Clay County, and the house, which is on a high elevation, is surrounded by natural shade trees.
Joseph Mellert, hotel proprietor and farmer of Knobel. Clay County, Ark., was born in Germany, in 1836, and is the fifth (with a twin brother) in a family of twelve, born to F. and Mary Mellert, Joseph was reared on a farm and attended school until fourteen years of age, when he began learning the cigar-maker's trade, and in 1859 came to the United States and settled in St. Louis, where he worked at his trade for about ten years, six years of that time being engaged in business on his own account. In 1870 he moved to Illinois, remaining there for six years; then moved to Randolph County, of the same State, where he remained six years more. He then located in Cape Girardeau, Mo., and after working at his trade there for three years, went to Pilot Knob for about one year, and in 1881 came to Knobel, Ark., and opened his present hotel. He farms about twenty-five acres of land and keeps quite a number of cattle and hogs. In 1861 he married Miss Wilhelmina Branica, a native of St. Louis, and by her has two children: August and Louisa. Mr. Mellert is not very active in politics, but usually votes with the Democratic party. Although he has only resided in the county a short time, he has seen many improvements made, and has aided materially in advancing all enterprises for the good of his section.
Stephen C. Michell was born in Obion County. Tenn., September 21, 1860, and is the third of nine children, four now living, born to the marriage of Stephen Michell and Emeline Watts, who were born in Tennessee and Indiana, in 1829 and 1844, respectively. Their marriage took place in 1857, and they removed from Tennessee to what is now Clay County, Ark., at an early day, and became the owners of a good farm comprising 160 acres of land, eighty of which they succeeded in putting under cultivation, and greatly improved their property by good buildings, fences and orchards. During the Rebellion, Mr. Michell served for about six months in the Confederate army, and after the surrender returned home, where he resumed farming. He was a member of the Grangers, the Masons, and the I. O. O. F., and he and wife were first members of the Methodist Church, but afterward became connected with the Christian Church. His death occurred on the1st of November, 1884. The following are his children: Docis (Deckard), who died at the age of twenty years; Wapallan, who died in Arkansas when fifteen years of age; James D., who was accidentally killed by a pistol shot when twelve years old; Margaret E., who died at the age of eight; William, who is now twenty years of age and resides in Clay County; Mary T. (Moran); Elizabeth, who died when five months old; Robert Theo., who lives at home, and Stephen C. The latter owns a farm of 120 acres in Clay County, on which he has resided for the past fifteen years, and has fifty acres under cultivation, and devotes much of his time to raising cattle and hogs. He is a member of the Christian Church, a Mason, a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and in his political views is a Democrat, having been elected on this ticket to the office of justice of the peace, on the 3d of September, 1888. He has also been constable of the same district a number of terms. April 10, 1887, he married Miss Alice Dennison, a native of Arkansas.
J. T. Miller is a substantial farmer of Clay County, who has become well known for his honesty, energy and intelligence. His birth occurred in Hardin County, Tenn., in September, 1844, his parents, James and Jane (Black) Miller, being also natives of that State. In 1850 they emigrated to what is now Clay County. Ark., coming through in wagons, and located on the Little Black River, and here the father died in the fall of 1866, his wife's death occurring in Tennessee. They were the parents of two children. John T. being the only one now living. He grew to manhood on a farm, and received such education as could be obtained in private schools. In 1882 be purchased the farm where he now lives, consisting of 160 acres, about seventy of which are under cultivation. He has made a great many improvements since locating, and devotes the most of his land to corn and cotton, but also gives much attention to stock raising, being extensively engaged in this business at times. He is intelligent and enterprising, and is counted one of the influential and prosperous farmers of his locality. He was married, in 1866, to Miss Amanda Mulbullen, who bore him three children: Pauline I., Lewis A. and Vandella, who is deceased. In 1877 Mr. Miller wedded Miss Sarah M. Mulhullen, and by her is the father of six children, five of whom are living: Lucy I. (deceased),John R., Leoter. Rosa M., Gertie C. and Thomas J. Mrs.Miller is a member in good standing of the Christian Church.
Harvey W. Moore. Among the prominent and numerous attorneys of Clay County may be mentioned Mr. Moore, who was born in Fulton County, Ind., May 27, 1864. his parents being Milton M. and Mary A. J. (Stone) Moore, natives, respectively, of Indiana and Ohio. They were married in Montgomery County. Ind, in 1855, and in 1863 located in Fulton County, where they made their home until 1881, removing in January, of that year, to Randolph County, and in the fall of the same year to Clay County. Ark. For five years young Moore was here engaged with his father in changing a dense forest into a farm, and during this time all of his spare moments were spent in the study of those branches that were required to be taught in the common schools. After having taught school successfully he entered the Corning high school, where he took a course in the higher branches of study, commencing the study of law in February, 1888, with F. G. Taylor, the leading attorney of Clay County, and after reading until August, 1888, he was admitted to the Clay County bar. He located in Greenway, in the fall of 1888, where he has since been actively engaged in the practice of his profession and is doing well, giving fair promise of becoming one of the leading lawyers of Northeast Arkansas. He is well versed on all of the general topics of the day, is a hard student, and is a young man of exemplary habits and character.
John H. Mowls, Jr., a farmer of Clay County, Ark., was born in Roanoke County, Va., March 29, 1853, and is a son of Henry and Polly Mowls, the former of Scotch-Irish and the latter of Dutch-English ancestry. The father was a colonel in the Confederate army during the Rebellion, and acted as recruiting officer, and throughout life has followed the occupations of farming, distilling, merchandising and mechanics, he and wife being now residents of California. John H. Mowls began fighting the battle of life for himself at the age of eighteen years, working as a teamster at the Cannelton Coal Mines of West Virginia for one year, after which he moved to Portamouth, Ohio, where he was engaged in engineering a tug-boat. He next moved to St. Louis, thence to Kansas City, and from there to Topeka, where he joined a trading expedition, being thus connected for eighteen months. The following two years he spent as a cow-boy at Galveston. Tex., and then returned to St. Louis and made three trips on the Mississippi River as engineer on the tow-boat "Elliott," He next operated a shingle-yard and farmed in Mississippi, spending one year at each occupation, but was inundated by the great overflow of 1873, which compelled him to move. He went first to Cape Girardeau, Mo., then to Union County, Ill., and was engaged in farming four years. He was married there on the 13th of February, 1876, to Miss M. A., a daughter of Daniel and Ann Cook, natives of North Carolina and Australia, respectively. On the 10th of August, 1877, Mr. Mowls left Illinois and located in Nevada City, Mo., where he worked as a painter and mechanic until February 27, 1878, when his wife died, leaving him with an infant only two months old to rear. He took the child to his mother, who cared for it until its death at the age of six months. Mr. Mowls next went to Chicago, and from there to Waterloo, Ill., where he was occupied in engineering three months. He next began railroading, continuing this three years. The nuptials of his second marriage were celebrated on the 25th of December, 1879, his wife's maiden name being Miss Emma A. Griffith, of Union County, Ill., adaughter of W. T. and Jane Griffith, who are natives, respectively, of Kentucky and Illinois. In 1880 Mr. Mowls removed to Butler County, Mo., and in 1881 came to Clay County, Ark., and is the owner of a saw, grist and cotton-mill in Kilgore Township. He has been engaged in managing various mills ever since removing to Missouri in 1880, and has also been interested in farming some of the time, and is at present following this occupation, his principal crops being cotton and corn. He is a Mason, a member of the Agricultural Wheel, is independent in politics, and he and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. The following are their children: Elmer R., born February 11, 1882; Lily M., born February 3, 1887, and Joseph J., born July 13, 1887. Mr. Mowls was educated in the common subscription schools, and expects to give his children good educational advantages.
J. M. Myers, mayor of St. Francis, and one of the most enterprising men of the town, was born in Upper Sandusky, Ohio, and is the son of Michael Myers, who came with his father from Pennsylvania, settling in Ohio, and was there married to Miss Susan McClane, a native of Ohio. J. M. Myers remained in Sandusky until 1886, when he came to St. Francis, where he engaged in the lumber business and has continued this calling since. He is the owner of 380 acres of land in his native [p.236] State, and 8,000 acres of timber and oval land in Morgan County, Ky. After arriving in Clay County, Ark., Mr. Myers joined the firm of Juvenall, Myers & Co., operating Mr. Rosengrant's mill. Afterward in company with W. S. Bryon, of St. Louis, he built a mill and opened under the firm name of J. M. Myers & Co. This he still continues and has now completed one of the largest and best equipped mills in the county or State. When the town of St. Francis was organized in 1888 Mr. Myers was elected to the office of mayor to fill the interim until the first municipal election, when he was re-elected, and is now holding that position to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. He has built, in addition to the two mills, the finest residence in the county. Although not a member of any church he has assisted materially in the building of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, to which he contributed very liberally. He was married in Ohio to Miss Ella Bair, who came from Pennsylvania with her parents, Jacob and Amy (Uber) Bair, a number of years ago. To Mr. and Mrs. Myers have been born five children: Edith Floy, Sadie Grace, Gail Roena, Grover C. and an infant unnamed. Mr. Myers is a Democrat in politics.
Bertrand Nicolas, farmer and stockman of Clay County, Ark., was born in France in 1844, being the second of a family of eight children born to Bertrand and Catherine (Johnson) Nicolas, who were also born in France and came to the United States in 1847, landing at New Orleans, and afterward settling at St. Louis, Mo., where the father engaged in weaving. In 1858 they moved to the country about twelve miles from the city, where they lived ten years, and afterward located about six miles north of Kirkwood, where both parents died. Bertrand Nicolas, whose name heads this sketch, was reared to a farm life and attended the schools of St. Louis, receiving a good education. At the age of twenty-eight years he began working for himself, and was married at the age of thirty-two to Miss Rebecca Towe, a native of Missouri, by whom he became the father of two children, and at the birth of the second child Mrs. Nicolas died. George, the elder, is attending school in St. Louis. Katie died in infancy. In 1884 Mr. Nicolas married his second wife, whose maiden name was Miss Julia Mercille, a native of Missouri. After his second marriage he remained in Missouri one year, and then came to Arkansas in the spring of 1885, settling near Peach Orchard, and at the end of two years located upon his present farm, where he is now tilling an excellent tract of fifty acres.
Dr. J. Marshall Orr, physician and surgeon of Greenway, Ark., is a native of Lee County, Miss., where he was born on the 5th of August, 1861. He was reared to manhood here, and received a good English education, at the age of eighteen years, commencing the study of medicine under his father, Dr. Harvey C. Orr, and took his first course of lectures in the University of Louisville, Ky., in the winter of 1882-83. After finishing his course, he returned to Mississippi, and practiced his profession with his father one year, when he located in the county and began practicing on his own responsibility, continuing there up to February, 1886. He then took another course of lectures in the Hospital College of Medicine, at Louisville, Ky., and graduated June 17, 1886. After completing his course, he located at Greenway, Ark., and has built up a large and paying practice, which is increasing steadily and profitably. His father was born in the "Palmetto State," and, after receiving his education and residing there until reaching manhood, he went to Mississippi, where he met and wedded Miss Mary E. Weatherall, who was born and reared in Mississippi. Dr. Orr became settled in Lee County of that State, where he has practiced for over thirty years, and is still successfully following his calling.
W. R. Paty, of Corning, Ark., was born in Humphreys County, Tenn., August 28, 1849, his parents being Matthew and Priscilla Roberts, of Tennessee. The former's birth occurred about 1814, and in 1838 he was married to one Miss Hendrix. They had three children born to them, of whom two are yet living. The wife died in 1845, and in 1847 he was married to Miss Priscilla Roberts. They had nine children, of whom W. R. Paty is the only living member. Matthew Paty was a land holder in his [p.237] native State. In the spring of 1858 he moved to Ripley County, Mo., where he bought a tract of land, consisting of 120 acres, on which he resided three years, and then moved to Butler County, of the same State, where he made his home until his death, on the 15th of February, 1865. He was a Democrat in his political views, and he and wife were members of the Methodist Church. In the spring of 1867 the widow, with seven children, moved to Randolph County, Ark., and by the 10th of May, 1884, they all had died, except W. R. Paty. On the 30th of November, 1873, he was married to Miss Caroline Watson, of Clay County, a daughter of Rev. Peter Watson. They had five children born to them, all of whom died in their infancy. Caroline Paty died October 12, 1883. On the 14th of September, 1884, W. R. Paty was married to Mrs. Ruth A. Alexander, a native of Tennessee. She was a widow with one child. Mr. Paty now owns a farm, and lives on the same, ten miles west of Corning, in Clay County, Ark., where he intends to remain the rest of his days. He received very little education in his youth, just learning the forms of the letters, but by self application he has made rapid strides in the acquirement of knowledge and acquaintance with current events. He is independent in his political views, and has served as school director and road overseer. He is a member of the Agricultural Wheel.
Boswell B. Payne, Sr., retired farmer, is a native of Rutherford County, Tenn., born February 1, 1815, and is a son of James and Permelia Ann (Hitchcock) Payne, born in North Carolina and Ireland, respectively, though they were reared, married, and resided in Tennessee, and died in that State about 1827 and 1828, respectively. Boswell B. Payne grew to manhood in Madison County, Tenn., and was married in Dyer County, March 4, 1836, to Miss Nancy Nettle, a daughter of Jesse and Catherine (Derosett) Nettle. Mrs. Payne was born in Franklin County, Tenn., July 30, 1817, and she and Mr. Payne reared a family of nine children, all of whom are married and the parents of families. They have forty-seven grandchildren and about eight great-grandchildren. After their marriage they farmed in Tennessee for seven years, then moving to Poinsett County, Ark., in 1843, where they were engaged in farming for about four years, coming thence to what is now Clay County, and in 1847 locating near Green way on the farm which he now owns. He built a good double log house, cleared a farm of sixty-five acres, and reared his family. He was a great hunter in his day, and has killed many bear, elk, deer, and a great amount of small game. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church.
John H. Payne. The genealogy of this family can be traced directly back to two brothers who, on coming to America, settled on James River, Va., and were among the early colonists. This family is among the old and much respected ones of the country. J. H. Payne was born in Greene County (now known as Clay County), Ark., April 20, 1850, and is the son of B. B. and Nancy (Nettle) Payne, and grandson of James Payne and wife, nee Hitchcock, the latter being of Irish extraction. In 1844 B. B. Payne came to Clay County, Ark., with his wife and family consisting then of three children, and is now living one and a half mile from Greenway. There were nine children in the family, five daughters and four sons, all now married, and six of whom were born after their parents came to Arkansas. There are seventy-five descendants to this family in children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, living at the present time. Jesse Nettle, the maternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was of Welsh descent, and his wife, Polly (Derosett) Nettle, was of French extraction. J. H. Payne, one of the rising young men of the county, has filled the office of magistrate for three consecutive terms, and in 1885 he was elected to the XXVth General Assembly of Arkansas. At the present time he is occupied in timber speculations, but previous to this he had made farming a specialty. He is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, holding credentials as a preacher in the same, and at present is studying for the legal profession. He chose for his wife Miss Susan D. Nettle, a native of Clay County, Ark., and the daughter of William R. Nettle, of Tennessee. She died September 16, 1888, and left five children: J. H., Jr., Laura J., David L., James C. and George. He is a Democrat and takes considerable interest in politics. He lives in Piggott, and practices in the inferior courts of the State.
Thomas L. Pierce, M. D., one of the many eminent practitioners of Clay County, who has ministered to the wants of the sick and afflicted of Clay County, Ark., is a native of Tennessee and went with his father, John J. Pierce, to Illinois in the spring of 1866. The father was a Union man in sentiment, but during the war he remained in Tennessee, and sided with neither the North nor South. After moving to Illinois he settled near Vienna, the county seat of Johnson County, where his son, Thomas L., grew to manhood. The latter received a good practical education in the schools of Johnson County, and in 1878, when twenty-two years of age, entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa. Previous to this he had studied in the office with Dr. T. L. Grissom, of Samoth, Ill., and after returning from Keokuk he commenced practicing with Dr. J. H. Norris, of Metropolis City, Ill. After remaining there one year he came to Boydsville, Ark., where he opened an office in 1879, and has been engaged in the practice of his profession ever since. Aside from the large practice that the Doctor has, he also finds time to pay some attention to his farms lying in the neighborhood. He was united in marriage, in 1880, to Miss Berlinda Betts, daughter of John H. and Martha (Ford) Betts, of Dunklin County, Mo., and the result of this union has been the birth of five children: Norris, Lillie Myrtle, John Edgar, Martha Lena (died at twenty-two months old) and Roy Dwight. In his political views Dr. Pierce affiliates with the Republican party.
Willis W. Pollard, druggist of Piggott, Ark., was born in Union County, Ill., in March, 1852, being the son of John and Nellie (Leight) Pollard, who were also of Illinois nativity. In 1854 they moved to what is now Clay County, Ark., where the father died in 1861, after which Willis W. Pollard moved back to Illinois with his mother, and there made his home until 1883. He was in the family grocery business for two years prior to coming to Arkansas, and after removing to this State first engaged in the merchandise trade, and has been one of the prominent business men of the place. In July, 1884, he was appointed station agent for the railroad at Piggott, which position he is filling at the present time, being the first and only agent at this point. The firm of W. W. Pollard & Co., druggists, has just been organized, and they carry a well selected stock of drugs, medicines, paints, oils, cigars and tobacco. Mr. Pollard has been married twice; first, in Illinois in September, 1873, to Mary Casper, a native of Union County, Ill., who died there in December, 1876, having borne three children: Martha I., C. Otto, and an infant, deceased. In 1877 Mr. Pollard married his present wife, whose maiden name was Amelia Beaver, who was born, reared and married in Union County, Ill., and by her became the father of five children, Charles W. being the only one living, four dying in infancy. Mr. Pollard is an older in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, of which his wife is also a member, and he has filled all the chairs in the I. O. O. F., and is the present District Deputy Grand Master.
Dr. Henry C. Redwine. physician at Vidette, Ark., was born in Graves County, Ky., June 15, 1854, and is a son of Jacob and Mary Redwine, the former a native of North Carolina, the latter of Tennessee. They moved to Graves County while young, and are still residing there on a farm. Henry C. remained on the farm until his seventeenth year, when he began teaching in the public schools of his native State, and continued this occupation for seven years, being engaged in the study of medicine in connection with his teaching, the last two years of his pedagoguism. In 1878 he entered Keokuk (Iowa) Medical College. from which he came to Randolph County, Ark., where he remained until March 1, 1880, then removing to Clay County, Ark., and locating within about two miles of where he now resides. In 1884 he bought his present property, and in 1888 became engaged in general mercantile business. In September, 1888, a post office was established in his store, the place taking the name of Vidette, and he was appointed postmaster. He has a very extensive practice, and is also meeting with good success in the mercantile business.
Isaac Reed, a blacksmith and wagon maker at Corning, Ark., is a native of Lee County, Va., where he was born on the 12th of March, 1843, his parents, George and Mary (Grabill) Reed, being born in West Virginia. In 1849 they emigrated to Kentucky, locating in Pulaski County, where the mother died ten years later. Here the father resided, engaged in farming, until 1865, when he emigrated to Washington County, Ark., and there still makes his home. Of the eight children born to himself and wife, five are living: Isaac, Jane, Mary, Margaret and Nancy E. Isaac Reed was reared principally in Kentucky, and in that State received the most of his education. When the war broke out, he enlisted, on the 24th of July, in Company K, Third Kentucky Infantry, and served three years and four months, being in the battles of Stone River, Chickamauga, Mission Ridge, Buzzard Roost, Pumpkin Vine, Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, Siege of Atlanta and Jonesboro. He was mustered out of service and discharged October 14, 1864, at Louisville, Ky., after which he returned home and remained one month, then went to Lexington and was engaged in driving a post team for the Government. There was a train of 300 wagons made up to go to Mexico, but on reaching Louisville, all the men were discharged. He then returned home and was engaged in farming until 1869, when he went to Clark County, Ind., and engaged in blacksmithing and farming, remaining ten years, at which time he removed to Jefferson County, Mo. In 1880 he came to Corning, Ark., and has since been following his present business, in which he is meeting with good success. He does all kinds of repairing and his work is always well performed. He owns several lots in the town and a nice home. In 1865 he was married to Miss Nancy L. Brown, a native of Kentucky, who bore him ten children, six now living: Nancy A., William A. and Isaac M. (twins), George W. and Henry C. (twins) and Charles F. Mr. Reed is a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and his wife is a member of the Baptist Church.
The Rouse Springs Sanitarium, so intimately connected with the affairs of Clay County, is of such importance to the interests of this portion of the State, that no worthy history of the community could fail to make mention of it, or of its worthy and well-known owner, Dr. James Rouse. The experiences through which he has passed, the honors conferred upon him by rich and poor alike, the success which has attended his efforts almost without exception, proclaim him a man worthy of more than ordinary notice, so that a sketch of his eventful life cannot but be of interest to the many readers of this volume. Dr. Rouse comes from a noble ancestry, having descended from Rouse who was lord of admiralty during Cromwell's government. The Doctor's great-grandfather commanded an English ship in the wars between Spain, France and England prior to the American Revolution. His grandfather and three brothers served in the Revolutionary War in the army of Washington, one of the brothers falling at Yorktown while besieging that place. One of the brothers rose to be a general, and settled at Rouse's Point, N. Y. Dr. Rouse's father, James Rouse, served in the War of 1812 under Gen. Brown, and rose to a captaincy. He married Miss Helen Temple, of Aberdeen, who descended by both her parents from the house of Stuarts, her uncle being earl of Aberdeen. Dr. Rouse, who is now sixty-seven years of age, was born in Canada while his parents were there on business, but was taken back to Virginia when only a few weeks old. He was sent to school in Northern Ohio, and also attended schools in Pennsylvania and New York, studying medicine under Dr. Dustan, a French physician, and Dr. Johns, an English physician. The Doctor, although a Virginian, is cosmopolitan in sentiment. He was a young man at the breaking out of the Mexican War, but saw active service in that conflict, his return being through the locality which thirty-five years hence was to claim him as a resident. It was then that he discovered the rare curative qualities of the springs now bearing his name. The beginning of his extensive travels had been made. Edinburgh College, of Scotland, had given him a diploma as a graduate, and being already possessed of an excellent knowledge of the science of medicine, he has since added to his learning by contact with different nations of the world, and by observing closely the diversified methods employed by various people. The experience thus gained has proved of incalculable benefit. While occupied at one time in three years of travel in Europe and Asia, he was called upon to perform an intricate and delicate operation upon one of Queen Victoria's army officers, for which he was knighted. Two years were spent in South America, and while there also the success attending his efforts in saving the life of the daughter of the emperor of Brazil, and restoring her to health, was rewarded by a gift (in addition to a magnificent fee) of a solid gold inkstand, weighing three pounds and three ounces, inlaid with fine rubies, each valued at over $200. Besides this Dr. Rouse possesses a number of diamonds and other precious stones received from grateful potentates, who had been the beneficiaries of his ability. Amid constantly changing scenes time passed rapidly, and before conscious of it the Doctor had passed the three-score milestone, and was almost broken in health. The advent of the St. Louis, Arkansas & Texas Railroad, through this locality in 1882 caused him to turn his attention in this direction, and in 1883 he settled here, and by personal experience determined the effects of the mineral waters so bountifully provided by nature. An analysis made by the Washington University, of St. Louis, indicates the presence of silica, iron, magnesium, iodine, potassium, sodium and manganese, ingredients sufficient to have wrought within the past six years some wonderful cures. One of the most noteworthy was the ease of Joseph Cochran, son of J. Henry Cochran, banker of Williamsport, Penn., whose condition had baffled the skill of physicians of wide reputation for some six months. An abscess forming internally had burst into the cavity of the bowels, discharging and emptying large quantities of pus into the cavity of the abdominal and peritoneal membrane. From an incision ten inches in length through the abdominal wall there was removed the matter discharged into the peritoneal cavity from an abscess in cæcum. The case was most critical as the constant discharge needed frequent cleansing, and any little exercise caused the bowels to protrude some six or eight inches. Hope had almost been abandoned when Dr. Rouse undertook the treatment. There were besides now two holes in cæcurn, one three-quarters of an inch and the other half an inch in diameter, from which feces were constantly discharged. By patient, untiring attention and the help of his good wife, with the aid of instruments constructed for this particular case, the young man was restored to sound health within three months, the medicinal properties of the water used aiding greatly in this result. The father, without considering the usual formality of a bill, presented the Doctor with a check for $5,000. The Sanitarium is beautifully situated on an eminence overlooking the track of the "Cotton Belt" Route. In it are contained many interesting and curious specimens, viz.: fossils, shells, minerals, etc., evidences of Dr. Rouse's taste as a geologist and paleontologist; one of these is a piece of rich quartz, containing $700 worth of gold. He owns over 700 acres of land in the county, his home place containing some 2,000 peach and 200 apple trees, and a garden surpassed by none in this portion of the State. One variety of grape is produced from a vine the original of which he brought from Riga, Russia; other small fruit of Canadian origin grow profusely. It only needs a visit to his wine cellar to demonstrate his ability to preserve fruit after raising it, last year's crop producing over $1,000 of wine. With opportunities for gathering berries from the verge of eternal snow to the tropics, and fruit from every clime, he claims that there is no country like Arkansas capable of producing such a variety of highly flavored and useful fruits, while the roses here are more fragrant than those of Persia. He already has one of the largest farm residences in the county, to which an addition will be built sufficient to accommodate fifty patients by the fall of 1889. In addition to his duties about the Sanitarium the Doctor is surgeon for the railroad, and also has a [p.241] large practice in the surrounding country. He is of untiring energy, ceaseless activity and persevering industry, of lithe and sinewy form, erect and of commanding presence, his hair tinged with gray indicating a dignified age. He has been three times married, his first wife bearing two children; by his second wife he had six, three now living. His first wife's children are both married; the eldest, Helen, to Mr. Edwin Lovitt, of Liberty, Me.; the second daughter to Mr. J. Henry Cochran, of Calais, Me., now of Williamsport, Penn. His second wife's children are also married: James W. Rouse, conductor on a railroad in Colorado; Lizzie, wife of Mr. Frank Miller, an electrician, of Philadelphia, Penn., and Eva Virginia, married to a Mr. Winslow, of Maine. The present Mrs. Rouse was born in 1855, and has proved of invaluable benefit to her husband in the treatment of cases. Pleasing in disposition, an agreeable companion and a welcome visitor to the sick room, she has shared very largely in the respect and esteem accorded her husband. She is a lady of intelligence and worth, having graduated from the normal school of her native town, Fredericton, N. B., Canada. She is of Scotch descent, her grandfather having been professor in Edinburgh University. Her father, William Anderson, is the recipient of a valuable gold medal given him as the best school-teacher in the Dominion of Canada. Dr. Rouse is a member of Orient Lodge No. 15, A. F. & A. M., of Thomaston, Me.
E. N. Royall, a self made man and one who merits the respect and esteem of all by his industry and perseverance, is a native of Carroll County, West Tenn., born October 17, 1836, and a son of Joseph A. and Ollie (Steel) Royall, the latter a daughter of John Arnold, of Virginia. After reaching manhood, Mr. E. N. Royall engaged in merchandising in his native State, and was there married to Miss Frances C. Ozier, daughter of Reuben Ozier, of Tennessee, formerly of North Carolina. Mr. and Mrs. Royall came to Clay County, Ark., in 1869, settling on a farm about two miles north of Boydsville, on what is known as "Big Creek," and a little later he was appointed assessor of the county, when it was first formed as Clayton County, and held this position two years. He was also the first sheriff here, serving a full term, and after two years was elected county and probate judge, in which office he remained four consecutive terms, or eight years. He has been agent for the St. Louis & Iron Mountain Railroad for the past ten years, and is still acting as such. He engaged in merchandising with James Blackshare, with whom he continued for three years, and was then in the same business with W. S. Blackshare for some time. When first coming to Clay County, Ark., with his family he had about $500 in money and a horse. He is now the owner of some 1,500 acres of land and has some good property in the village of Boydsville. To his marriage has been born one son, B. L. Royall, who has been sent to Cape Girardeau, Mo., and is also a graduate of the Commercial College of Lexington, Ky., and is now clerking in the store of A. L. Blackshare, of Boydsville. Mr. Royall is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Boydsville Lodge No. 75, and is a Democrat in politics.
James R. Scurlock, a successful and prominent merchant of Piggott, and the son of J. C. and Eliza (Davis) Scurlock, was born in Union County, Ill., February 27, 1863. J. C. Scurlock was a native of Illinois, where he grew to manhood and married Miss Davis, who was also a native of the same State. Mr. Scurlock was a prominent man of Union County, and held several local offices. He died January 1, 1872. Mrs. Scurlock died December 25, 1879. James R. Scurlock attained his growth in Union County, Ill., receiving a liberal education, and remained in Illinois until grown. He came to Arkansas in November, 1885, located at Piggott, and bought a mercantile house and has continued merchandising up to the present. He carries a stock of general merchandise, dry goods, hats, caps, queensware and glassware, and has built up a very good trade. In May, 1889, he formed a partnership and engaged also in the drug business. He was married in Illinois, Union County, July 19, 1888, to Miss Mary E. Lingle, a native of Union County, Ill., where she was reared and educated. She is a daughter of Moses Lingle. and a member of the Baptist Church.
Joseph F. Schneider, of the Arkansas Stave Works, was born in Clermont County, of the "Buckeye State," June 20, 1857, his parents being Adam and Anna (Weindle) Schneider, both of German nativity: Joseph F. Schneider remained with his father in his native county until twenty-one years of age, and in 1879 moved west to St. Louis, Mo., where he continued working at the cooper business for about six years. In 1886 he came to Greenway, Ark., and engaged in the manufacture of staves and headings, and has been manager of an established business ever since. This enterprise gives employment to from fifteen to twenty men, and the establishment ships from eighty to 100 cars of stock annually. The Arkansas Stave Works pays, on an average, $1,000 per month, for help and material. Mr. Schneider was married in St. Louis, Mo., May 15, 1883, to Miss Anna Schmitz, who was born, reared and educated in St. Louis, and is the daughter of Jacob Schmitz, of Union City, Tenn. Mr. and Mrs. Schneider have two children: Cecelia and Clarence. He and wife are members of the Catholic Church.
Dr. J. H. Seegraves, a prominent physician and leading citizen of Clay County, Ark., was born in Surry County, N. C., August 1, 1832, and is the son of Gilbra and Sarah (Wilson) Seegraves. Gilbra Seegraves was born in Virginia in 1800, of Scotch-Irish descent, and was a brick-mason and farmer by occupation. He immigrated to Macon County, Tenn., in 1839, and was one of the pioneers of that locality. In 1874 he removed to Arkansas, settling in Clay County, and there died May 27, 1887, in his seventy-seventh year. Sarah (Wilson) Seegraves was born in Ashe County, N. C., and was reared and married in that State. The nine children born to this union are named as follows: Louis, William, Maxwell, Samuel T., Henry, Gilbra, Sarah, Martha and John H. Mrs. Seegraves died December 31, 1885. Dr. J. H. Seegraves, the subject of this sketch, was principally reared in Tennessee, and had good school advantages. Later he studied for three years under I. M. Livingston, M. D., of Lafayette, Tenn., and then practiced in partnership with him for four years. About this time the war broke out, and he enlisted in the Federal army, as recruiting officer. There being vacancies to fill, he, among others, applied as assistant acting surgeon, of the United States army, which required a man to be a graduate of some reputable college. There were four who applied for the position, but three failed to pass. Dr. Seegraves claimed an examination, and passed with honor, and although not a graduate, was appointed to the place. His commission was as below: HEADQUARTERS DEPARTMENT TENN., MEDICAL DIRECTON'S OFFICE, NASHVILLE, TENN., September 21, 1865. Special Order 33:–Surgeon Thaddeus Donahue, One Hundred and Tenth United States Cavalry Troops, in charge of Post Hospital, Gallatin, Tenn., will be relieved of that charge without delay by Acting Assistant Surgeon J. H. Seegraves, United States Army, and return to duty with his regiment. He will turn over his property to his successor. By order of the Medical Director. JOHN E. McGUIRE, Assistant Surgeon, United States Volunteers. Following this Dr. Seegraves was ordered to report the sale of property without reporting to superior officers, a new departure in military affairs. He then took charge of the hospital, after the abandonment of which he received orders to sell and turn over the proceeds, which was done, thus showing his standing. Below may be found his discharge from duty, and his standing: PROPERTY DIVISION, SURGEON GENERAL'S OFFICE, WASHINGTON, D. C., May 1, 1866. Sir:–I am instructed by the Surgeon General to inform you that your returns of public property belonging to the Medical and Hospital department of the Army, for a period commencing September 22, 1865, and ending December 31, 1865, with vouchers thereto pertaining, have been examined in this office, and found to be correct, and finally settled. Relating to Gallatin, Tenn. Very respectfully, your obedient servant, W. C. SPENCER, Assistant Surgeon, U. S. A. Dr. Seegraves served in the medical department from 1864 until April 10, 1866, participating in the battle of Nashville, and was honorably discharged at Louisville. He then located in Illinois, began the practice of his profession, and was offered the position of chief surgeon of the West, but declined. Later he settled in Clinton County, Ill., practiced six years, then came to Arkansas, and settled in Clay County, where he has since practiced his profession. He is also engaged in the drug business, and is the local surgeon of the St. Louis, Arkansas & Texas Railroad, which is an honor held by few physicians. Dr. Seegraves is also president of the Clay County Medical Examining Board. He was married, in 1859, to Miss M. A. Atkerson, a native of Macon County, Tenn., and the daughter of John W. Atkerson, now a resident of Macon County, Tenn. To the Doctor and wife were born four children living: Lydia A., Ida L., John O. and Cora E. Those deceased were named Clara R., Ethel, J. O., and an infant. The Doctor and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. He is a member of the G. A. R. and I. O. O. F., joining the last-named organization in Gallatin, Tenn., while surgeon of the army, and while almost a stranger, being struck by the grandeur of a procession. He also belongs to the K. of H. Aside from his profession and the drug business, Dr. Seegraves is one of the prominent farmers of the county.
B. H. Sellmeyer & Bro., merchants of Knobel, Ark. This firm is composed of Bernard H. and Joseph Sellmeyer, who were born in Franklin County, Ind., in 1850 and 1862, respectively, and were the sons of John H. and Elizabeth (Bruggensmith) Sellmeyer, who were native Germans, and came to the United States, where they met and afterward married. The father is a tanner by trade, and is the owner of a tannery at Oldenburg, Ind., which is managed by his eldest son, John. Our subjects attended school in Oldenburg until a somewhat advanced age, then following clerking in theirfather's store. Bernard continued until about 1870, when he went to St. Louis and clerked in a store in that city for five years, later engaging in the grocery business for himself, which he continued until 1880, since which time he has resided in Knobel, Ark. He first engaged as a contractor in furnishing ties for the Knobel & Helena Branch of the Iron Mountain Railroad, in partnership with Crawford & Lintz, and in about eight months furnished 350,000, and during this time also did some grading on the White River Branch of that railroad. In the fall of 1881 he started the first store in Knobel, and it was practically the only store in the place for about four years. In 1884 he was joined by his brother Joseph, and they formed their present partnership, and in connection with their store they are extensively interested in the timber business, making a specialty of piling, staves and ties, which industry gives employment to forty or fifty men. They are now about to erect a cotton-gin and saw-mill, and owing to the erection of the former, the farmers have been encouraged to increase their cotton crop at least 400 per cent, which will prove of great benefit to the county. In 1882 Bernard Sellmeyer was appointed third postmaster of Knobel, and held the position several years, and in 1888 Joseph became postmaster, and is holding the office at the present time. Since 1884 Bernard H. has held the office of justice of the peace. In 1886 Joseph Sellmeyer returned to Oldenburg, Ind., and accepted the position of secretary of the St. Joseph Western Mill, of Oldenburg, in which his father is an extensive stockholder. In September, 1888, he was married to Miss Dinah Damhus, a native of Indiana, and a daughter of Bernard and Philema Damhus, who reside in that State. The Sellmeyer brothers own over 2,000 acres of land, more than half of which is excellent farming land and susceptible of a high state of cultivation. They have about 100 acres under cultivation, and are constantly opening up new land, and their enterprise and energy form a commendable example to the citizens of the county.
Edward Silverberg, M. D., a physician and farmer of Clay County, Ark., was born in Columbia, Marion County, Miss., in 1829, and is the second of four children of Johnson and Sarah (Jones) Silverberg, who were born in Holland and Georgia, respectively. When about sixteen years of age the father emigrated to the United States, and soon after engaged in mercantile business in Columbia, Miss., where he remained twelve years, then removing to Canton, Miss., where he resumed business in 1833, continuing until his death in 1838. He and wife were married in 1825, the latter being a daughter of one of the early pioneers of Mississippi. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and participated in the battle of New Orleans. Dr. Edward Silverberg received his education in the common schools and the Masonic College at La Grange, Ky., leaving the latter institution at the age of eighteen years. He was engaged in clerking for two years and then began the study of medicine, graduating from the Medical University of Louisville, Ky., in 1855, and entered upon the practice of his profession in Jessamine County, Ky. He then spent one year in Columbus, Ky., two years in Louisiana, and came to Helena in 1858, where he was in the drug business, and from that time until 1861 resided in Helena. In May, 1862, he entered the Southern army as medical purveyor under Gen. Hindman, who had command of the Trans-Mississippi department, and later was under Gen. Holmes, and was stationed with his office at Little Rock, Ark. In 1864 he resigned this office and entered the field as adjutant of what was known as Dobbins' brigade, being in the battle of Big Creek, near Helena, and in a raid south; was with Price on his raid through Missouri, and took part in the battles at Iron Mountain, Big Blue, Kansas City and Fort Scott, then fell back to Benton County, Ark., and was in his last battle at Fayetteville, in the winter of 1864. The army was here divided and the Doctor's command was sent to Northeast Arkansas, and in the winter of that year the command started to Mexico with Gen. Shelby. He was taken sick at San Antonio, Texas, and, after the final surrender, returned to Kentucky. He was married in 1856 to Miss Sallie Lockart, a native of Pennsylvania, by whom he became the father of three children: Sallie L., wife of Judge J. F. Humphries, clerk of the court at Helena, Ark.; Edward, who is married and resides with his father, and Ida, who died in infancy. In the spring of 1858 the Doctor brought his family to Arkansas and settled in Helena, where he was in the drug business when the war came on. In 1873, after coming to Northeast Arkansas, and practicing for a short time at Pocahontas, he went to Poplar Bluff, Mo., but returned to Corning, Ark., in 1876, remaining here six years, since which time he has lived at Knobel and Peach Orchard. In 1885 he bought a tract of land one-half mile south of Knobel, and on this farm he has since resided and made many . He raises considerable stock and has an excellent stallion for breeding purposes. In partnership with his son he is extensively engaged in the timber business, shipping staves, stave bolts and piling, and making cross ties. He takes an active part in politics, and has held the office of postmaster at Peach Orchard three years, and at Knobel about the same length of time. At both these places he carries on general merchandising. He is chairman of the County Democratic Convention, and was a delegate to the Congressional Convention at Helena in 1888. He takes quite an interest in the culture of fruit, and his orchard consists of 300 peach trees, fifty pear, fifty plum, twenty-five cherry and 200 apple trees, all of which are doing well, and those that are bearing show excellent fruit. His son, Edward L., was married to Miss Annie Ratcliffe, a daughter of Hon. T. J. and Huldah A. Ratcliffe. The father was a noted lawyer and politician of this section and held the office of State senator. He died in 1881, but his widow still survives him and resides on the old homestead, one and a half miles west of Peach Orchard.
G. W. Simmons, M. D., whose face is familiar in the homes of the sick and afflicted of this county, was born in Halifax County, N. C., in 1827, and is the son of Jesse H. Simmons, whose father, John Simmons, was a native of Scotland. Jesse H. Simmons married Miss Nancy B. Whitaker, also a native of North Carolina, and the daughter of James Whitaker. Her grandfather, John Whitaker, was a native of North Carolina and was a colonel of some note in the Revolutionary War, as was also John Bradford, Mrs. Simmons' maternal grandfather. Gov. John Branch, of North Carolina, who was secretary of the navy in the cabinet of President Jackson, was a cousin of Mrs. Simmons. The Whitaker family was one of the most illustrious in the State. G. W. Simmons moved to Wayne County, Tenn., at the age of seventeen, and later was married to Miss Martha J. Gee. daughter of Thomas Gee, of English and Welsh parentage. He then entered the office of Dr. T. L. Carter, where he studied medicine, and a few years later opened an office, but in 1856 came to [p.245] Clay County, and formed a partnership with Thomas J. Harris, at Oak Bluff, near where Rector now stands, and was the leading physician of the county. The partnership continued for three years when Dr. Simmons opened up business for himself, as his partner had entered the Confederate army. Since that time the Doctor has had the greatest practice of any physician in the county, and says that after an experience of thirty-three years, he can truthfully say it is an error to make the statement that this is an unhealthy country. In his earlier practice, when people were very poorly housed and very little attention was paid to the laws of health, they suffered from ill health, but just in proportion to their improvement did they become healthier. The Doctor's own family, consisting of six robust children, is evidence enough of the salutary condition of the country, and nowhere is to be found a better specimen of young manhood than William H. Simmons, who is clerking in his father's store. Dr. Simmons, by his first wife, was the father of six children, all of whom are now living: Jesse, married, has three children, and resides near his father; Alice married G. W. Webb, who is now living near Oak Bluff, is a carpenter, and they have three children; Ella married James Merriwether, son of Dr. Merriwether, of Paragould, and has two children; William H. is at home with his father and attends the store; Charles lives with his father and attends to the farm, and Mary married W. E. Spence, now circuit clerk of the county, whose sketch appears in another part of this volume. Dr. Simmons married Miss Carrie M. Lavender, of Rector, who came from Georgia when a girl, with her sister and brother-in-law, H. B. Cox. Her father, James Lavender, was a native of Georgia, and her mother, Malinda (Ansley) Lavender, was of Irish extraction. The Doctor takes an active part in politics and votes the Democratic ticket, as do his two sons who are old enough to vote. He is a member of the Methodist Protestant Church, and is a Royal Arch Mason, having passed through all the chairs in that order, and for six years was District Deputy Grand Master of the State. He has done much for the benefit of the county in which he lives, has built several of the finest houses in the vicinity, and is now engaged in the general merchandise business, having one of the best selected stocks in the town, valued at from $1,500 to $4,000. When the Doctor first settled in the county very little attention was paid to education, but whisky was considered the staff of life and was sold at every crossroads. Now a school-house takes the place at the cross-roads and the whisky seller receives a limited amount of patronage.
A. R. Simpson, M. D., physician and surgeon, was born in Lawrence County, S. C., August 25, 1860, being a son of D. D. and E. A. (Harris) Simpson, who were also born in the "Palmetto State," the father being a merchant and farmer by occupation. They are both living and reside in their native State. The following are their children: J. H., of Mississippi; Sallie R. (Blakely), T. S., R. I. (Janes), P. A. and Dr. A. R. The paternal grandparents were born in Ireland, and at an early day emigrated to America, locating in South Carolina, where they spent the rest of their days, and died when very old. Dr. A. R. Simpson is the youngest of his parents' children, and his youth was spent in attending school and assisting on the home farm. At the age of sixteen years he began the study of medicine, and in September, 1879, entered the University of Baltimore, Md., in 1881 entering as a student the Louisville (Ky.) Medical College, from which institution he was graduated in March, 1882, being one of seventeen who graduated with honors out of a class of 115. He began practicing his profession in Lawrence County, S. C., and remained until 1884, when he went to Marshall County, Miss., but only continued here one year. In April, 1885, he came to Corning. Ark., where he has since resided, and has built up a large and lucrative practice. He is very public spirited and is ever ready to advance any good cause. He was married in October, 1886, to Miss Winnie D. Whitehead, of Crystal Springs, Miss., and by her has one child, Perry O. Dr. and Mrs. Simpson are members of the Presbyterian Church.
J. B. Smith is a planter and stockman of Kilgore Township,
Clay County. It is a remarkable fact that the majority of those men of Kentucky
birth, who have become residents of Clay County, have been peculiarly successful
in the accumulation of worldly goods, and are considered superior farmers, and
Mr. Smith is but another example of this truth. He was born in Calloway County,
Ky., September 14, 1849, his parents, Gabriel and Agnes (Shotwell) Smith, being
natives of Kentucky and Ohio, respectively. The father was an honest tiller of
the soil, and remained in the State of his birth until 1861, when he removed to
Randolph County, Ark. (now Clay County), and opened a farm in Cache Township, on
which he resided until his death in 1881, followed by his excellent widow two
years later. Jasper B. Smith, the subject of this sketch, was brought up as a
farmer's boy, and has ever devoted himself to that calling, and with a
perseverance and industry which could not fail of favorable results. At the age
of twenty years he began depending on his own resources to obtain a livelihood,
and made his first purchase of land in 1875, which consisted of eighty acres
near Black River. This farm he improved greatly, then sold it and bought his
present farm of 160 acres, seventy being under cultivation, and forty of that
being devoted to the culture of cotton. His attractive farm is especially fitted
for the raising of stock, which occupation receives a fair portion of his
attention, and his out buildings are all in excellent condition. He has always
voted the Democratic ticket, and socially is a member of the Orient Lodge, at
Corning, and the Agricultural Wheel. He was married in Arkansas on the 14th of
March, 1869, to Miss Harriet Pitcock, a native of Tennessee, whose parents moved
to Arkansas during the war; by her he is the father of these children: Nancy
Ella (Mrs. Park), William Hastings, James Caswell, Marcus Vain, Bert, Enola,
Ernest and Joseph G. and Elgin Eugene, both of whom died at the age of one year.
Mr. Smith received poor school advantages in his youth, but knowing the value of
a good education has given his children excellent opportunities for acquiring
learning. He and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. He has been
remarkably healthy, never having had to call a physician on his own account.
William E. Spence, circuit clerk of Clay County, also county clerk and probate court clerk, was born in Wilcox County, Ala., and is the son of Rev. Spence and wife, nee Evelyn McNiel, and the grandson, on the mother's side, of Hector McNiel. of Camden, who was of Scotch descent. Rev. Spence was a native of Tennessee, and moved to Alabama when a young man, where he married Miss McNiel. In 1876 he settled with his family in Greene County, Ark., where he remained for about one year, and then moved to what was known as Oak Bluff, locating about a mile north of the town, where he taught school. He was also a preacher in the Presbyterian Church, having been ordained about the time he moved to Alabama. He was of English descent. William E. Spence accompanied his parents to Greene County, and always attended school to his father until he attended the Commercial College, at Lexington, Ky., from which institution he graduated the same year. After this he took a position as book-keeper and salesman with the firm of Tatum & Bragg, of Malden, Mo., where he remained for about two years, or until the firm stopped business. He then went to work at the same occupation for I. Harris & Co., also of that place, remained about a year, and then came to Boydsville, where he is now located, and accepted a position with W. S. Blackshare & Co. He remained with this company for about a year, when he engaged in mercantile business for himself, thus continuing until elected to his present office. He then closed out his trade, and now devotes his whole time to his official duties. He was first married to Miss Dora Pollock, who bore him one child, which died with its mother in 1884. Mr. Spencer's second marriage was to Miss Mary Simmons, daughter of Dr. G. W. Simmons, of Boydsville, in December, 1888. Mr. Spencer is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is also a member of the K. of H. While modest and unassuming in his demeanor, he is endowed with those very rare qualities of good sense and good judgment, which, together with his genial and pleasing manners, not only fit him for any position to which he may be elected, but congregate around him many warm friends.
Charles Stokes, farmer and mechanic of Haywood Township, Clay County, Ark., was born in Winston County, Ala., October 31, 1840, being a son of William Stokes, who was born in Georgia, and was reared in Warren County, Tenn. He was married in that State, and afterward moved to Alabama, where he farmed for a number of years and then came to Ark., locating in this State about 1877, his death occurring in February, 1884. Charles Stokes was reared in the State of Alabama, and made his home with his father until November 27, 1861, when he married Susan Smith, a native of Tennessee, who was reared in Alabama. and in August of the following year moved to Illinois, locating in Massac County. He resided in this and Pope Counties until the spring of 1868, when he moved to Arkansas, arriving on the 5th of April of that year. A short time afterward he homesteaded 120 acres, then bought 120, and has since increased his acreage to 600, all of which is in Mrs. Stokes' name. About 100 acres are under cultivation. They have a good residence, two good barns and an excellent orchard. Mr. Stokes has served as justice of the peace for about six years, and has been a member of the school board a number of years. He has filled several of the chairs in the Masonic fraternity, and is a member of the Agricultural Wheel. In addition to his farming he has been doing considerable mechanical work, such as wagon repairing, blacksmithing, carpentering, etc. He and wife are the parents of the following children: J. R., A. J., J. H., F. M., T. A., Queen C., Pearlie and Nancy A. Two children died in infancy.
Henry Swift was born in Orange County, N. Y., July 29, 1843, and is a son of John and Jane (Weloh) Swift, who were born in Nottingham, England, the former's birth occurring in 1815. His father, William Swift, was a postman, and carried the mail from Longar to Elton, a distance of four and a half miles, making two trips per day, and in fifty-three years service did not lose one day's time. John Swift served as a private in the Crimean War, and was in the siege of Sebastopol, being one of the only two surviving members of his camp. He died in 1882, having been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. and a well-to-do land holder. His wife was also a member of the Methodist Church, and in 1843 came to the United States, locating in New York State, but returned to England the same year, and died there in October, 1846. Henry Swift lived with his grandfather until his eleventh year, and received a good common school education in the schools of Longar. He then made a trip to the United States, and after living three years in York State returned to England and again attended school. Eleven years later he came again to the United States, and lived with an uncle in Jo Daviess County, Ill., for about three years, later working out and residing among the farmers in that county for two years more, attending school during the winter and doing farm work in the summer months. While the war was going on he traveled over the States of Minnesota and Wisconsin, and at the close of hostilities began working on the Mississippi River, being engaged in the construction of the Belleville Railroad, continuing such work until 1873, when he came to Arkansas. He was occupied in farming in Randolph County until 1885, since which time he has been a resident of Clay County, and owns 280 acres of fertile land, eighty-three of which are under cultivation, although all could be easily put under improvement. It was heavily covered with timber, but is now furnished with good buildings and fences. He gives much attention to breeding Poland China hogs, and is a thrifty and successful farmer and stockman. He was among the first to demonstrate the fact that swamp and overflowed land could be tilled as profitably as the sand ridges, and seven or eight of his neighbors have followed his example and now possess comfortable homes of their own. He is active in school matters, is a Mason, and in his political views is a Democrat. He was first married February 7, 1879, to Miss Malinda Smart, a daughter of Lemuel and Jane Smart, of Arkansas and by her became the father of two children: Laura, who died at the age of fifteen months, and an infant, deceased. His wife died in 1882, and he took for his second wife, in 1884. Miss Retta Boyd, a daughter of William Boyd, of Shannon County, Mo. She died quite suddenly in February, 1885, having borne one daughter: Henrietta, who was born on the 22d of March, 1883.
Dr. C. C. Symonds. There are always, in the profession of
which this gentleman is a member, some individuals who become eminent and
command a large patronage, and among these deserving of especial recognition is
Dr. Symonds, who is a skillful physician and surgeon. He was born in Cayuga
County, N. Y., February 15, 1829, and was the fourth in a family of five
children born to the marriage of Shubel Symonds and Mary Baker, natives of Rhode
Island. They were early pioneers of Syracuse, N. Y., where the father followed
tilling the soil, and resided for a number of years. He died in Allegany County,
of the same State, in 1853, at the age of seventy-six years. His excellent widow
still survives him, and resides at Flora, Ill., having reached the advanced age
of ninety-three years. Dr. C. C. Symonds attended the common schools of Cayuga
County, and after attaining a suitable age, began the study of medicine. May 4,
1832, he was married to Miss Sally Ann Sawyer, and soon after moved to Allegany
County, N. Y., and in 1857 to Clay County, Ill., where he practiced medicine,
and was also engaged in merchandising and shipping grain. In 1878 he emigrated
to Corning, Clay County, Ark., where he has since been devoting his time to the
practice of medicine and surgery. He assisted in incorporating Corning, and has
been one of the foremost men in building up the town, being now a member of the
city council. He has always been interested in educational advancement, and is
independent in his religious views. He has never been very active in politics,
but casts his vote with the Republican party. He owns a good farm in the western
division of Clay County, besides other property. He and wife are the parents of
the following children: Harriet (Mrs. Loppins),residing in Clay County, Ark.;
Amanda (Mrs. Marrow), residing in Madison County, Ind.; Ida (Mrs. Noble Stacey),
whose husband is a druggist at Du Quoin, and Marenous, who is married and
resides with his parents. Mrs. Symonds was born in Cayuga County, N. Y., and is
a daughter of Ebenezer and Laura (Smith) Sawyer, also natives of New York State.
The father was a sturdy tiller of the soil, and remained in his native State
until his death, in 1854, his wife having died in1844. The Doctor has three
brothers: Syrenous, who is married and resides in Cortland County, N. Y.,
seventy-three years of age; John S., who is married and lives at Flora, Ill., of
which place he is a prominent resident (he represented his county in the State
legislature, and is now inspector of the Southern Asylum), and Marenous, who
resides in Sedgwick County, Kas., near Wichita, and is engaged in farming.
R. I. Taylor is a native of Henry County, West Tenn., and was born on the 9th of April, 1839, his parents being John and Sarah (Carey) Taylor, the father a native of West Tennessee and the mother of South Carolina. The paternal grandfather was a Virginian by birth, the maternal grandfather having come originally from South Carolina. John Taylor emigrated from Tennessee to what is now Clay County, Ark., about 1852, coming in a wagon drawn by an ox team, and settled on the farm now owned by Robert Hawthorne, in Carpenter Township, where he made improvements and resided until about 1859. Then he removed to Howell County, Mo., and died there in 1866. His wife died in Stoddard County, Mo., on her way to Arkansas. To them were born four children R. I. Taylor being the third in order of birth. He was but thirteen years of age when he came to this State, and received only limited educational advantages as there were but few settlers and no schools in the country at that time. Such knowledge of books as he possesses was obtained at home by self application. In the spring of 1861 he enlisted in Company F, Seventh Arkansas Regiment, and served until the close of the war, being a participant in the battles of Shiloh, Perryville, Murfreesboro, Mission Ridge and several hard skirmishes. He was wounded by a gun shot in the left arm at Shiloh, which has nearly ruined the use of that member, and was also wounded by a gun-shot at Murfreesboro, but soon recovered as it was merely a flesh wound. He served as second sergeant and was paroled in 1865. He returned to Clay County, and about 1872 located on his present farm, which consists of 200 acres of land, with some sixty-five acres under cultivation. He raises corn principally, and gives considerable attention to stock. Having followed farming all his life he is thoroughly acquainted with its varied features. In 1867 he was married to Rebecca Howell, a native of Missouri, by whom he has three children: John, Lewis and Alma. By his second wife, whose maiden name was Annie Heath, he had two children: Rosa, living, and Rosella L., who is deceased. Mr. Taylor is a well-respected pioneer of Clay County, having resided here since the time when not more than a half dozen families were within miles of him. He has aided very materially in the advance and progress of the community.
Daniel D. Throgmorton, who is classed among the respected farmers and stock-raisers of Clay County, Ark., was born on a farm in Henry County, Tenn., January 20, 1850, and is the son of James W. Throgmorton, a native of North Carolina. James W. Throgmorton was reared in Tennessee, and was there married to Miss Eleanor Pollard, also of North Carolina nativity. After marriage he resided in Henry County, Tenn., until 1869, when he came to Arkansas and settled in Clay County, where he died June 18, 1876.His wife had died in Tennessee in 1866. Daniel D.Throgmorton grew to manhood in Henry County, Tenn., came toArkansas in 1870, and later spent three years in Dunklin County, Mo. In 1874 he settled on the place where he now lives, and bought raw land, which he has since cleared, and the town of Piggott is laid out on his land. Mr. Throgmorton has about ninety acres, with some forty acres under good cultivation. He was married first in Dunklin County, Mo., February 15, 1878, to a widow, Mrs. Amanda E. Lively, who died May 23, 1883. Mr. Throgmorton was married in Clay County, Ark., December 27, 1883, to Miss Nancy B. Featherston, a native of Tennessee, who was reared in Dyer County, and a niece of his first wife. This last union resulted in the birth of three children: Thomas Edward, born November 24, 1884, and Nora B., born September 26, 1888. They lost one child, L. Ora, who died October 15, 1887, at the age of thirteen months. Mr. Throgmorton has been elected to and held the office of justice of the peace for twelve consecutive years, and has also filled other local positions. Mrs. Throgmorton is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
John Tisdial, a farmer residing near Corning, Ark., was born in Marshall County, Ky., July 22, 1837, and is a son of Sherrill and Julia (Casinger) Tisdial, who were also Kentuckians, and of German descent. The paternal grandfather, John, was an early settler of Kentucky, and there reared six children and resided until his death. Sherrill Tisdial was reared and educated in his native State and in 1838 emigrated to what is now Clay County. Ark., making the toilsome journey in wagons. He erected a little log cabin at Rockfield, weighted down with poles, in which he resided a few years, then locating one mile below on the river. In the winter of 1866 he was thrown from a horse and killed. He was an extensive stock dealer, and was leading a steer when he became fast in the rope. During the war he lost heavily, as all his stock was taken from him by the soldiers. His widow is still living, being in her seventy-fourth year. They were the parents of thirteen children, twelve of whom grew to maturity and six of whom are living at the present time: John, Frank, Monroe, Elizabeth, Ellen and Margaret. John Tisdial was an infant when brought to Arkansas, and from earliest boyhood has had the welfare of his adopted county at heart. In his youth the country was nothing but a wilderness, with a few scattering log cabins long distances apart, and he assisted his father in clearing their farm and remained with him until he attained his majority. Although there were no schools at that time he applied himself to such books as came in his way, and became a well educated man. After his marriage in 1860 he moved to a place of his own, and in the spring of 1864 came to his present farm, which consists of 160 acres, eighty being under cultivation. He was married to Miss Polly Harriet, a native of Missouri, and by her became the father of five children: William J., Euphemia D., Julia A., John, and one deceased. He took for his second wife Miss Fannie Leslie, who has borne him two children: Daniel H. and Thomas A. His third marriage was to Miss Long, who has borne him three children: Avey and Noverller living, and Bertha deceased. In 1863 Mr. Tisdial enlisted in Company E, Second Missouri Cavalry, and served until September 15, 1863, when he was discharged on account of disability, and remained in the hospital until convalescent. On entering the army he weighed 175 pounds in his stocking feet, but on coming out only weighed ninety pounds. In 1864 he took his family away from Arkansas, though he returned in 1866 and has since lived here.
Marion J. Tucker, merchant and postmaster at Greenway, Clay County, Ark., was born in Nashville, Tenn., November 14, 1844, his father, Col. Thomas J. Tucker, being a native of Virginia. Upon remaining in the "Old Dominion" until a young man, the father went to Tennessee, where he was married to Nancy Nance, of that State, and after residing in Nashville, Tenn., for several years, moved to Haywood County, Tenn., where he became the owner of a plantation, and lived until his death, his wife having died some time before. He was a colonel of militia, and was a prominent and well-known man in his day. Marion J. Tucker grew to manhood in Haywood County, and when the war broke out, in 1861, he enlisted in the Confederate service, Ninth Tennessee Infantry, and served until captured at Chickamauga, and was held a prisoner of war until the close of the conflict, most of the time at Indianapolis. He was at first in Nashville, Tenn., and was placed with 115 others in the top story of the Maxwell House, which broke through with them, and he and the others were carried clear to the basement. Mr. Tucker was badly wounded, and had one leg and an arm broken. After remaining in the hospital until convalescent, he was sent to Indianapolis. He was in the engagements at Belmont, Chickamauga, Murfreesboro and several others. After the close of the war he returned to his home in West Tennessee, and was
married, in Lauderdale County, January 9, 1866, to Mary Jane Chambers, a native of Tennessee and a daughter of Thomas Chambers. After following mercantile pursuits in Alamo. Tenn., for one year, he, in 1867, moved to Lauderdale County, there being engaged in farming up to 1874. when he sold out and located in Clay County. Ark., purchasing a farm and engaging in tilling the soil, also following the occupation of merchandising. He established a postoffice at that point, of which he became postmaster in 1878. He continued this business until 1887, then gave the management of affairs into the hands of his son, and moved to Greenway, where he built a store and put in a stock of general merchandise. He has a general stock of goods, and in connection with this also owns and conducts a livery barn. Since September, 1888, he has held the office of postmaster of Greenway. He is a Master Mason, and is a deacon in the Missionary Baptist Church.January 20. 1889, his wife died, leaving him with a family of nine children: Edgar M., Columbus, Laura. Gaston, Wittie, Clyde, Lily, Luther and Lola. Mr. Tucker owns two farms in Clay County, amounting to about 300 acres, and has some 175 acres under cultivation. He married his present wife, a Mrs. Annie Gault, May 12, 1889. She was born in Illinois.
Dr. Wiley V. Turner, a retired physician and farmer of Greenway, Ark., was born in Humphreys County, Tenn., May 19, 1836, his father. Wiley Turner, being a native of South Carolina. He was reared in Wilson County, Tenn., and was married in Davidson County to Miss Maria Thompson, who was born near Nashville. He served in the War of 1812 under Jackson, and was at the battle of New Orleans, dying in Humphreys County. Dr. Turner grew to manhood in that county and until he attained his majority made his home with his father. He received a good practical education in Waverly Academy, and when twenty years of age commenced the study of medicine under Dr. Ellis, taking his first course of lectures in the winters of 1858-59 and 1859-60, in the University of Nashville, graduating from that institution in the spring of the latter year. He then practiced his profession in Houston County until the opening of the war, and in the fall of 1862 enlisted as a private in the Fiftieth Tennessee Infantry, Confederate [p.251] States Army. He was soon after detailed as assistant surgeon, and served in this capacity until 1864, when he left the army and returned home and resumed practice. Here he remained until 1871, when he removed to Clay County, Ark., and continued the practice of his profession for nine years. About 1875 he was appointed postmaster of Clayville, and in 1878 became the first postmaster of Greenway. He kept a stock of general merchandise at his residence, and continued for one year after the location of the town of Greenway, when he moved his store to about one-half mile from his residence. He has also been engaged in farming for a number of years. August 4, 1864, he was married, in Tennessee, to Miss Louisa Skelton, a native of Tennessee, and a daughter of A. B. Skelton. The Doctor and his wife have four children: James, Joseph, Charles and Robert. Minnie was the wife of B. B. Biffle, and died in December, 1884. The Doctor and his wife are members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, in which he is a ruling elder, and he belongs to the Masonic fraternity.
Wright Ward was born in Webster, Hancock County, Ill., July 18, 1849, and is a son of Zebediah and Arzilla (Wright) Ward, natives, respectively, of New York and Tennessee, the former's birth occurring on the 23d of March, 1816, in New York City. When a child he removed with his parents to Dearborn County, Ind., where he grew to manhood. and then located in Hancock County, Ill., where he apprenticed himself to the wagon-maker's trade. which calling has received his attention up to the present time. He is a Democrat, and he and wife are members of the Christian Church. Their children are Wright, a farmer and mechanic; Lorinda, who lives in Carthage, Ill., and Mark, a farmer residing in Northeast Missouri. Wright Ward was married in Illinois, on the 1st of May, 1878, to Miss Elizabeth L. Pryor, a daughter of Lewis R. and Hannah J. Pryor, natives of Hancock County, Ill., and by her he has one child, Cora L., born October 21, 1874. Mr. Ward moved with his family to Marion County. Mo., in 1875, and in 1879 to Randolph County, Ark., where he rented land and farmed for four years, then coming to Clay County, Ark., where he purchased a tract of land containing 200 acres. He has fifteen acres under cultivation. He has a good young orchard, and substantial fences and buildings, and is preparing to erect a new residence. He is a Democrat, is active in his support of schools and churches, and is an industrious farmer.
W. H. Watts, hotel-keeper at Boydsville, was born in Humphreys County, Tenn., in 1846, where he remained until after the war, although during that eventful period he joined Gen. Forrest's cavalry and participated in the battles of Athens, Ala., Johnsonville, Tenn., Paducah, Ky., Fort Pillow, Parker's Cross Roads, Gun Town, and was on the Hood raid from Florence, Ala., to Nashville, Tenn. He was in thirteen fights, among which was the Franklin fight, where fully one-third of the men in the company and regiment were lost, and in the Nashville fight, after which a retreat was made to Florence, Ala., continued skirmishing being experienced. During this time Mr. Watts had his clothes riddled with bullets, and his hat rim shot away in pieces, but he miraculously escaped without injury to himself. He was discharged in Mississippi, and sent to Nashville, Tenn., where he took the oath of allegiance to the United States. He was offered $100 in gold by the officers to go to Texas and not to Nashville. He then returned to Humphreys County, Tenn., where he remained about two years, after which he moved to Graves County, Ky., where he engaged in agricultural pursuits for about seven years. In 1868 Miss L. F. Simpson, daughter of D. M. Simpson, became his wife, and, in the spring of 1874, they moved to Clay County, Ark., and settled where Boydsville now stands. At that time the county seat question was not
settled, but the object was to have it at Boydsville, and Mr. Watts built the first house on the ground. He lived in one part of this house and sold goods in the other, thus continuing until the fall, when he gave it up for the county records, built a log house and resided in that a number of years. In 1878 the county erected the building at present used as the county court-house. Mr. Watts now owns the house, a large frame one, which he and Judge Holifield built in 1876, and he has bought and sold several farms in this locality. To his marriage were born four children, two of whom were born in Kentucky, and three are now living. They are named as follows: Laura C., wife of C. B. Johns, and the mother of two children, now resides in Boydsville, where her husband is engaged in the stock breeding business; William H. and Albert Sidney. Mr. Watts is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and also a member of the K. of H., and he and wife belong to the Primitive Baptist Church.
H. J. Weindel, manufacturer of all kinds of staves, headings, also lumber and cooperage stock in general, always carries a large stock, and has on hand from 4,000,000 to 5,000,000 staves. He runs the largest factory in Northeast Arkansas, and pays out about $5,000 per month for labor. The factory was organized by L Weindel and L. Wirthlin, in 1862, at St. Louis, and just at the completion of the Iron Mountain Road was moved to Corning, where in 1883 the name was changed to the Southern Cooperage Company. Mr. Weindel was superintendent of the company from 1881 to 1885, after which he purchased the business from the Southern Cooperage Company, and has had charge of it since that time. He has a large and extensive trade, and has made the business what it is by upright and honest dealing. He was born in Bavaria, Germany, July 9, 1861, and is the only son born to the union of John and Mary (Brobst) Weindel, also natives of Bavaria, Germany. The parents moved to St. Louis in 1882, but in the same year came to Corning, and here the mother died in 1882. The father is still living. H. J. Weindel came to this country in 1880, first settling in St. Louis, attended college, and there learned the English language. Prior to this he had received a thorough education in Europe, had taught school, was also a teacher of music, and held an excellent position. He came to Corning, Ark., in 1881, not with the intention of remaining, but being so thoroughly satisfied with the country, concluded to stay. He was married at Corning, in 1886, to Miss Jessie McKay, a native of Illinois, and the daughter of William and Mattic (Knowlen) McKay, the father a native of Scotland, and the mother of Alabama. Mr. and Mrs. McKay came to this country at an early day, locating in Illinois, and in 1880 moved to Corning, Ark. The father died in the spring of 1882, but the mother is still living, and resides in Corning. After marriage Mr. Weindel settled where he now lives, and there he has since lived. He has always taken an active interest in building up the town, and in all enterprises pertaining to the good of the country. He is not particularly active in politics, but votes with the Republican party. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church. To his union with Miss McKay were born two children, one living, named Hermina. The one deceased was Winifred.
Joseph Whitaker is one of Clay County's most prosperous
farmers and stockmen. His birth occurred in Crawford County, Penn., in 1838, he
being the second of a family of ten children born to the marriage of John
Whitaker and Euphemia Ann Johnson, originally from New York State. After their
marriage in their native State, they immediately moved to Crawford County,
Penn., where they bought land and were engaged in farming for about fifteen
years, then purchasing land in Erie County, twenty miles from the city of Erie.
Here the father is still living, but the mother died in 1882. Joseph Whitaker
attended school until he was about nineteen years of age, and on the 6th of May,
1861, enlisted in Company D, First Pennsylvania Rifle Regiment, which was known
in the field as the "Old Buck-tail Regiment." He was in the First Army
Corps, and was assigned to the Army of the Potomac, participating in the battles
of Drainsville, the Peninsula Campaign, Second Bull Run. South Mountain.
Antietam, Fredericksburg. Gettysburg, and was with Grant until the battle of
Cold Harbor, which was the last combat in which he took part. He received his
discharge on the 4th of July, 1864, and was mustered out at Harrisburg, but soon
after re-enlisted in the service, joining the Ninety-eighth Pennsylvania Veteran
Volunteers, and was sent to the front after Johnston, in North Carolina. When
the latter surrendered, he returned to Washington, D. C., but was mustered out
at Philadelphia. [p.253] After returning home he went to Warren County, Penn.,
where he was engaged in the lumber business for some time, and operated two
sawmills. In 1883 he sold out and came to Clay County, Ark., and bought eighty
acres in what is now the village of Knobel, being occupied in sawing lumber for
a mill company from Burlington, Iowa. There were no improvements whatever on his
land, but Mr. Whitaker immediately erected a comfortable house and
out-buildings, and cleared about twenty-five acres, which are under cultivation.
He has a good young orchard. He has sold considerable of his land for town lots,
and during his residence here has taken considerable interest in raising the
grade of stock, and in December, 1888, imported two registered Durham cattle, a
cow and a bull, which are the only registered animals in Clay County. He was
married, in 1866, to Miss Elizabeth Searl, a native of England, and an estimable
lady, who died in February, 1886, having borne the following children: Richard,
in the employ of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, his headquarters being at
Jefferson City, Mo., and Adelle, a young lady who manages her father's household
Elvis B. Whitehorn, a successful fruit grower and farmer of Clay County. Ark., was born September 30, 1846, in Carroll County, Tenn., being a son of Jacob H., who was born in Virginia, May 13, 1815, and grandson of George Whitehorn, also born in Virginia, his birth occurring October 17, 1779. The latter moved with his family to Tennessee in 1829, being among the pioneers of Carroll County, and when the War of 1812 broke out he enlisted and served throughout that struggle. Jacob H. Whitehorn grew to manhood in Carroll County, but was married in Humphreys County, to Miss Keziah A. Petty, a native of Tennessee. They resided in that State, near Huntington, until their respective deaths, and there reared their family. The father's death occurred in 1878. Elvis B. Whitehorn remained with his father until about eighteen years of age and August 4, 1864, enlisted in the Twelfth Tennessee Cavalry, Company M, serving until he received his discharge October 7, 1865; he participated in the fight at Pulaski, and was with Hood on his thirteen days' raid, being in the battle of Franklin. After this battle he was in the hospital a short time, and was then sent to the Kansas frontier, being discharged at Fort Leavenworth. After returning home he resumed farming, and August 11, 1867, was married in Carroll County, to Miss Pearlie Williams, who was born, reared and educated in Carroll County. Mr. Whitehorn is a carpenter by trade, and was engaged in house carpentering and railroad bridge building for a number of years. In the winter of 1880 he moved to Arkansas, and located on his present home farm consisting of 200 acres, about 100 of which are under cultivation. Besides this he owns 80 acres more. He has a comfortable home and substantial buildings for his stock and grain, and has an orchard consisting of 3,000 peach trees, 400 apple trees, and also many plum and cherry trees. He raises strawberries in abundance. The year following his arrival here he engaged in railroading, being employed on the construction of the "Cotton Belt" Line for about thirteen months. Mr. Whitehorn is a member of the Agricultural Wheel and was elected President of the County Wheel in 1888, being the second man in the county to join that society after its organization. He and wife are the parents of the following family: Mary Alvira, Heater Caroline, Henry B., James G., George T. and Joseph B.
H. H. Williams, manufacturer of lumber for agricultural implements, first saw the light in Oneida County, N. Y., in September, 1841, being one of nine children, eight living, born to the marriage of Herbert Williams and Jane Hughes, natives of Wales, who came to New York State at an early day, where they both spent their lives; the father being a farmer by occupation. Their children who are living are: William H., Evan H., Catherine, Mary, Amos, Sarah, Hattie and Hugh H. The latter is the youngest of the family and was reared and educated in Oneida County, receiving an academic as well as a common school education. From early childhood he was reared to a farm life, which he followed until January, 1864, when he went to Jacksonville, Ill., and was employed in the Insane Asylum. From that time until 1876 he [p.254] was engaged in the lumber business in Pulaski and Alexander Counties, and at the latter date moved to Scott County, Mo., locating near Morley, where he remained two years, since which time he has lived in Clay County, Ark., being a resident of Corning the first year. He has since been occupied in the lumber business in Williams, which he conducts on a very large scale, and employs on an average about thirty men, shipping his product north. In 1887 he shipped from his mill $32,000 worth of lumber. This mill is one of the largest in the county, and besides he owns a large farm and several thousand acres of timber land. In September, 1888, he had a post office established at his mill, which is called Williams' post office. Mr. Williams is wide-awake and enterprising, and takes an interest in all movements to benefit the county. He belongs to the I. O. O. F., and in 1863 was married to Miss Kate B. Billings, a native of Oneida County, N. Y. They have no family.
Francis A. Williams, one of the well-to-do farmers and
stockmen of the county, is a Carroll County Tennesseean, and was born January 5,
1844, being a son of Benjamin Williams, who was born in North Carolina, but was
reared in Tennessee. In this State he was married to Hester C. Enix, a native of
the State, and settled on a farm in Carroll County, where he resided until his
death, in the summer of 1871. Francis A. Williams made his home in Carroll
County until twenty-three years of age, and was married August 11, 1868, to Mrs.
Martha Wynn, a daughter of John Foster. She was born and reared in Gibson
County, Tenn. After marriage Mr. Williams made three crops in Carroll County,
and in the fall of 1870 moved to Arkansas and located in Clay County, where he
bought the tract of land where he now lives three years later. It consists of
240 acres in one body, about 135 acres being cleared and improved with a good
frame residence and out-buildings. He has two cotton-gins on his farm and for
the past ten years has been engaged in ginning cotton. He has been a member of
the Agricultural Wheel ever since the organization of that society in the
county, and held some local offices in his township. Mr. and Mrs. Williams are
the parents of nine children: Hester, wife of Lee Wiley; Benjamin E., Mary F.,
wife of Samuel Blackshare; Elbert, Ada, Edwin, Lola, Lura and Alfred D.
Wilson Bros., proprietors of the Piggott Stave Factories, at Piggott, Ark., are deserving of high tribute for the enterprise and influence which have contributed to the commercial success of this section. All manufacturing establishments of modern times have embraced many features of practical utility, and the concern with which these brothers are associated is worthy of high consideration. They located here in the spring of 1884 and established at this point one stave factory, but two years' experience was sufficient to demonstrate the need of increased capacity, and another factory was started in the summer of 1886 two miles from Piggott. Even this has not proved adequate, and at the present time another is being pushed forward. Each factory has a daily capacity of ten cords of timber, and forty men are actively occupied in various capacities. The quality of work turned out is unexcelled, and the attention given by the proprietors to their product is a sufficient guarantee as to its sale. It is evident that they have only tried to make the merits of the work satisfactory to all. Charles, Cyrus F. and H. S. Wilson are Kentuckians by birth, and natives of Fulton County, their father now belonging to Hickman, of that county. Dr. H. H. Wilson was born, reared and educated in Tennessee, and there commenced the study of medicine, subsequently graduating from one of the medical colleges of Philadelphia. Afterward he located at Hickman. Ky., and entered upon the successful practice of his profession. He was first married in Tennessee to Miss Lucy Davis, of that State,after whose death he married again. Besides the three sons living there is one daughter, a resident of Kentucky. Cyrus F. Wilson grew to manhood at Hickman, to which place he afterward returned and married, February 29, 1888, Mrs. Bettie Pilant, a native of Kentucky, and daughter of Judge Riley, of Hickman. She was partially reared in Louisiana. One child was born to this union. Nannie Belle. Mrs. Wilson is a member of the Presbyterian Church. H. S. Wilson wasmarried at Martin, Tenn., March 28, 1878, to Miss Jennie Anderson, of Tennessee, and the daughter of Edwin Anderson. They have five children: Cora, Lucy, Claud, Stanley and Aleck.
John S. Winstead, farmer and stock raiser of Haywood Township, Clay County, Ark., is a native of North Carolina, and was born in Person County May 4, 1836. His father, Seth M. Winstead, was also of North Carolina birth, and was there married to Miss Mary Winstead, daughter of John Winstead. The Winsteads were prominent pioneers of that State. Seth Winstead moved to Tennessee about 1838, settling in Weakley County, engaged in farming, and there reared his family. He died in that State in 1882. John S. Winstead is the second in order of birth of three sons and one daughter born to his parents. He attained his growth in Weakley County, remaining with his parents until twenty-three years of age, and was married, in Obion County, November 18, 1860, to Miss Victoria Rucker, a native of Middle Tennessee, and the daughter of S. W. and Eda Rucker. After marriage Mr. Winstead farmed in Obion County for a number of years, but later sold out and moved to Arkansas in 1872. Two years later he bought and settled on his present farm, which he has greatly improved. He has 100 acres cleared and sixty acres in timber, all one tract. He has fair buildings and a good orchard. This is a very desirable farm, and is located one mile due west of Greenway. To Mr. and Mrs. Winstead were born these children: Erasmus, Charles, William Samuel, Minnie Ballard, John, Zachariah T. and Victoria. They lost one daughter, Emma, who grew up, was married, and died in February, 1888, leaving one child. Mr. and Mrs. Winstead are members of the Christian Church, and Mr. Winstead belongs to the Agricultural Wheel. Louis M. Wolf, of the firm of Long & Wolf, merchants, of Greenway, Clay County. Ark., was born in the city of St. Louis October 12, 1863, and is a son of Raphael Wolf, who was born and reared in Germany. After reaching manhood he emigrated to the United States, and was married, in St. Louis, Mo., to Miss Minnie Schoen, also a native of Germany. He was a stock dealer, trader and merchant in St. Louis until his death, in 1871. Louis M. Wolf remained in St. Louis until he was eight years of age, and was then sent to Cleveland, Ohio, and was educated in a Jewish college of that city. After completing his studies, at the end of seven years, he returned to St. Louis and was engaged in clerking there for a short time, going thence to Topeka, Kas., and later to Missouri. After clerking in Malden, Mo., for J. S. Levi & Co., for a number of years, he, in April, 1887, came to Arkansas and located at Greenway, where he bought property and built a business house, and in connection with Louis Long, of St. Louis, Mo., conducts a general mercantile establishment, their stock of goods being large and well selected, and their annual sales amounting to $2,500. Mr. Wolf is an enterprising young business man, and is doing a prosperous business. He is also a member of the K. of P., and is connected with the Hebrew Synagogue. His mother is residing with and keeping house for him.
C. W. Woodall. Among the planters and stock dealers of Kilgore Township, Clay County, Ark., who have attained the highest round in the ladder of success, and are counted among its worthy and honored citizens, may be mentioned Mr. Woodall, who was born in Marshall County, of the "Blaegrass State," in 1845, being the second of eleven children born to the marriage of Roland Woodall and Nancy Drennon, natives, respectively, of North Carolina and Springfield, Ill. The father was taken to Kentucky by his parents when three years of age, and was there reared and educated, and spent his days. He was an extensive planter, and owned a large farm of 500 acres, successfully managing it until his death, which occurred in 1864, and throughout life he was an active politician. His estimable wife survived him many years and died in 1886, at the age of sixty-nine years. Her father was one of the first settlers of Marshall County, Ky., and was the first one buried in the family cemetery in that county. C. W. Woodall, whose name heads this sketch, was reared on his father's plantation and educated in the schools of his native State, but in 1863 left school, and August 29 of that year went to Paducah, Ky., where he enlisted in Company A. Fifteenth Kentucky Cavalry, for three years, and afterward participated in the battles of Spring Creek, Murfreesboro, and several skirmishes, serving as orderly for Maj. W. W. Waller. He served until the close of the war, and after receiving his discharge at Paducah, Ky., returned home and engaged in farming, and was married here on the 29th of August, 1867, to C. A. Brazell, a native of Kentucky, by whom he is the father of five children: Mary A., wife of J. Dudgeon; Sarah Elizabeth, Ida Belle, Amy and Nora Arlena. After his marriage Mr. Woodall purchased a plantation in Kentucky, on which he resided until 1871, when he came to Clay County, Ark., and settled on the plantation which he now occupies. November 12, 1872, he bought 120 acres of raw land, which he has since improved and added to until he now has 467 acres in the home plantation, and besides this property has forty-one and a half acres at Corning, and his old farm in Kentucky, besides selling 300 acres. On an average he devotes 100 acres to cotton raising and about the same to corn, and the greater portion of the remainder of his land is given to stock, of which he is the heaviest buyer as well as raiser in Clay County. He stall-feeds about sixty head of cattle each year and from fifty to seventy-five hogs, besides what he buys and ships. His property is nicely improved by a good house and barns and a fine apple and peach orchard. He has always taken great interest in enterprises tending to benefit the county, and has given much attention to school matters and to the church. He is an admirer of the Jeffersonian system and supports the Democratic party, and has served on the United States grand jury two terms, and the county grand jury nearly every year. Socially he belongs to Orient Lodge No. 297, at Corning, Ark.; I. O. O. F. Lodge No. 78, and he and wife belong to the Eastern Star Lodge at Reno. Mrs. Woodall's parents, Pleasant and Mary Jane (Hunt) Brazell, were born in North Carolina and Virginia, respectively, but removed with their parents to Kentucky at a very early day, where they were reared, married, and spent the remainder of their days.
William Wynn. In giving a history of the prominent citizens of Clay County, Ark., the biographical department of this work would be incomplete without mentioning the gentleman whose name heads this sketch, for he is deservedly ranked among its prominent planters and stock dealers. His birth occurred in West Tennessee in 1857, being the fifth of thirteen children born to W. J. and Mary (Barker) Wynn, who were natives of the "Old North State" and Tennessee, respectively. W. J. Wynn became an early resident of Tennessee and eventually acquired considerable wealth, owning some 1,500 acres of land, and he and wife are now residents of Tiptonville. William Wynn while young aided his father on the plantation, receiving his education in the district schools and the schools of Tiptonville. In October, 1885, he was married in Benton County to Miss Arabelle Walker, a native of Tennessee, and soon after this settled on his farm in Clay County, Ark., which he had purchased in 1884. It then comprised 160 acres of land, but since locating he has greatly improved and increased his property until he is now the owner of 696 acres in Kilgore and Carpenter Townships. He has cleared about 200 acres and has 400 under cultivation. He puts in annually 150 acres of cotton, and devotes the rest to the cereals and to the pasturage of a large number of cattle, horses, and mules, in which he is an extensive dealer. He has the largest amount of land in a tillable condition of any one in Kilgore Township, and has done his full share in developing and furthering the interests of Clay County, being especially concerned in the cause of education, to which he gives his liberal support. He has never been a very active politician, but has always given his influence to the Democratic party. In March, 1888, he lost his excellent wife, who had borne him two children: Thomas William and John Henry, and he was afterward wedded in Clay County in September, 1888, to Mrs. Margaret (Allen) Toms, who was born in Kentucky, and is a daughter of Daniel Allen. The father was also a Kentuckian, but in 1880 became a resident of Carpenter Township, Clay County, Ark., where he and wife are living at the present time, being worthy and successful tillers of the soil. Mr. Wynn is a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and during his short residence in the county, he has become well known for his intelligence, enterprise, and liberality, not only in a business way, but socially, and commands the respect, confidence and esteem of all who know him.
William L. Yancey, another prominent farmer and stock raiser of Oak Bluff Township, and son of Robert and Parthena Yancey, was born in Fayette County, Tenn., September 22, 1837. Robert Yancey was born in Mecklenburg County, Va., grew to manhood there, and was there married to Parthena Yancey, who was also a native of Virginia. After marriage they moved to Tennessee, settling in Fayette County, and here the father followed farming and reared his family. He died in 1849, and his widow in 1865. In their family were two sons and one daughter, all of whom grew to mature years. Both brothers grew up in Fayette County, Tenn., and both served in the Confederate army. William L. enlisted, in March, 1862, in Col. Jackson's cavalry regiment, commanded by Gen. Forrest, and served until the final surrender. He was paroled at Gainesville, Ala., in 1865, and was a participant in the following battles: Jackson, Miss., Holly Springs, Miss., Guntown, Miss., Nashville and Franklin, Tenn., and was in a number of minor engagements. After the war he returned to Tennessee, farmed in Fayette County for two years, and then moved to Arkansas in the fall of 1866, where he remained for one year, when he bought the place where he now resides, five acres being cleared. He is the owner of 240 acres, all in one tract, 180 acres cleared and one-half bottom and very rich land. He has good buildings on his farm, five acres of bearing orchard and five acres in young orchard. Mr. Yancey has been three times married: first, in 1859, September 22, to Miss Susan Bradsher, a native of North Carolina, and five children were born to this union, four now living. Mrs. Yancey died in Arkansas, and Mr. Yancey took for his second wife Miss Jane Wooten, a native of Arkansas, reared in Greene County. She died in August, 1877, leaving one son. Mr. Yancey married his present wife, Mrs. Martha Virginia Owen, in January, 1878. She was born in Tennessee, and is the daughter of Rev. A. M. Pickens, a minister in the Presbyterian Church. Mrs. Yancey had one daughter by her former marriage, Edgeworth, wife of Matthew Thomas, and Mr. Yancey's children are named as follows: Sarah P., wife of James Wooten; Willie Ann, deceased; Mary E., wife of John Wamble; Robert J. and James, by his first wife, and Stephen H. by his second wife. Mr. Yancey and wife are members of the Methodist Protestant Church. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Dannelley Lodge No. 300, also belonging to Evergreen Lodge No. 66, I. O. O. F.
Bustamente Yates, merchant, emigrated to Greene County, Ark., in 1876. Going from Weakley County, Tenn., to Texas, he remained three years engaged in the photograph business, that being his profession, and while in that State was quite successful financially. Mr. Yates was born in Henry County, Tenn., February 15, 1844, and when small came with his parents to Weakley County, of the same State. He is the son of Joseph M. and Ann W. (Davis) Yates, and grandson of Lloyd Yates, who lived to be one hundred and four years of age, and never had an ailment until his death. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. Joseph Yates was born in North Carolina, and is now living four miles from Rector, in his eightieth year, and is hale and hearty. He is of Irish descent. During his trip to this country from North Carolina he was taken with measles, and was unconscious for seven days, subject to the severe weather, snow, etc., during that time. While in North Carolina he was planter and overseer, having charge of a large number of negroes. Ann W. (Davis) Yates, was also born in North Carolina, probably Orange County, but was married after going to Tennessee, in Obion County. She was the mother of eleven children, nine now living: Lavinia V., Bustamente H., Roan, Cazelia F., Dalphin W., Lanora M., John C., William H. and Emma. DeWitt and an infant are deceased. The mother of these children is still living. Grandfather Davis was from Orange County, N. C., and emigrated to Tennessee many years ago. He was [p.258] a farmer by occupation, and followed this industry in Tennessee until his death. Grandmother Davis was also from Orange County, N. C., and died a number of years ago in Tennessee. She was probably of German descent. Bustamente Yates was principally reared on a farm in Tennessee, and received a common school education. After growing up he went to Dresden, Tenn., and clerked for some time, after which he engaged in merchandising until coming to Arkansas, thirteen years ago. Since then he has been interested in many different pursuits, and is now in the mercantile business, being occupied also in the liquor trade, and is the owner of considerable property. In 1877 Mr. Yates was married to Miss Sarah L. Eason, daughter of Alfred and Emily E. Eason, both natives of Virginia, but reared in Tennessee, where their daughter was born. Mr. and Mrs. Yates are the parents of six children, four now living: Robert H., George, Joseph and Annie L. Rose and an infant are deceased. Mr. Yates is not active in politics, but affiliates with the Democratic party. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and also a member of the Masonic fraternity.
There are no names listed beginning with Z.
Updated 27 Apr 2007